Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

168 People found this comment helpful

I am a 48 y.o university professor, - after years of frustration and depression because of my procrastination habits and, as I described it, a lack of engagement between my brain and my body. I finally went into therapy just over a year ago at the urging of my wife and was diagnosed with ADHD. I started taking Adderall about 8 months ago. I have found that Adderall is very effective at helping me...

Most voted negative review

25 People found this comment helpful

I am a mental health therapist, and reading these reviews of Adderall makes me want to laugh and cry at the same time. I am also taking adderall, and know in my heart that I am addicted, and struggle with knowing this everyday. With not wanting to refill my script, but knowing that the addict in me will call my doctor and get a refill. Knowing that I will become emotionless and cold, sleepless ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Keith M | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/20/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had normal brain function until I got assaulted and robbed in1994. I was hit with a tire tool in my neck resulting in a C-5& C6 fracture causing ADD. I never had a problem with it before then. I was originally prescribed dextroamphetamine and then methamphetamine, then I was prescribed Adderall. Adderall is by far the best one of all. The methamphetamine was the worst. I am now 64 years old and I have been taking Adderall ever since it came out. It's by far the best medication for my ADD and I highly recommend it. If you suspect someone of having ADHD please try to talk to them about getting help because their quality of life will be greatly improved. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindi60 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 62 years old and began taking 20 mg 2 months ago after my physician sent me to be evaluated for ADHD. This diagnosis was very surprising since I always related it to children. Anyway, it sure does explain a lot of issues l have had throughout my life. My only regret is that I didn’t speak up sooner to let my physician know about how difficult it is for me to stay on track, to focus in on a conversation without drifting, actively listening and retaining what was said. My life has improved significantly. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
9/9/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My psychiatrist prescribed adderall to me about a year ago, I was pretty steadfast in my decision to not take it and made her well aware of that. I did end up giving it a try and I have to say, it was a fantastic decision. All areas of my life have improved. I was truly expecting to feel high, on edge and not myself when I took it but what I felt was clarity, calmness and all around a better mental state. It also inadvertently solved my binge eating habits. This is my personal experience and not the same for everyone. Take it as prescribed and communicate to your Doctor! Don’t let the stigma that this medication has deter you, let that be between your personal experience and what your doctor recommends. The only negative side effects I’ve had myself is ED and coldness in my limbs, which was quelled after I lost weight and lowered my blood pressure. Maintaining a healthy sleep pattern and diet are critical to how effective the medication is in my experience. In conclusion, I had to swallow my pride and trust my doctor despite my feelings and I’m happy that I didRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zach | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/2/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My psychiatrist prescribed adderall to me about a year ago, I was pretty steadfast in my decision to not take it and made her well aware of that. I did end up giving it a try and I have to say, it was a fantastic decision. All areas of my life have improved. I was truly expecting to feel high, on edge and not myself when I took it but what I felt was clarity, calmness and all around a better mental state. It also inadvertently solved my binge eating habits. This is my personal experience and not the same for everyone. Take it as prescribed and communicate to your Doctor! Don’t let the stigma that this medication has deter you, let that be between your personal experience and what your doctor recommends. The only negative side effects I’ve had myself is ED and coldness in my limbs, which was quelled after I lost weight and lowered my blood pressure. Maintaining a healthy sleep pattern and diet are critical to how effective the medication is in my experience. In conclusion, I had to swallow my pride and trust my doctor despite my feelings and I’m happy that I did. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeff | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have spent my whole life feeling tired and fatigued and they thought it was my thyroid but then I started taking medication for that and it only made me feel more tired! I work out seven days a week to stay in shape but I have a hard time concentrating by late morning. Then I had Covid for 18 days and I never felt so bad in my life. Then one of the nurses told me that I will experience 6 to 8 months of fatigue! So I finally went to the doctor because I was feeling so depressed that this was my life now. Tired all the time and trying to be a leader. After several attempts of trying to deal with the fatigue I finally asked about Adderall. It is really helping me to concentrate. People worry about addiction but let’s be honest we are an addictive culture! We’re addicted to pretty much everything! Coffee, streaming, our phones Need I go on? We have so many irons in the fire and we do it to ourselves! The bottom line is I want to be able to listen to people when they are hurting or need counsel and I will be able to concentrate and listen to them fully. I also take a brain supplement as well. I’m still trying to figure out The proper dose for me. I used to try and handle things using caffeine caps but there’s always a heavy crash. Adderall does not crash but I have to say it doesn’t last very long (4 hours) but it gets me through the day. I do get occasional headaches and dry mouth. But it is nice to be working in the afternoon and not feel like I have to take a 2-hour nap! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sean | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have mixed results with Adderal, I really feel theirs a differance between manufactures. I have been greatly helped by this medication but not helped by the generic version produced by Camber. i am reading up because of this poor response, wanted to see if others had the same results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken Ringwood | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cant help write again about this dangerous drug.Did anyone ever think it is made to tast like candy for a reason along with its orange color?Drus are supposed to help your condition.I recall not long ago calling sevral Drug Stores as so many was "out of stock".Now you need your Drivers License and are put in a Database so you dont "Doctor Shop" this is due to BigPharma's Opiod Crisis.Im 64 and have lived on Opiods since a Car Accident when I was 14 from Codeine,Fentenyl Patch and now Hysingla which is Morphine.I was always Prescribed it as I live in Chronic Pain,Adderall is just one more and should be taken off the market as there are newer Meds to battle ADD,ADHD,TBI,etcRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken Ringwood | 55-64 | Male | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Adderall 20mg was Prescribed for me along with Modafinal,another Stimulant originally designed for French Airline Pilots to keep them awake for long Flights.I have Traumatic Brain Injury caused In the Line of Duty of being a Corrections Officer among living in Chronic Pain from Spinal Cord Injuries etc.It can be a very dangerous drug,Ive experienced extreme shortness of breath,fainting,dizziness upon standing and severe depression.I've not used BOTH in the same day for several years as I can hear my Heart Beating and can hardly breath especially now that its humid in So Florida.Its a Hate/Love situation as I live with chronic lethargy,daytime sleepiness and chronic fatigue it does help but at what cost?Im sticking to the Modafinal 20mg BID as the side effects are near none vs Adderall's laundry list.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dad_of_adhd_boy | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
3/17/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My young son has textbook ADHD. For several years I avoided medicating him, despite struggles in school, because doing so scared me. After a ton of research, and absolutely hating the side effect profile of a lot of the "newer" ADHD meds, I went with a tried and true classic -- adderal. It has been a great experience thus far. His performance in school abruptly turned around, and he both pays attention and is motivated to do his work. This also solved the behavioral problems he had, where he would sometimes disrupt the class due to his inability to sit still or stay on task. He became a great student, and has an almost perfect report card this year. He only has one side effect, which is the loss of appetite. This was expected, as I read that it occurs to almost everyone who takes the medication. We give him one pill in the morning, and that's it. This way his appetite returns around 3:30pm, shortly after school. He still doesn't eat lunch, but at least he has a normal appetite for the remainder of the day, and seems to eat more to make up for the lack of food at lunch. The great thing about adderal is that the appetite suppression is the ONLY common side effect. If you take a look at the rest of the ADHD meds, you will see all kinds of common and semi-common side effects which will scare you to death, especially if you're giving it to your kid. I didn't want my son becoming an emotionless robot, having graphic nightmares, or suffering physical effects. I simply wanted to improve his ADHD situation during school, with the fewest possible side effects. Adderal accomplished that, and it has decades of history and studies behind it. Sometimes newer isn't better. This is one of those cases. My son does not take adderal on days he's not in school. He takes one low-dose pill in the morning, and it transforms him from an ADHD kid into a child who can work to his actual potential. I'm thrilled with my decision.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/18/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All throughout school i could never focus, any time someone would even click a pen during a test i wasn’t able to concentrate on that test for the rest of the class period.. i ended up almost failing out of highschool but 3 years later i started taking adderal for my ADD about 7 months ago.. i was first prescribed 10mg XR but a month later i moved up to 20mg because the affects were wearing off too fast.. 2 months ago my dr prescribed me 10mg IR along with the 20mg XR because it was wearing off so fast and barely working for me to the point where i was taking 3-4 20mg XR a day.. I can’t take this medicine everyday anymore because it wears off way too fast even with the IR along with the XR to the point where i’m having to take 60-70mg a day in total. My personality is different in the worst way.. i noticed i talk way too much and i get irritated very quickly when it’s wearing off and even days where i don’t take it when i was never known to be a moody person.. id have to say the worst side effect ive gotten and still get from this drug is the extreme case of dry mouth that causes sores on the sides of my tongue that are extremely painful and when i end up taking it for 4 or more days in a row my tongue feels like it’s dying.. extreme redness at the tip of it and i don’t even really know how to explain what happens to my taste buds they like… pop up on my tongue and are extremely painful but i’m afraid if i stop taking this medication no other one will work for me because it has also helped my social anxiety and has given me a work ethic.However i do miss how much better this medication worked for me in the beginning… no side affects and was working more than 60 hours a week and was able to sleep at night no problem.. i can’t sleep anymore. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jaye | 35-44 | Transgender | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm prescribed this medication for an off label purpose. In 2003 I had a severe brain injury that resulted in damaged short term memory. Since then I have struggled with focus and concentration (largely because I forget what I'm doing while I'm doing it, or I get distracted and my hamster falls off the wheel) I take 20mg daily with my other morning meds.. it helps me focus and actually complete tasks rather than just starting 50 things. I took a break from it for a couple years because it was causing very serious dry eye (in conjunction with my work environment) .. but now I use eye drops, whether I need them or not and I've had no issues this time around. For my condition this probably isn't the first drug a doctor would go to but after a decade of trial and error, my doctor and I aren't strangers to trying something off label, just to see, who knows it might work!! This is one of the successful attempts we've made... no complaints!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ceecee | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/25/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on adder all since I was in kindergarten and now I am in 12th grade. The medicine works don’t get me wrong but it makes me feel like a child in a paranormal movie sitting in the corner rocking back and forth scratching my head. It makes me depressed now that I’m older I cannot make this up! I hate taking it but it’s effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 56 yr female going thru late onset menopause. I am ADD and was diagnosed by two psychiatrists. It was hard for me to believe but now that I have learned about it they were right...I wasn't paying attention I guess In the past 15 years I've tried Ritalin, Adderall, Concerta and now Vyvanse. Extended release and regular. Up until last year, Adderall plain tablets were my favorite. The extended release made me stay awake. I dont feel like superwoman on Adderall but I feel better. A bit calmer, a bit more capable. I do get dry mouth and I forget to eat. It did increase my blood pressure quite a bit. I don't know why, I suspect my hormones changed, but now vyvanse works better for me. Adderall doesn't have to be taken everyday. I liked that. Vyvanse has to be taken everyday. If you are going thru menopause try vyvanse if Adderall stops working. Adderall is much cheaper.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hurt | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/19/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed as ADHD in 4th grade and prescribed Ritalin, 6th grade they saw it wasn't working and they prescribed me Adderall 2 pills in the morning 2 pills by lunch I went from to energetic to sleep in every class... But because i had to urinate all the time after i started the medicine some time I'd be so sleep I'd dream i was in a restroom urinating and the warm sensation of peeing on myself would wake me up to a class room of embarrassment. My throat muscles stopped working so i couldn't eat breakfast lunch or after school only intake liquid (parents cook and don't understand that i literally couldn't swallow my food, whooped or screamed wasting food {but i would be hungry}). From time to time i would stand up and everything would look like a frying TV channel (Black white and gray dots is all i would see scared i was going blind, still happens now). I would get random rashes that would start looking like a ant bite and spread till it vanised i thought it was something wrong with me so i separated my self fell deep into depression until i dropped out of school 2007 and stopped taking the medicine. After about 6 years those rashes slowed down still stuggle eating socially awkward (don't know how to handle socializing at work) still have to urinate every 20-30 min (interferes with my jobs to many breaks) i was a kid whos school had my mom put me on the medicine i didn't pay for it but i was a kid effected by the medicine and the #LABEL of ADHD and the #Process of #ADHD Lester TaylorRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angimen1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not take this everyday because I only want it for focus on work and study....also, I will need to cut it in half because since I do not take it everyday...I'm sensitive to it...and I only take 20mg...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrCook | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/6/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I struggled to concentrate my whole life. I was called a "high aptitude/low achiever". "If he would just buckle down and do the work...his mind wanders...he refuses to get his work done. He's unprepared...he always has an excuse... He's disorganized." I heard these comments from everyone. I frustrated my teachers, my parents and myself. I couldn't pay attention. School was a nightmare that seemed to last forever. I couldn't wait for each class to end. Yet I would do well on tests. I'd get terrible grades for class participation and homework assignments, but then I would get an A or a B on midterms and finals and end up with a B or a C in the course. In college I discovered amphetamines, which are much stronger than Adderall but had the same effect on my ability to concentrate. I'd be failing a course all semester, skipping classes, losing my homework, etc., but then I'd get some "speed" and learn the entire course from the book in a couple of days and ace the final. I was accused of cheating once because professor didn't believe I could have learned so much in such a short period. I was self-medicating, but I didn't know it. There was no such thing as ADD or ADHD in the 60's and 70'. I thought there was something wrong with me and I was wrong to take amphetamines. I couldn't take them all the time; the side effects were extreme. After college, I had to accept mediocrity in almost everything, but I got by. At 50, a shrink finally recognized my ADHD and prescribed Adderall. One of the best days of my life. No more antidepressants, no more confusion and no more procrastination and mediocre achievement. The fog had lifted. My life is so much better in every way. I've learned to accept that where I am today is the culmination of everything I've ever done. I can't regret that because I am happier now than I've ever been. Medical science has saved me. My newfound ability to think and act rationally has made it so I can help others through this sometimes confusing life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darby1 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/13/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was misdiagnosed for the first 17 years of my life, I was forced to take antidepressants that scared me and didn't work. I failed at everything. I would have emotional outbursts from being so overwhelmed. I saw so many doctors and counselors I felt like I was broken and no one was able to "fix" me. As I grew up I learned ways to manage my symptoms but it was exhausting. If i was succeeding at any point it always ended with failure or side tracked resulting in countless unfinished things that made me feel incompetent. "Jack of all trades; master at none". I knew I was capable of so much more but the distractions of hearing, seeing, feeling, smelling everything in my environment all at the same time made me dizzy and I couldn't sort it all out. It wasnt until a little over a year ago I began therapy, seeing a wonderful Psychiatrist who UNDERSTOOD ME! For the first time in my life i was reassured i wasnt alone. Apprehensively I began taking this medicine, it took over 6 months to start feeling in control of my mind, but now I have it figured out. Instead of hearing music, I am listening to the instruments. I can single out the drummer and follow his beats to the end. I am maintaining a high GPA in college, I am organized, efficient and I no longer feel like a crack in the sidewalk of life. I hate that people without a diagnosis, who aren't struggling are abusing this medicine that helps so many people function at high capacity who truly need it! The biggest draw back for me is seeing what I could've done years ago but didn't. I have noticed my heart rate goes up spontaneously which can be scary, but it does pass. I have to learn to give myself credit for my successes, I am not my medication or ADHD but they have both added to the positives of who I am. If you have been struggling, reach out!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thoughts? | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It really helped me when I would take it I would be preforming much better then normal and eliminated all symptoms of my ADHD but it made me feel like I didn't do what I did. As in I would take it and when I would be off it I would feel like there was a completely different person who acted in place of me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CLBK | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/24/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was fortunate to have a Doctor that asked questions and diagnosed me in my 40's. If I had been diagnosed earlier my life would have been better. I take Adderall 30 mg XL capsules and it changed my life. I feel normal! For my treatment this form and dosage works great. I take it about an hour before I'll be getting up and I'm able to function and stay focused at my job and at home. It doesn't make me jittery or hyper, doesn't take my appetite away ( I often wish it would!) I still occasionally need a nap during the day and have no problem falling asleep at night. I've always had low blood pressure, low body temperature, and low blood sugar but they tell me my thyroid levels are fine. I used to get a lot of migraines and had to have Imitrex Nasal with me all the time. Now I very seldom need it. For me personally Adderall has been a life saver! I take it as directed, don't abuse it, see my doctor regularly and can live a productive life. I've been on it for about ten years now, I'm female and 60 years old.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ize | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/4/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made college a possibility for me. I was able to focus and perform well in my classes. Before that I had been failing but knew I could do more than my grades were showing. Over the years (17 or so I believe) I have remained on the same dose with no side effects. I have since been promoted at work and although I am struggling to learn time management on a whole new level I suspect that is normal and not due to ADHD. I continue to take my medication to maintain a level of "normal" cognative function like everyone else. Otherwise everything that crossed my mind would cross my lips and I couldn't keep my emotions in check. I would easily be overwhelmed by projects or anything that involved multiple steps and people depending on me. I would wilt under the pressure. Adderall allows me the ability to focus my thoughts and slow my mental process down. Filter the thousand bits of input I'm bombardrd with every moment. I can see the forrest through the leaves... This medication has been pivotal to my success and I was able to stop taking antidepressants after being on Adderall. I finally felt normal. Hopefully my review helps put a parent at ease when considering if they should put their child on Adderall or not. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More