Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

46 People found this comment helpful

I was taking Methotrexate injections for 5 years. Because of my age my new RA doctor wanted to switch me off to try Sulfasalazine for reproduction reasons. I have been on Sulfasalazine (2x AM - 2x PM) for about 9 months and I love it! The only side effect I have noticed is the color change of my urine. Other than that blood work is all normal. I've only experienced ONE mild flare up once over the ...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Just started taking mediacation

Shared reviews and ratings

Adele | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/25/2022
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with UC in 1968, and was first prescribed prednisone. As other drugs came along, Sulfasalazine was one of the drugs that was prescribed for me in the 70's or 80's. It worked and no problems whatsoever. At the beginning of 2020 the cost went up for Mesalamine which I was on at the time so I asked if I could be switched back to the cheaper Sulfasalazine because it worked before. When covid19 hit the US I did not have symptoms of covid but I developed long haul symptoms of chronic fatigue, loss of appetite, hair loss and brain fog. All covid tests and antibody tests turned out negative and nobody in my immediate family developed covid. My primary doctor ordered every sort of testing, plus temporarily took away all the meds she prescribed to try and find the cause of my symptoms. This testing went on for 2 years. Finally, at the end of 2021 I told my GI doc and he temporarily took away the Sulfasalazine, and within a couple days my side effects completely disappeared. I looked back on when the change over back to Sulfasalazine was made and it was Feb 11, 2020. I asked my primary why it worked earlier without side effects and not now. She said the contents were probably the same but the coating might be different. I did notice the coating was different the second time around I took it. The new version left a brown chalky residue on my hands and anything I touched before washing my hands. The earlier version did not leave a residue. Since being taken off Sulfasalazine those side effects have not returned.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mit | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Sulfasalazine 2 x 500mg x 2 /day for about 5 months. I've had mild side effects, nausea mostly has now passed as long as I eat before taking them. Constantly tired but I assume this is the RA. After starting Sulfasalazine (and coming off prednisolone) my symptoms got worse and CRP was 52. I had to go back on to prednisolone due to pain and swelling. I'm on weaning dose of prednisolone again now (one 5mg a day) and CRP has crept back up to 11 (lowest was 6). All this suggests the Sulfasalazine isn't working, and swelling / pain in my hands is slowly getting worse. At next review I suspect I'll be switched to methotrexate. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bee | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2021
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have some sort of inflammatory arthritis and some mild psoriasis on my scalp, my CRP and ESR have been elevated for over 2 years, most recently CRP at 32, ESR at 54. They think it’s autoimmune because I have so many family members with autoimmune disorders, but my blood work hasn’t found anything but elevated anti-RNP, so we don’t know specifics yet. I also have Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, which complicates my situation. Started this about a month ago and I had headaches and some GI symptoms, but my joints have felt better than they had in YEARS. I take it after my meals now so it doesn’t upset my GI tract, and I drink tons of water too. My headaches went away after 2ish weeks, so I lucked out. Turned my pee very yellow, but it’s worth it. This is the first DMARD I’ve tried, I’ve only been on an NSAID (meloxicam) before now. I’m starting to do things I have not been able to do in years. I can go grocery shopping without thinking about how much my joints hurt after 10 minutes, I can stand up for an hour or so while I cook without dragging a chair to the counter.. I thought I would be in so much pain and unable to do things for the rest of my life. I’m only in my early 20s. This medication has given me hope and opportunity. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharyn Johns | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2021
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was only on Sulfasalazine for 2 days awoke and bad headache, grainy sandy eyes and pain in all joints could hardly walk now DR. said to cut the pill into quarters and start at lower dose, I read where you should not cut the pills, what do i do?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2021
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this medication for Crohn's Disease. The side effects of this drug were horrible. I had a severe headache with no relief, nausea mixed with heartburn, lack of appetite. This is a horrible drug and I do not recommend it for anything.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gus | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started to take one tablet of Salfaselzine 500mg in AM and PM, then was to increase to 2 tabs but nausea was to much so stayed on one tablet. However i am having severe pain now in my hip joint and lower back and increased pain in my elbow. Has anyone had same issue? I started to take this for elbow joint pain but worse now. Only on it 2 weeks. Please advise if you have similar pain as result of taking this. I am on cholesterol Rx as well, Pravacol and Ezetrol so dont know if combination an issue. Help Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenn1965 | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/17/2019
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 3 pills in the morning and 3 at night for over 6 months. I have had a decrease in pain at rest but still have pain with activity. My bloodwork has been good do not worried about kidneys. I do occasionally have irritable bowel symptoms, nausea and dizziness. I have extreme exhaustion upon activity but Iâ??m not sure if any of these symptoms are related to the medicine or part of my condition. The one thing that really bothers me is sensitivity to the sun. I burn easily now even with 30 sunscreen and I enjoy being outside in the summer. Before being on this I rarely burned. I am worried about skin cancer. I am thinking of going off and seeing how I do. Has anyone had any luck with natural supplements or avoiding certain foods? I have heard turmeric helps but Iâ??m not sure how much to take. Medrol does help with my flare ups but as far as this medicine Iâ??m not sure how much itâ??s helping. I tried Embrol and had terrible dizziness and nausea so I am hesitant to go on any stronger medicines. Anyone gone through the same experiences who have suggestions?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dsd | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2019
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

skin rash

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erisman | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2019
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall pain has decreased to almost none, but feel like I just got done with 10 rounds of boxing, or just ran 20 miles, my legs and feet feel like they are full of lead takes every bit of energy I have to take 20 steps, I have never felt so wore out and exhausted in my life, has anyone else felt this way?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Uni Student | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with seronegative rheumatoid arthritis at age 19. Tried hydroxychloriquine for the first year and stopped treatment due to insurance issues. Returned two years later and was initially treated with a medrol dose pack and placed on Sulfasalazine DR on follow-up. Iâ??ve experienced almost no side effects with this medication compared to the other medications mentioned. Currently taking 2 pills twice a day, going to move up to 3 pills twice a day soon. I will probably stay on this medication as long as I can given my age. Definitely recommend giving it a try for RA.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sweetchks | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nasty drug! After having side effects to plaquenil and Arava, my dr said to try this awful medicine. I took it for 2 months at 1,000 mg/day. Sickening migraines from day. One morning I woke up and felt like I was having a heart attack. I couldn't breathe and my chest was tight. I had to to the hospital by ambulance. Now they believe I have liver damage. Think twice before you swallow this poison!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
akgal | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2018
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started with 1000mg per day, now at 2000mg per day. Swelling and joint pain in my hands hasn't improved. I've been taking this for for about 2 months,will give it a little time to see if it works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kene | 55-64 | Male | Patient
9/7/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started taking mediacation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pier girl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/26/2017
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a few bad flare ups of Colitis, but went on Sulfasalazine, symptoms have cleared up quickly within 2 weeks and have not had any reoccurrence for about 2 months now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/22/2017
Condition: Collagenous Colitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been using for about two years and has made a very significant improvement (3 times per day). Also a LOT less expensive than budesonide.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Spondylitis, this is in the RA family. My doctor prescribed this and I've never been sicker. Bad Itching, Migraines morning noon and night, Nausea, and 101 to 102 fever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MedFree at the Moment | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/17/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DR prescribed 500mg - 2 tabs 2X day for RA. First few months were OK as I taking 1/4 the DR. recommended dosage per DRs orders. Nausea was a problem, but not unbearable. DR. slowly upped dosage as I could tolerate (add 1 tab per week to max dosage). After 6 mo. I developed extremely painful blisters over 70% of my body, including inside my mouth, nose and eyes, I began to bruise very easily and horribly - to the point my friends were asking if my husband was abusing me. I developed bleeding gums and frequently had blood in my urine. Major intestinal issues....I kept calling DR w/ reports of new side effect weekly -- but was told to "hang in there". I finally just stopped taking it and threw it in the trash! I literally wanted to die I hurt so bad....I've been off now for about 5 mo and still have occasional problems. I would much rather deal with the pain and inflammation and sore joints those horrible side effects. Appt coming up in Nov -- not sure I want to try anything else at this point.....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/12/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Methotrexate injections for 5 years. Because of my age my new RA doctor wanted to switch me off to try Sulfasalazine for reproduction reasons. I have been on Sulfasalazine (2x AM - 2x PM) for about 9 months and I love it! The only side effect I have noticed is the color change of my urine. Other than that blood work is all normal. I've only experienced ONE mild flare up once over the past 9 months. Can't say that about the other drugs I've tried. Believe me there have been many. I never write reviews so...DEFINITLEY consider giving this a try!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have proctitis; was prescribed this drug. I experienced debilitating fatigue almost immediately. I was unable to function -- could not leave my house, or do anything except lie on the sofa. Also frequent dizziness. I stopped taking it after 25 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JWK | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/27/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on SSZ for 5 years now to treat RA in hands. 500 mg 2X/day. It took a few months for RA pain relief to kick-in, but after that the results have been very good, with no side effects and blood work great. Doctor had prescribe methotrexate, but I did not like what I read about it. He agreed to my request to try SSZ instead and I am very happy with results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More