Show ratings & reviews for

1.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Patch is too big and won't stick. I just got it 4 days ago and have used as many patches. I am a swimmer, so this inferior product will not work for me. I spoke with the distributor and they are not helpful at all - oh well! attitide.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/16/2022
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only patch that has worked for me and I have tried probably 20 different estrogen patches, pills and creams. I’m sorry it doesn’t work for other women but from what I know from talking to doctors and my own experience how a patch works has to do with the release of the estrogen. Different patches have different release and absorption — so if one patch doesn’t it’s either the strength of the estrogen or the release — so keep on trying!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
siren's child | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2016
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This crap is awful. I'm a veteran and I was put on Vivelle Dot .05 after my complete hysterectomy. It worked but I still had hot flashes every few days so my doctor increased me to .1 estradiol. My pharmacy sent Alora .1. It's been a mess ever since. I'm having hot flashes numerous times a day. I'm emotional. The patch doesn't stick at all. If I sweat, it comes off. If I shower, it comes off. If I move, it comes off. I'm suppose to use 2 a week and I'm using 2 a day. I've called my doctor and told her to switch me back to Vivelle. If the VA can't do that, I'll pay for it out of pocket, even though I'm on disability. This stuff doesn't work at all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2016
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Headaches, breast tenderness, night sweats, insomnia, nipple discharge, back ache, joint pain. This is one of the most worse experiences of my life. Insurance won't pay for many of the estrogen. I have Atrophic vaginitis. Can anybody tell me something else that works without the side effects? Need help!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/18/2016
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on an estrogen patch for a few years now. Due to my insurance I have tried patches from many different makers and I have never had a problem until Alora which I have been using for one month. The patch is very large and not sticky enough so it comes of or wrinkles up a lot. I have had splitting headaches, my hot flashes have come back as has my insomnia and the nausea has been awful plus I have been crampy and exhausted again. Also the first day I change the patch I have blurry vision and dry eyes. Hands down the worst medication I have ever taken. Avoid it if you can. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stef | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/17/2016
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on patches for several years and have used them from many different makers. I have never had any of the problems Alora patches gave me. Headaches (severe) dry eyes, blurred vision, my hot flashes returned, I can't sleep well and the patches don't stick. These patches are complete garbage!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
France | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2014
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been using the Vivelle Dot for 15 years, and did just great with them with no side effects. My on going prescription ran out and so my Dr or his nurse calls in a prescription for Alora patches. My life turned upside down from using Alora patches. I started with severe headaches, feeling nauseated, my blood pressure sky rocketed, started feeling depressed, and my vision became blurry. I would not recommend this drug to any one!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2014
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using the Vivelle dot was switched to the Alora as my insurance will no longer pay for the other. It is very large and does not stick all it does is leave you sticky!! I will be calling my physician to explore a different way to receive my meds then using this patch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2013
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The patch is much bigger than the Vivelle dot which would not be a problem if the patch stuck properly. It comes off in the shower or when I get sweaty, or for no reason at all. It also stuck to my underwear. it was itchy and when it did come off, it left my skin red from irritation. I found it completely unsatisfactory and now use the Minivelle with the manufacturer coupon for $30 per month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GrandmaRain | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/27/2013
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe headaches and partial loss of vision. Symptoms go away about 1 hour after patch is removed. Would not recomend this patch to anyone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eulamo | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/14/2012
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used Estraderm patch since 1985 until it was no longer available and doctor prescribed Alora patch. Have hot flashes which I never had with other patch. Adhesive hard to remove when switching sites. I feel as if this patch does not deliver consistent doses of estradiol. I am looking for a different delivery system--if available.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CindyC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2012
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Patch is too big and won't stick. I just got it 4 days ago and have used as many patches. I am a swimmer, so this inferior product will not work for me. I spoke with the distributor and they are not helpful at all - oh well! attitide.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hope Square | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2011
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

patch is too big and not sticky enough..if i sweat or take a shower it starts slipping off..or it bunches up when i remove by pants or underwear depending on where i place it..I have to keep touching it to check that its not falling off..the plastic itches my skin when it starts curling up. I had no problem with Vivelle dot..size was great..very sticky...did not move or curl. I have tried different locations on my back and abdomen..same results..I had to use a bandaid to keep it on my body. My ins forced my gyn to change it to alora..not on formulary..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2008
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After my hysterectomy, my doctor prescribed Climara Patch. Medicaid would not pay for it, so they gave me the Alora Patch. After using this for about 6 weeks, I felt like I was losing it mentally, felt my heart beating at night, insomnia, night sweats. This drug does not work. I didn't realize at first that the patch was my problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/11/2008
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried this medication for less than 2 months, I had symptoms of anxiety, depression, insomnia. I could tell when it was almost time to change the patch. The hot flushes at night returned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/7/2008
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried the Alora estrogen patch after the Vivelle original big patch was discontinued recently. I used Vivelle (not the Dot) for 10 years after going through menopause; the estrogen delivery was even and consistent. I need a big patch, because the Dot patches don't work for me, but after 10 days of experimenting with the Alora big patch, I find it unsatisfactory. The estrogen delivery is dangerously uneven and inconsistent. The patch is to be changed every 3 or 4 days, but my body absorbs way too much estrogen from it at once on the first day (dizziness, etc., and making me worry about blood clots), and then an estrogen crash occurs on the second day, as if all or most of the patch's estrogen is used up, with hot flashes, migraines, and other adverse symptoms beginning/returning. I've tried cutting the patch into pieces and working with those daily, but this is a lot of trouble and hasn't worked. I feel terrible on this patch, and there is no way I can continue to use it. It is also larger than the Vivelle original patch, but I wouldn't mind that if it worked. It doesn't, and I don't understand why stuff like this is allowed to be marketed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More