Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

This pill is HORRIFIC! Please avoid at all costs. I was put on Levora by my doctor but my pharmacist gave me Portia instead insisting it's the same and just the generic version of Levora. I've been on it for 4 months and it's been the worst 4 months of my life! Not only were my cramps so painful but my libido was gone and when I actually did have intercourse it was the most painful feeling interna...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I am getting sick from this drug

Shared reviews and ratings

EMB | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/26/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like many others, I was originally on Levora and was switched to Portia by Kaiser sometime in 2018. I began taking BC to help with acne and to stop my heavier periods—this worked great for stopping periods, but caused other issues that I didn't even connect to the BC until years later. For the last three years, I struggled with moderate acne, oily skin, increased facial and body hair, some weight gain (or water retention), and extreme bouts of anxiety and stress. I was much grumpier, had feelings of hopelessness and my mind would often think of the worst case scenario. I never connected these symptoms to the pill until I needed a pap to get a refill on my pills and I was curious about switching (and began researching current vs new). I've since stopped all BC and have been off of them for 10 days now and I'm feeling 100% better. My skin is slowly healing, less facial hair, and my stress levels have significantly decreased. Check your symptoms and be sure to read reviews.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
snowfall11 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/30/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this birth control. I suffer from anxiety and depression and this birth control has no affect on either whatsoever. I’m even able to take it continuously and skip my periods. I gained a little weight at the start, but I’ve been on it for 6 years with no problems and no pregnancy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skye | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/18/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this birth control for a little over two months and at around 1 and a half months i began to get red itchy spots and patches all over my stomach, legs, and back and i’m sure it would’ve spread farther if i didn’t stop taking it. my mood swings and depression was really bad and i feel so much better after not taking it, i strongly don’t recommend im aware it changes within the person but just a warning because you may have the same side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Priscilla | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me gain over 10 pounds, and made my skin awful. Worst birth control I’ve ever taken

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DoUrResearch! | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/1/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe depression/ anxiety on this pill, cystic acne & very greasy hair. It makes me manic to a point of almost in a psychosis. Also severe hormonal migraines! No libido whatsoever. Made my partner seem repulsive to me. Awful pill I would never take it again. My old GP was negligent and never did a endocrine panel to see what pill might work best for me, or if any pill would at all. Please do your research about Birth Control Pills as they may help with preventing pregnancy; they include and influx of other horrible side effects not worth it for your mental and physical health.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amberrmariie | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2019
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not take this birth control. Out of all the bad bc pills I have tried this one takes the cake. Was given it for ovarian cysts and Iâ??d rather deal with the cysts. Toughed it out for a couple weeks but then made my doc switch the prescriptions. Felt sick all the time and donâ??t even get me started on the depression. Acne. Sooooooo much of it. Face back and chest all COVERED I felt gross.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/30/2018
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for 4 months continuous (no blank week) and experienced a lot of break through bleeding, about 8 lbs of weight gain, moodiness, cramping, irritability. Reading others are having similar experiences makes me feel moderately sane - I'm throwing the rest of them away!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abby | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill is a NIGHTMARE! this is my first time taking the pill, I only started taking it in the hopes of improving my very painful periods and I regret even trying it. I’ve been on it for 3 weeks now and my life has been totally ruined. I have crazy mood swings, major depression and mad rage! My face started breaking out even tho I’ve never even had issues with acne before. I have gained weight even though I’ve been working out and resisted most of the insanely strong cravings I’ve been getting. My life has gone downhill so I’m gonna stop taking this pill immediately. The sad thing is I have now lost faith in the pill and will just deal with my horrible periods. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frankie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/8/2018
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could not explain this general fog I have been under, sadness, and super anxiety. The side effects of this are super intense, I have never been so affected by a BC pill, I hate this drug and can't wait till it's out o my system. Plus I am breaking out on top of it all. THE WORST

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Haie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this birth control for a few months now and while at first didn’t experience any side effects am now experiencing horrible side effects. Crazy increased appetite that’s extremely annoying and hard to control, irregular bleeding, low libido. I am done with hormonal birth controls because I have not been able to find one yet that doesn’t have these awful symptoms. The only thing I didnt mind about this pill was it helped my acne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cutiejoybbg | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2018
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was by far the worst thing I have ever taken!!! I had Never before suffered from acne but now I am Experiencing breakouts EVERYWHERE . Do not recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/29/2018
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Where do I begin with this pill. This drug is the devil in a nutshell, it oozes cancerous fake hormones that destroy your body in and out and I advice anybody whoâ??s doctors insist on taking it to avoid it at all costs. So sad it took me this long to connect my symptoms to this drug. For starters it gave me an ongoing strange yellow discharge I had never had before almost like a constant yeast infection that wouldnâ??t go away despite antibiotics. The first weeks of taking it caused me to vomit every single night. I would get migraines often, killer back pain, and fluid retention in the stomach. I had excellent mental health but this drug would increase my heart rate constantly making me feel on edge like I need to jump. Mood swings for the first time in my life were prominent. It caused me to suddenly grow hair on my upper stomach a bit even. It will give you acne and lower your libido to a basement level. I donâ??t ever write reviews on anything but this is so bad, I wanted to forewarn others of the risk. Definitely not worth your time and I had to be on antibiotics most of the year for the first time in my life because of it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zgirl5 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/3/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HORRIBLE! I was taking Levora and had been on it for over 10 years with absolutely no problems. My pharmacy switched me to Portia claiming it was because of my insurance. I have now been on Portia for 1 full year. I have had more periods, even when I am not supposed to. I have had several months of having 2 a month. I had experienced this when I was 19 and now I am 40. I have always been on a birth control pill. Past 6 months I started feeling extremely moody, anxiety, having rage, causing blood pressure to spike, all of which are out of character for me. I had my doctor do a blood test and my results are no estrogen. This pill does not work for me. My doctor has now prescribed me to start on estrogen pills.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunshineruca | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/30/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Reading these other reviews has been enlightening and encouraging. I suffer from depression, recently it’s been much worse than normal despite my efforts (supplements etc) and I have had mood swings, weight gain, no libido. I assummed this all was relative to my depression and body issues in general as well as my diet. I honestly never looked hard at the time line and came to the conclusion of the side effects being terrible; reading all these other reviews I’m now going to quit taking it immediately. It’s actually a relief to realize that it’s a side effect of this, I just thought my depression and other issues were worsening. I’m relieved to find out otherwise so I can change me routine and go with a different form of birth control. (My libido has been so low recently as a side effect I really didn’t even need it) It regulates my period which is nice, but not worth the side effects, I should have quit taking this months ago. I forgot to mention on top of those side effects I also have had an increase in acne. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Truth | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/13/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill for over 6 months. I noticed a significant amount of weight gain. I have been unable to lose any of the weight gained despite the change in my diet and a more frequent exercise routine. Reading these reviews made me realize that the pills may be the main cause of my weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimster | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/14/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to switch to this from Levora that worked great. Even though Portia kept me from getting pregnant, I woke up every morning with cramps, nausea and by week 3 I had purpura show up on my legs. I had back pain and mood swings like crazy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/18/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking BC for treating my heavy, long cycles (like 20 days straight) when Mirena was not an option. I already have a tubal, so BC was not as important as hormone regulation. I have had no acne, very little mood swings, and have actually lost weight. So far, so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/25/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for about a month. I have experienced dizziness, tender breasts, and mood swings. I will try and stick it out, but so far I am not a fan.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for only 5 days. I have had several side effects already. I am very moody, tired, hungry all the time, no sex drive, nauseous, irritated at everything, can't sleep, hot flashes, then cold flashes, anxiety. I'm sure there are others, but too annoyed to think of more. Stopping these today. I hope this doesn't happen to you. I have never had these reactions from a birth control before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sammers | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/11/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Portia because of my underactive thyroid they said it wouldn't interact with my other medications and 5 years later it still hasn't. It's a super great birth control no weight gain, acne or moodiness for me at all. The best part is I used to have heavy periods for 6-7 days now I get it for 1-2 days! No complaints here!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More