Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

my husband has a horrible decube on his back,due to hospital neglect.we have been using a wound vac for 1 year and it seems to disagree with his chemistery.i remove the vac and use dankins dressings 2x daily.all the "pressure brusing" and sluffing dissapear.the wound is clean and pink. now we need a wound care facility that knows what to do,without attitude.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
3/15/2020
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter had a tumor removed from her back and a skin graft to cover the hole. It is used to keep the wound bacteria free while healing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daughter of stage 4 | 45-54 | Female | Caregiver
5/7/2019
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother has stage 4 breast cancer. Lowered immune system caused her to get yeast infections/rash in groin area and under breasts that did not respond to prescription a antifungal. Nurse put this on gauze pads and placed on sites and rash was gone within 24 hours. Rash rarely comes back but when it does we zap it with this treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Muriel C. Hume | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an accident resulting in a wound on my lower left leg on 6/17/'15.At urgent Care Dr. put dry dressing on wound.5 Days later I went to Hosp Wound center and doctor there cut away some skin covering area about 4" x 4".And then doctored with Dakin in a wet/dry bandaging. Next appt was 1 week and when doctor looked at my wound she said "When did this happen?" and pointed to a 2" X 2" black skin patch. I replied the next day after you put the Dakin's wet/dry dressing on the wound and my pain has been severe.She went back to a dry dressing and stopped the Dakins however it is now July 24, 2015 and that black scab is still there and sound is bleeding where she pushed on the patch.What is my next step? Help.She has now advised me that she will not see me again until after I go to an appt with a vascular surgeon she contacted and let him explain about leg arteries and surgery in putting stents in vascular arteries. Good Grief. Help, Hellp, Help. Did the Dakin's do some damage to my wound? We used it from June 24 appt daily to July 1st the next appt.???Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chip | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2014
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Following surgery in February 2014 on left foot to remove tissue due to staph infection, Dakin's Solution was prescribed and used to prevent infection to open wounds. Procedure was to soak gauze with solution, and cover, once daily. Excellent results, minor cost, and full recovery with no issues. I highly recommend. Amazing, as the formula has not changed since 1916, when created by Henry Drysdale Dakin in WW1.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
musicmaker | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2014
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had lung surgery and developed a wound infection postop. Back to the operating room twice for this. The second time MRSA set in and the usual antibiotics used for MRSA were not working. The surgeon then ordered Dakins that afternoon and by the next morning, the wound looked 4 thousand percent better! Amazing! No problems since and the incision healed quickly and without any further infections!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJoyner | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/20/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had MRSA in stasis ulcer (have had this ulcer plus others for ovrr 10 years. I have bi-lateral primary lymphedema with complications of morbid obesity and lipedema. The danger of lymphedema comes from the infections that develop, cellulitis, etc.). Was told it will never go away, all that can be done is decrease the colony. We've used all types of wound care incl wound vac, debriding the wound and so forth. I have a PICC line because of frequency of infections. Finally decided to use dakins. Wet to dry on ulcer. The culture taken prior to use of dakins showed MRSA had increased from "light colonization" to moderate. The culture taken after a month of dakins showed NO MENTION of MRSA at all. Plus, this wound is finally showing signs that it might actually heal. It is very shallow and has vastly decreased in size. Thank you dakins.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2013
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I contacted staph infection in a surgical site!! I was not healing it became a horrible wound! Dakins was the only thing that helped!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dr.hassan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
1/26/2013
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very good in wound debridement and rapid granulation tissue formation, i not obsorve any side effect till now (i use dakins solution from 15 years ago) if used in ideal conc.i,m usually use it in diabetic foot infection and bed sores.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kyoto | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/18/2012
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dakins is absolutely amazing. Using on a severe deep tissue infection I have ad 4 over 1 year. Amazed at the immediate and sustained results of wet dry dressing. Almost ready 4 next step. I will always keep some for future use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GPO | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
8/8/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best treatment to wounds that are infected or in need of chemical debridement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dane Grove | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Deep flesh wound. Irrigate w/Dakins. Also soak gauze packing / wet to dry dressing. Able to pack about 15 inches of 2 inch wide gauze soaked w/Dakins into my wound. Quickly seeing improvements.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/28/2012
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to use Dakins's twice, once for a an infected cut on my knee that that was 2 inches open. Both times I used it, Dakins's healed my sores within one to two weeks depending on the severity. Swear by it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/10/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Recommended by Pediatrician for treatment of infected hangnail on foster-daughter. Soaked for 15 minutes 3 times per day. Side of toe had been very painful, red and inflamed. This remedy worked very well. (Although the patient moaned and groaned about having to sit still that long :-)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
luke | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
1/29/2011
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my husband has a horrible decube on his back,due to hospital neglect.we have been using a wound vac for 1 year and it seems to disagree with his chemistery.i remove the vac and use dankins dressings 2x daily.all the "pressure brusing" and sluffing dissapear.the wound is clean and pink. now we need a wound care facility that knows what to do,without attitude.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
commodore | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2010
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Being treated unsuccessfully for 6 weeks for yeast infection at 10-mo. surgical site and adjacent ostomy. After two applications of Dakin's solution, condition has improved dramatically.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mar | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/6/2010
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Major open whound on toe for 3 months. Tisuue died and they had to grow tissue. No infection or soreness at all. I use in for all skin wounds and abrasions. It kills staph.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HillTwink | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2009
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had an infection after a breast reduction. Used it with wet to dry dressings. Took care of the infection after 1 week allowing me to then get stitches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TNNana10 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/21/2009
Condition: Skin Disinfection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a caregiver I have seen wonderful results treating my husband's abdominal incision that has been healing for three months, using the solution once daily as a cleaning aid and in the wet to dry dressing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kevincz | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/30/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More