Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

I've been using Nuvaring for 8 years now and have had no other side effects than going from a C cup to a D cup, but no weight gain anywhere else! It's very effective and no mood swings. And my sex drive is still very much in tact- never been affected. Much lighter periods are a plus (3 days or less), no more pain with periods at all and not having to worry whether I took the pill at the right time...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

Well yes, nuvaring will keep your from getting pregnant. It will also make you an emotional basketcase to the point that a guy who claims he loves you "can't handle it" and runs off with an emotionally unavailable slut. Works wonders in preventing babies though.

Shared reviews and ratings

Lisa | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/1/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I loved this at first. So easy to use. It only caused me one really odd side effect… I could no longer eat eggs while using it. Using the ring gave me an egg intolerance! Any time I ate eggs, not when they were cooked into something but eggs for breakfast or deviled eggs, etc, I’d have diarrhea! At first I thought it was food poisoning but I was consistently getting this terrible stomach pain & diarrhea. Finally, I notice the pattern. So I went a week egg free, I was fine the entire week. Then I ate eggs, my tummy troubles were back. I didn’t realize yet it was because of the ring. I just thought I developed an egg intolerance. Fast forward to when I was off the ring & really wanted eggs so figured I’d just deal with the consequences and eat them. The consequences never came though! I suddenly could eat eggs again. Only change was the nuvaring!! Strangest thing ever. Never found anyone else have this situation but for me it was so clearly connected. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TheGKate | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/28/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The stars system for this medication does not reflect how I feel about nuvaring. Did it work as a birth control? Yes. Was it easy to put in and "use"? Yes. Is it a good option for birth control? NOT FOR ME! Nuvaring made my cervix ACHE and my vagina was sore a third of the time I was using it. It also exacerbated my anxiety. I had more panic attacks while on nuvaring + the hormone come-down than I've ever had IN. MY. LIFE. If you suffer from anxiety/depression/ptsd I would definitely only try this if you have a stable support system around you to combat any side effects. Everyone is different, so this may be the best b.c. for you! But it definitely wasn't for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lupin16 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/11/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will go to war for my NuvaRing! Absolutely love this form of birth control- lighter periods, no pregnancy scares, no negative side effects, and covered 100% by my insurance. I love how I don't have to remember to take it daily, how the hormones are localized to my nether regions, and how I can take it out whenever I want. I remove it for sex, though you don't need to, and it's still totally effective even if it's been out for a short period of time (according to NuvaRing's website it can be out of our body for up to 3 hrs a day every day). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dontrecommend | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/1/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It gave me Endometriosis and it gave my friend months of constant bleeding. I'm now staying away from all forms of artificial hormones such as birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NoToTheNuva | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always had trouble with birth controls either giving me a false pregnancy or making me sick or feel crazy. The nuvaring most recently was giving me HORRIBLE migraines and unbelievable nausea. I’ve been off it for a week now and I’m still sick and all I want to do is sleep. My doctor said it could be 2 or more weeks that I’m feeling side effects. If it works for you then great, but those who are sensitive to estrogen and BC then please use with caution !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amelia | 19-24 | Female | Patient
3/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was horrible, honestly. I'm normally very calm, and levelheaded, and I've never had history of depression or anxiety. Nuvaring made me gain weight like CRAZY (which I dropped again immediately after stopping use), depressed (My first ever suicidal thought, yay), and angry at everyone and everything. I drove my sweet boyfriend CRAZY, and it was so hard to deal with things that normally wouldn't have even made me take a second look. Little things made me angry. The best part, it MURDERED my sex drive. Why even take BC if I don't want sex? This was one of the worst experiences of my life. I don't want to say that it won't work for everyone (because I know everyone is different), but it was a really poor experience for me, and I urge you to pay attention to your body, your moods, your weight, and your sex drive if you start the nuvaring. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient 19-24 | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/5/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first I was hesitant because I have tried the pill, nexplanon, and the Skyla IUD. On all of those I became so extremely moody, I was toxic towards myself and I hated how they made me feel. This I felt was one of my last options... and I love it. The only problem I had was getting my body used to the hormones, but after two months my body was used to it. My husband does not feel it at all. Make sure you have it placed correctly, otherwise it will sometimes weasel down and it's a little uncomfortable. I loved the fact that if I decided I hated it then I could take it out myself, unlike IUD and arm implant. I would 100% recommend this. And to those who are worried about weight gain, I actually lost 20lb on this medication!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ouch | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/6/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hurts to put in, and a horrible pain when having sex. not the best birth control for me. i cry so much and get very upset over little things i wouldn't usually get upset about

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nichol | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/4/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started to use Annovera ring 100 times better than Nuevaring. Wish have done it long time ago!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anon555 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before I started the NuvaRing I was a happy and laid back girl. The NuvaRing completely changed me as a person and made me depressed and weepy every day. I would cry and fight with my boyfriend and I knew my behavior was hormonal and not like me. After I took it out, I gradually began to feel better. I know it works for some people, but I wanted to validate other girls this happened to.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gilly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/29/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crisy | 25-34 | Female | Patient
4/25/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Because of the Covid 19 I decided to go for the Annoveraring that l can use for 12 months. I am amazed how good the Annoveraring is! It is very soft don't even notice that I have the ring. My partner and me we enjoy our......

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/3/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible ring cold and you need to keep it in the cold place. Using now Annovera ring it is for 12 months and very convenient and soft. I am very pleased with Annovera.Can only recommend. Thanks to my friend that recommended to me Annovera. She is as well extremely happy with Annovera.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sad dad | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/20/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best birth control on the planet, not only does the Mrs have zero desire for me, I now avoid her like the plague... complete abstinence means no more kids.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donotuse | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using it for only 3 months, I had a pulmonary embolism- blood clots from my 2 lungs, spent some scary time in ICU. DO NOT TAKE IT DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE! STAY AWAY! thank god i'm still alive. My condolences to those families who lost their girls.... Is anybody suing this company??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UnsatisfiedUser_1 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on the NuvaRing for 2 weeks and I can safely say that I do not like it at all. I was instructed at my 6 week postpartum visit to insert the ring on the first day of my period as it would be effective immediately if inserted during that time. I have since then never stopped bleeding. Apparently this is normal and is called â??breakthroughâ? bleeding. I called my OB and was informed that it is normal and can possibly last for up to THREE MONTHS and to leave it in. I did as I was told, but have noticed that I am extremely moody and distant from my loved ones. Iâ??ve found myself sad for no reason at times and the only thing that is different is the birth control. So I am taking it out and will be following up with my OB soon for a different birth control option. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/20/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been extremely happy using the NuvaRing and would not want to use any other kind of contraception. I wanted a low-hormonal birth control and didnâ??t like the idea of an IUD because of the painful insertion. The only negative side affect I experienced was within the first three months, my vagina/labia became extremely itchy for a week or two. Cleared up and never happened again. My partner can feel it during sex, but itâ??s easy to take out and put back in. A few times I have forgotten to put it back in overnight, but itâ??s not a problem unless itâ??s out for more than 48 hours. Gives me the option to have a predictable period or no period at all. Know that the negative side affects are few and far between - itâ??s not for everyone, but overall, Iâ??ve only known other women who have had positive experiences with the ring. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
msil | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/27/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began the Nuvaring about 6 months into my new relationship and I wish I never did. The Nuvaring gave me the most intense mood swings I have ever experienced in my adult life. Every month for a week I began to feel a lack of connection with the people around me as well as super depressed but couldn't put my finger on what I was sad about. I began starting huge fights with my boyfriend, my friends, my family. In addition to this, I have had close to zero sexual drive, about one week a month I feel like having sex and that's it and also extreme vaginal dryness. I haven't had any weight gain but every month my boobs grow a cup size the week before I take the ring out and then go back to normal after my period. The ring leaves me feeling extremely fatigued constantly, having to take naps close to everyday and not being able to wake up before noon anymore. It also began to give me pain in my arms and legs, that I can only describe as feeling like my blood was having a hard time getting through my veins like my veins were aching. Overall I would not recommend this birth control, it really messed me up and caused huge problems in my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
halla94 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was very easy for me to put in and once I put it in I never had to adjust it or anything, I couldn’t feel it either BUT I got not one but TWO UTIs in the 3 weeks I had it in. I never get UTIs so after getting two in such a short amount of time I decided to take the nuvaring out and not use it anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CassieP | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/23/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I absolutely loved the nuvaring at first. The. One day I was getting really bad chest pain, I went into the hospital because I just knew something was wrong. They diagnosed me as having a pulmonary embolism. I was only 21 years old! I could’ve died. This happened 8 years ago. So no I do not recommend this birth control!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More