Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

167 People found this comment helpful

I am a 48 y.o university professor, - after years of frustration and depression because of my procrastination habits and, as I described it, a lack of engagement between my brain and my body. I finally went into therapy just over a year ago at the urging of my wife and was diagnosed with ADHD. I started taking Adderall about 8 months ago. I have found that Adderall is very effective at helping me...

Most voted negative review

25 People found this comment helpful

I am a mental health therapist, and reading these reviews of Adderall makes me want to laugh and cry at the same time. I am also taking adderall, and know in my heart that I am addicted, and struggle with knowing this everyday. With not wanting to refill my script, but knowing that the addict in me will call my doctor and get a refill. Knowing that I will become emotionless and cold, sleepless ...

Shared reviews and ratings

sam | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2021
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

never take this idiots!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ceecee | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/25/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on adder all since I was in kindergarten and now I am in 12th grade. The medicine works don’t get me wrong but it makes me feel like a child in a paranormal movie sitting in the corner rocking back and forth scratching my head. It makes me depressed now that I’m older I cannot make this up! I hate taking it but it’s effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Todd | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/5/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

4 pure forms of meth,Add it All=Adderall.Thanks for the persuaded damage.Thumbs down.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 56 yr female going thru late onset menopause. I am ADD and was diagnosed by two psychiatrists. It was hard for me to believe but now that I have learned about it they were right...I wasn't paying attention I guess In the past 15 years I've tried Ritalin, Adderall, Concerta and now Vyvanse. Extended release and regular. Up until last year, Adderall plain tablets were my favorite. The extended release made me stay awake. I dont feel like superwoman on Adderall but I feel better. A bit calmer, a bit more capable. I do get dry mouth and I forget to eat. It did increase my blood pressure quite a bit. I don't know why, I suspect my hormones changed, but now vyvanse works better for me. Adderall doesn't have to be taken everyday. I liked that. Vyvanse has to be taken everyday. If you are going thru menopause try vyvanse if Adderall stops working. Adderall is much cheaper.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/25/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just got started on adderall xr yesterday because I lost my insurance and couldn't afford 400 for vyvanse. I am an LPN and my schedule is always a big pile of crazy town. Anyways, so I woke up early as shit to get my kiddo off to school right? And I was exhausted. Then I went to work for cpr training and all was good. Came home. Chilled till work, thats when I went wrong. I was have asleep when I took my morning vitamins, but I guess there was onc in there that just didn't register because I took my scheduled dose at 330 like normal. I went along my day givin meds, doin treatments, helping my girls out when BAM! It hits me like ton of bricks. Im dizzy, nauseous, numnb and tingling arms and legs. Fsbs 101, hr 117, spot is between 99 and 100%. It made me freak out and think about all I've eaten or drinking today and the in hit me. What if I accidentally double dosed? What would happen to me if I double died adderall xr and which of my symptoms could be job related? Any thoughts, id greatly appreciate it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hurt | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/19/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed as ADHD in 4th grade and prescribed Ritalin, 6th grade they saw it wasn't working and they prescribed me Adderall 2 pills in the morning 2 pills by lunch I went from to energetic to sleep in every class... But because i had to urinate all the time after i started the medicine some time I'd be so sleep I'd dream i was in a restroom urinating and the warm sensation of peeing on myself would wake me up to a class room of embarrassment. My throat muscles stopped working so i couldn't eat breakfast lunch or after school only intake liquid (parents cook and don't understand that i literally couldn't swallow my food, whooped or screamed wasting food {but i would be hungry}). From time to time i would stand up and everything would look like a frying TV channel (Black white and gray dots is all i would see scared i was going blind, still happens now). I would get random rashes that would start looking like a ant bite and spread till it vanised i thought it was something wrong with me so i separated my self fell deep into depression until i dropped out of school 2007 and stopped taking the medicine. After about 6 years those rashes slowed down still stuggle eating socially awkward (don't know how to handle socializing at work) still have to urinate every 20-30 min (interferes with my jobs to many breaks) i was a kid whos school had my mom put me on the medicine i didn't pay for it but i was a kid effected by the medicine and the #LABEL of ADHD and the #Process of #ADHD Lester TaylorRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angimen1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not take this everyday because I only want it for focus on work and study....also, I will need to cut it in half because since I do not take it everyday...I'm sensitive to it...and I only take 20mg...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrCook | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/6/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I struggled to concentrate my whole life. I was called a "high aptitude/low achiever". "If he would just buckle down and do the work...his mind wanders...he refuses to get his work done. He's unprepared...he always has an excuse... He's disorganized." I heard these comments from everyone. I frustrated my teachers, my parents and myself. I couldn't pay attention. School was a nightmare that seemed to last forever. I couldn't wait for each class to end. Yet I would do well on tests. I'd get terrible grades for class participation and homework assignments, but then I would get an A or a B on midterms and finals and end up with a B or a C in the course. In college I discovered amphetamines, which are much stronger than Adderall but had the same effect on my ability to concentrate. I'd be failing a course all semester, skipping classes, losing my homework, etc., but then I'd get some "speed" and learn the entire course from the book in a couple of days and ace the final. I was accused of cheating once because professor didn't believe I could have learned so much in such a short period. I was self-medicating, but I didn't know it. There was no such thing as ADD or ADHD in the 60's and 70'. I thought there was something wrong with me and I was wrong to take amphetamines. I couldn't take them all the time; the side effects were extreme. After college, I had to accept mediocrity in almost everything, but I got by. At 50, a shrink finally recognized my ADHD and prescribed Adderall. One of the best days of my life. No more antidepressants, no more confusion and no more procrastination and mediocre achievement. The fog had lifted. My life is so much better in every way. I've learned to accept that where I am today is the culmination of everything I've ever done. I can't regret that because I am happier now than I've ever been. Medical science has saved me. My newfound ability to think and act rationally has made it so I can help others through this sometimes confusing life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darby1 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/13/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was misdiagnosed for the first 17 years of my life, I was forced to take antidepressants that scared me and didn't work. I failed at everything. I would have emotional outbursts from being so overwhelmed. I saw so many doctors and counselors I felt like I was broken and no one was able to "fix" me. As I grew up I learned ways to manage my symptoms but it was exhausting. If i was succeeding at any point it always ended with failure or side tracked resulting in countless unfinished things that made me feel incompetent. "Jack of all trades; master at none". I knew I was capable of so much more but the distractions of hearing, seeing, feeling, smelling everything in my environment all at the same time made me dizzy and I couldn't sort it all out. It wasnt until a little over a year ago I began therapy, seeing a wonderful Psychiatrist who UNDERSTOOD ME! For the first time in my life i was reassured i wasnt alone. Apprehensively I began taking this medicine, it took over 6 months to start feeling in control of my mind, but now I have it figured out. Instead of hearing music, I am listening to the instruments. I can single out the drummer and follow his beats to the end. I am maintaining a high GPA in college, I am organized, efficient and I no longer feel like a crack in the sidewalk of life. I hate that people without a diagnosis, who aren't struggling are abusing this medicine that helps so many people function at high capacity who truly need it! The biggest draw back for me is seeing what I could've done years ago but didn't. I have noticed my heart rate goes up spontaneously which can be scary, but it does pass. I have to learn to give myself credit for my successes, I am not my medication or ADHD but they have both added to the positives of who I am. If you have been struggling, reach out!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thoughts? | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It really helped me when I would take it I would be preforming much better then normal and eliminated all symptoms of my ADHD but it made me feel like I didn't do what I did. As in I would take it and when I would be off it I would feel like there was a completely different person who acted in place of me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CLBK | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/24/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was fortunate to have a Doctor that asked questions and diagnosed me in my 40's. If I had been diagnosed earlier my life would have been better. I take Adderall 30 mg XL capsules and it changed my life. I feel normal! For my treatment this form and dosage works great. I take it about an hour before I'll be getting up and I'm able to function and stay focused at my job and at home. It doesn't make me jittery or hyper, doesn't take my appetite away ( I often wish it would!) I still occasionally need a nap during the day and have no problem falling asleep at night. I've always had low blood pressure, low body temperature, and low blood sugar but they tell me my thyroid levels are fine. I used to get a lot of migraines and had to have Imitrex Nasal with me all the time. Now I very seldom need it. For me personally Adderall has been a life saver! I take it as directed, don't abuse it, see my doctor regularly and can live a productive life. I've been on it for about ten years now, I'm female and 60 years old.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ize | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/4/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made college a possibility for me. I was able to focus and perform well in my classes. Before that I had been failing but knew I could do more than my grades were showing. Over the years (17 or so I believe) I have remained on the same dose with no side effects. I have since been promoted at work and although I am struggling to learn time management on a whole new level I suspect that is normal and not due to ADHD. I continue to take my medication to maintain a level of "normal" cognative function like everyone else. Otherwise everything that crossed my mind would cross my lips and I couldn't keep my emotions in check. I would easily be overwhelmed by projects or anything that involved multiple steps and people depending on me. I would wilt under the pressure. Adderall allows me the ability to focus my thoughts and slow my mental process down. Filter the thousand bits of input I'm bombardrd with every moment. I can see the forrest through the leaves... This medication has been pivotal to my success and I was able to stop taking antidepressants after being on Adderall. I finally felt normal. Hopefully my review helps put a parent at ease when considering if they should put their child on Adderall or not. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/11/2017
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked well for me until switched to a less effective generic version.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rosemarie | 65-74 | Female | Patient
7/24/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take adderall for the last five years. I take it for depression and it works wonders. I only take it sporadically so as not to become tolerant. I love it. It changed my life for the better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/3/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug was a waste of time for me, it tricks me into believing im studying but i wasnt really processing anything. i have autism and bipolar so this drug will work whenever it feels like it, i ended up dancing to this stuff and crying when im off it. also ended up getting high at such low doses. stupid doctors think everyone has adhd who complains of day dreaming.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tye Lawson CPhT | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/6/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only wish that I could have been diagnosed earlier. I was in my 30's when it was found. My primary schooling was already finished. I however did have a excellent amaliaration of symptoms with Tx.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

some fatige and irritability

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Almost20yrsTakingAdderall | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/30/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Adderall makes me feel normal. Without it I space out, have trouble prioritizing and getting around to doing what I need to do, and can't function as an adult. Before I started taking it I would pick fights (arguments) in order to get my adrenalin to go up so I could do things. Now I'm even-keeled all day long (and have learnt to space out dosage through the day in order to be even-keeled). I never take more than what I've been prescribed (60mg) and depending on the day I can function well on as little as 40mg. This blue pill has changed my life. I've been on the same prescription for almost 20 years now. I once took too much and felt bad but it didn't feel like a "high". If I wanted to get high Aderall would be the last thing I would take, because all it does is to make me normal. Note I have the Inactive diagnosis of ADHD meaning I was never hyperactive. I retreated into my inner world and spaced out instead. Hope this helps others like me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AZguy28 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Over the past few years I received extremely poor medical care in Portland, Oregon. My former physician and nurse practitioner in Oregon failed me. When I returned to Phoenix, AZ my caring, knowledgeable and outstanding physician and nurse practitioner based in Phoenix, Arizona recommended Adderall. This medicine has helped me a lot. It helps ne relax and focus a lot more. Due to the caring and and fantastic care of Spectrum Medical Group, my quality of life has been restored. Thank you very much.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stimulantsisnottheanswer | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/31/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 6 yr old son was prescribed this he has autism and adhd and it caused him to be uncontrollable, even bang his head up against the cement wall out of frustration. He normally loves taking a bath but after taking it, when he got his bath he just sat in the tub and screamed and cried so bad his face turned beet red. There was nothing that we could do to stop the aggression until he puked everywhere. He took 5mg 2 times (was prescribed 2 5mg tablets a day). Took for 1 day, flushing the rest down the toilet.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More