Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

Took valacyclovir oral within 2-3 days from shingles outbreak. Been on med for three days. Worked well with outbreak but side effects very disturbing: headache, constipation, stomach pain, tiredness, light headedness. Will report back to doctor for direction.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this for only 2 days, I have not seen an improvement yet. The only side effects that I have experienced is dry eyes. I wear contacts and they feel very uncomfortable. I have been drinking 8oz of water before taking the pill and eating half of my meal, then take the pill, drink more water and then finish my meal. So far no nausea and I get nauseous very easy. I have noticed a bi...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sandy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2021
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It stopped the outbreak of cold sores in 24 hrs, I’m on day 2 no more burning still a little itching. Feel a bit dizzy but not too bad, I would use it every time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/7/2021
Condition: Prevent Shingles in Patients Without a Normal Immune System
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ended up with Shingles. Had a horrible experience. My dealing with shingles is minor thank God, just the rash. No pain, itch, etc. Got on a med on day 2 of shingles. Took my first pill at lunch. These are horse pills so take with a glass of water!! 3x a day for 7 days. Pill #1- ok enough. #2 I I started feeling sick off on and on, dizzy, and just off. Day 2 on pill #3. Started feeling worse. Dizzy, off, feeling off in my head, etc. Day 2, #4 pill -OMG!! I thought I was having a stroke. The rest of the day I felt sick off and on, DIZZY, headache a little, made my blood pressure up, felt agitated and confused, had problems speech it off & on, just didnt feel right. I refused to take my 5th pill at bedtime and I STILL had issues with it. That night I had nightmares and when I did try it sleep it gave me hallucinating. No thanks! I’d rather deal with the shingles!! Be careful, its a STRONG med….. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Camber Valacycl | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2021
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I realized after taking this brand a few times it caused me to have a bad head cold each time.never had this problem with the Teva brand

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
complicated | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been dealing with bad diarrhea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Valtrexxer | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/26/2021
Condition: Genital Herpes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NIGHTMARES! If taken before bedtime, causes vivid dreams/nightmares with perception of imminent peril

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have long blonde hair. It is now falling out because of valacyclovir. It heals fever blisters but your falls out by hsnd fulls.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paw Vulgar | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/25/2021
Condition: Genital Herpes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall 4/5, only it's a little too energetic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheryl | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2021
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I has pain on right side of head for 2 days. I thought I pulled a muscle. On 3rd day, I had burning and rash start on the right side of head, neck and ear. Went to Urgent Care and was told I had Shingles. I was prescribed Valacyclovir. 3 tablets every 8 hours for 7 days. On 5th day I had ringing in my right ear and right eye felt irritated. Went back to Urgent Care on 6th day and prescribed prednisone 600mg for 5 days. It has been a week since diagnosed and I still have some burning/tingling sensation on head, neck and ear. Still ringing in ear and noises sound garbled, The past 2 days I have felt very fatigued. Iâ??m hoping after meds wear off that feeling will go away. Definitely getting the vaccine as soon as I can.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TaLisa34 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2020
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not sure how long I have been infected but I have been taking the medication for five days and the pain in my breast has stopped. I never had a break out of blisters, I had a rash that looked like a heat rash on the left side of my body and my back itched uncontrollably around the fourth of July around the end of August I started with the burning sensation in my breast so I saw a different Dr and was diagnosed with shingles. The Dr doesn't know how long I have been infected but my antibodies (IGG) say that I am not contagious. The pills are a little hard to swallow the only side effect I have experienced is some stomach pain and sleepiness. I think tge stomach pain is present when I haven't had enough to drink. I have five more days remaining on the medication I will make updates if I experience any new symptoms.I also don't know if I will have to continue to take the medication once I'm done with this treatment Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DB. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2020
Condition: infection caused by a virus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was given for an Epstein Barr reactivation I didn't even know I had. After five days on this stuff I went from feeling great, active, happy, to feeling like I want to die. So depressed, so angry, and on the verge on feeling violent. I'll never take it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TNH | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2020
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took about two days for this medication start working, and it works very well to remove the cold sores from my mouth. However, I’m not sure if it’s worth the side effects, which are tiredness, nausea, headaches, and trouble sleeping. I have to take this for a whole 30 days. Not sure if I can last.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
babs | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2020
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

shingles started taking the drug on day 2, within 5 days cleared no problems, worked great

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peter | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2020
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking 72 hours after feeling pains in chest and back, which is when i visited the doc who diagnosed me (I hadn't noticed the extensive rash on my back). 11 days of taking drug religiously and last night was worst yet in terms of pain. Rash appears to be scabbing over. Symptoms are barely noticeable when doing stuff in the day (the more energetic the better) but doing nothing brings on world of pain. The best I can say is I've had no side effects, but does this drug actually work?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathie | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/23/2019
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking the medication about 55 hours after rash appeared. The rash continued to spread but not as much as I expected. Also the soreness of blisters and body aches were tolerable. I feel that the medication minimised the outbreak. I am on day 7 and still experiencing soreness and aches. Ibruprofen in conjunction with this medication and I feel good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patient1 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was diagnosed with Eczema Herpeticum on one of my eyes. From pink eye symptoms to a terrible rash of around 30 blisters around the skin of my eyes that developed quickly in a matter of a couple days. Went to Urgent care and diagnosed as Celluitis and prescribed oral and eye drop antibiotics, but fortunately with recommendation from Urgent care provider, I booked an appointment to my dermatologist as well , which they correctly diagnosed me as having Eczema Herpeticum. Also, booked me to an optometrist just to make sure my actual eyes were not infected, thankfully not. Was prescribed Valacyclovir 1GM, 3 times a day for a week. As others mentioned, on the 3rd day of taking the prescription, the blisters healed and almost back to normal skin conditions on 4th to 5th Day. I was impressed. I imagine if I took it earlier if diagnosed correctly earlier, my symptoms would be much lesser. This was in combination of an ocular ointment/antibiotic to keep the skin around my eyes from catching any further infection since the skin was raw from still healing. I will continue on suppression treatment with Valacyclovir, which I heard is about 3 months of continuous dosage and some regular rhythm after. I recommend anyone who has these symptoms get checked by a dermatologist if they can or mention Eczema Herpeticum to your provider. Can be easily diagnosed as celluitis or impetigo, which prescriptions of antibiotics won't work again Eczema Herpeticum, since it's a viral infection-Herpes Simplex. Needs to be caught early to be fought correctly. While taking this medication, I had no side affects, although they said to take with plenty of water, which i do. 2 glasses of water. Hope this info helps someone!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LBOD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2019
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for only 2 days, I have not seen an improvement yet. The only side effects that I have experienced is dry eyes. I wear contacts and they feel very uncomfortable. I have been drinking 8oz of water before taking the pill and eating half of my meal, then take the pill, drink more water and then finish my meal. So far no nausea and I get nauseous very easy. I have noticed a bit of bloating and gas but nothing I can't handle. Pills are huge so taking them with juice helps as well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2019
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication took care of rash and hives but the stomach pain and nausea are so bad-Do not know if will be able to finish

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2019
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got the medication as soon as diagnosed with shingles. Markedly reduced the pain within 24 hours and began to reduce the blistering and spread to other areas within about 48 hrs. Only side effect was tiredness and fatigue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LA | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2019
Condition: Shingles
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had shingles and writhin 48 hrs started the medication and took it for 10 days religiously. I had discomfort with all the side effects but I had chickenpox so bad in my 20â??s that I wasnâ??t going to mess around. My main concern a month after stopping the medication is that I have ringing in my ears that seems to get worse instead of going away. Iâ??ll be seeing my Dr about this soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thyroid Momma | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2019
Condition: Cold Sore
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agree that the cure was worse than the disease. Are usually take L lysine for cold sores and they do a pretty good job clearing it up in a few days. But my doctor noticed mine and suggested this. I have no idea what’s in here but I have a lot of food allergies. And this seems to perhaps contain all of them! Terrible stomach cramping, diarrhea, bloating, constant pains and digestive sounds do not really make me want to continue— all of this and I have only taken it for one day! These things are like horse pills, and three times a day seems ridiculous! And there is absolutely no way I would recommend anyone take them on an empty stomach. They’re a lot like anabiotic‘s in that sense, causing total dismay in your digestive system. I will not finish this bottle, and will not recommend it to anyone! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More