Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

50 People found this comment helpful

I started risperidone 2mg at bedtime in April of 2013. Since then I have no more anxiety, not depressed, no longer agitated or nervous I feel much better no more social anxiety disorder and it has helped my spasmodic dysphonia. I can focus much better. Life is good !!!

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I was given the Rx to take at bedtime.. this is given to schizophrenics and it causes one to hear voices? Sounds like job security for masochistic shrinks. Feel MUCH better w/out it. I urge everyone to GET A SECOND OPINION!!!I now take a single dose of one med each day. Keep trying, there IS something better out there.

Shared reviews and ratings

Katherine | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med made my anxiety and restlessness almost unbearable

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matteo | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this sucks! i gained like 30lbs in just under 2 years. i felt like a embarrassment! like some ugly over weight kid. it did help me a bit tho. if you want the risk of being over weight this med is good for you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not recommend this medicine if you’re very anxious daily in life. When I took risperidone it has unfortunately worsened my anxiety and I had daily panic attacks… however it did help me to think a little more clear and it took away the sharp edges of all my emotions. Unfortunately it wasn’t enough because of the heavy increased anxiety and panic attacks I got in return.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nishali | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/30/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find it hard to wakeup in the next morning when I'm taking this drug at night. But it improved my condition to better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/14/2022
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication cause male infertility l use to treat my schizophrenia but it makes male produce infertile sperms...In twelve years of use tried to impregnate one hundred ladies and unsuccessful...Serious fertility problems to male..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anxious | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps ease anxiety; struggling with drowsy side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bipolarmami | 25-34 | Transgender | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/13/2022
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Off this med, my moods are unstable and to the EXTREME. on the Meds, in situations where I'd usually react, I feel nothing. So they definitely help. I can't really feel those extremes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
owensf | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/1/2022
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication is not candy. I am 15 years old and struggle with bipolar disorder, ADHD, OCD, and major depressive disorder. I took risperidone for around 5 years and while the medicine does work, the side effects are extremely bad. It has helped my bipolar and anger. the worst side effect in my opinion is the extreme weight gain. i used to be underweight and gained over 100 pounds in less than 2 years. i wasnt able to stop eating and even exercise wouldnt make a difference. i went up to almost 220 pounds and i stopped taking it like 3-4 months ago and i’m down to 198 with doing absolutely nothing. i also take other medications that make me lose weight and i temporarily took wellbutrin for withdrawal but stopped that because it made me suicidal. anyways you will still lose weight going off of it. another side effect is akithisia. to those who don’t know what akithisia is it’s a motor movement disorder that makes you feel like your crawling out of your skin. it’s torture. that side effect especially happens with withdrawal from risperidone. it also makes me extremely tired like drugged tired. i would advise to take it at night not morning. the risperidone experience was scary and I would recommend trying other antipsychotics first.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
keesl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was only on .5 a milligram but it was absolutely terrible. It was making me so dizzy I couldn’t even stand and was throwing up from the dizziness. I had to lay in bed with my eyes closed or id be extremely dizzy and sick

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C | 7-12 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/9/2021
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Bipolar Disorder for as long as I can remember. Up until around April or May of 2020, I was actually holding it together. But, starting around April/May, I have uncontrollable mood swings, depression, mania, brief visual/auditory hallucinations, etc. Despite myself AND everyone in my family thinking otherwise, our psychiatrist insists it's due to lack of exercise, social stress, my Social Anxiety Disorder, etc., and denies the medications being ineffective. I'm assuming this is PARTLY due to also taking an ADHD stimulant that's been taking forever to get off of, but I still feel as if I'm slowly losing my mind and this medication has become ineffective. I feel as if it may be quite a good medication for some, but it has been becoming less and less effective over the past years of my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ODB | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes short migraines, terrible face and body acne, hair loss, feels like your face is fighting from making weird faces, cotton mouth in the morning. Morning soreness. Makes you feel terrible in the morning. Blurry vision I couldnâ??t read a soap label in the morning while sitting on the toilet while the soap box was in the shower. Dehydration. Hunger-ness, hard to hold back negative thoughts about individuals and makes your mood swings shift in a negative manner. Causes an addictive feeling. Makes me extremely happy when I take 1mg instantly. Makes me feel itchy. Makes my eye lids itch. Irritable bows. Figity, hard to maintain focuse and keep a straight thought with task at hand Makes you stand out in a weird way. Did I mention major mood swings. Gives you major trust issues. Me personally I am able to control these feelings but others Iâ??m not so sure about. Hard to control your bows makes u have to use it every hr honestly. Didnâ??t make me trip or see things. Hard to sleep and go back to sleep once woken. Dizziness when wakes up. Hard to remember things especially. Tends to feel like u have to throw up in the morning. Makes you open to being defenseless lowers self esteem Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/21/2020
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Asiah | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/25/2019
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had took this medication for a year, for bipolar, and psychosis I have gained 50lbs from this medicine and now Iâ??m 194lbs. It helped my anxiety , and manic issues but didnâ??t help my thoughts because now Iâ??m fat. I had no motivation, as well as no confidence . My thoughts would be racing non stop. I was on 2mg twice a day. Moved it to 1 and I was still experiencing bad symptoms; such as being very hungry, and very lazy. Iâ??d take it and get so relaxed I wouldnâ??t get up from my bed. Since I am off of it now, Iâ??ve gained all my motivation back, working out , walking, and able to control my eating . If anyone is experiencing these problems or trying to find out about this medicine , I recommend you to not take it . Unless you like being over weight. I am still taking something else for anxiety btw . Everything else is fine BUT this medication. Donâ??t take it .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jgray | 19-24 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/4/2019
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication since I was 15 (I am now 22) This medicine was working very well in the beginning but after 6 years of taking it I Started to feel my symptoms coming back ( feeling suicidal once a week, feeling a slight manic high once a week). So I began to take lithium as well (since last year) and I haven't felt this good EVER! would def, recommend those two combined

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moneymike2525 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2019
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First day taking 2mg risperidone I felt alittle dizzy. After first day no high feeling at all. I have been increased to 4 mg and after 4 weeks I have noticed my focus and concentration is better, side affects medicine makes alittle tired not to bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GIJulez | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2019
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

New to Risperidone. Just came off Seroquel because of the nasty side effects!!! Then I see all these reviews of 30-150 lbs of weight gain, oh no way! I am so short, and have severe crippling back, I can't support 20 more pounds! I told my doctor that. But I have been on Latuda in the past as well. All three of these are Anti-psychotic drugs, women....you are lactating because the increase in prolactin in the pituitary gland (brain). My ob-gyn had me tested back in 2017. It wasn't the side effect "missed periods" it is more like, if you stay on this medication ladies, it STOPS ovulation. I know, I didn't have a menstrual cycle the entire time I took Latuda, and Risperidone is pretty much the same. I'm going to see how much weight I gain after a week, and I will weigh the pros and cons then.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2019
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking this medication and I'm coming off Abilify. I've been taking it for 3 days and so far, I had a very deep sleep last night but the first night I had insomnia. I'm starting to feel a little sedated. Will come back to review it when I've taken it for a longer period of time. I'm so scared I'm going to gain weight on this medicine because that's what I read like everywhere!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xxvxx | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/17/2017
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do see improvements in function. I can usually lose weight with a regular workout routine and just about any food. However, about 3-4 after taking this medicine if I eat some food from Denny's my metabolism is screwed. Maybe I should follow a low carb diet on this medication (50 g).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grammy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
3/25/2017
Condition: Psychosis caused by a Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

We give this to my hubby who suffers from Alzheimer's anger outbursts and confusion. This med has completely eradicated the outbursts, but his affect and personality are totally flat. He has no emotional reaction to ANYTHING, which is preferable, but not ideal. We sometimes have to make these choices, I guess.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NightChild | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/20/2017
Condition: Psychosis caused by a Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on 3mg of Riperidone. So far, I have gained 40 pounds because I have been off and on it. On days off, I sleep 12 or more hours a night, not including occasional 2 hour naps. When I don't sleep this much, I am tired beyond compare. I do not know if it affects my period since I am also on the Evra Patch Birth Control, but I do get tender leaky breasts. For me, this symptoms are livable. The only I don't care for is the weight gain, but I also don't exercise. Although I stayed in the mental ward for a week, it doesn't mean the medication didn't help. Without it, I wouldn't be the happy, fairly-stable person I am today. I have been on risperidone for 2 years and it helped me keep the psychosis reasonably quiet enough to let me learn how to cope with it on my own. At times, it'll seem like the medication isn't working it all. It will feel like you're on them for no reason. This is because there may be other causes (stress, etc.) that will make you have some "mishaps". It would of been a lot harder to handle my psychosis if I never took this medication. For me, it was worth it. However, it seems to have given me liver problems (waiting for diagnosis) and I may have to discontinue the meds. I think I am ready to take on my psychosis one-on-one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More