Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

Every birth control pill is different. Seriously. I have been on 3 different types of birth control pills and all three gave me different reactions. Everyone reacts differently to each different pill. I have researched horror stories on every pill that I've ever been on, and each time it's the same, "OH IT'S POISON!". Blah, blah, blah. This was really frustrating for me, as a woman, to try t...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

This drug is horrible, i advise ANYONE to steer clear of this Birth Control, it has given me DISFIGURING acne on my shoulders, chest, back and face. I was extremely depressed on the pill. I just wanted to die from the acne. I contimplated suicide. Im off of the drug now, but obviously im left with the horrible acne, which i now think is getting worse from having to adjust back to my regular hormon...

Shared reviews and ratings

Mac | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/29/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yea it made my cramps a bit less painful but its not worth it it made me go crazy i was so depressed and my personality completely changed i was unrecognizable and so so sad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/13/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on Alesse for a full year and it was wonderful. it cleared my acne, i didn't have any side effects, however after a bout a year my PMS got so bad i would get horrible leg cramps that kept me up at night, severely ill with nausea, it made my anxiety disorder 100x worse and overall super depressed. coming off Alesse i had serious clarity. I'm not trying Marvala and hoping to see better results. But Alesse ruined my life to say the least.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Other | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/7/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control is horrible. I do NOT recommend it. It made me extremely depressed and suicidal. I was on it for many months and it didn't help my long heavy periods whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Satisfied | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/23/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking Alysena 28 as a method of birth control as well as regulating my hormonal acne. Took about 4 months, but my acne is no longer active other than the occasional pimple. I'm left with scars but that is my own fault. Been taking it for 7 months and it has been an effective birth control. Before this pill, I had extremely painful periods with very heavy bleeding. Alysena 28 has reduced my period pain as well as lightened my period. The only con is that I gained a bit of weight and bloat easier now. Not sure if it's pill-related or just me growing up. Regardless, for my first birth control experience this pill has worked well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first week of starting the pill, i would get headaches and nausea for the first couple of hours after taking it but would eventually wear off. After taking the pill for about three weeks, i noticed my weight began to change and i slowly started packing on pounds. Whether it was water retention, or a slowing of the metabolism if not both, after taking it for five months, i've gained 20 pounds! Something very abnormal for me. Since quitting Alysena 28 for the last two weeks, i've noticed an increased libido (making climax even easier!?), overall better mental wellness (forgot what normal felt like apparently), and i've lost two pounds each week!! I'll stick with the other type of "birth control" if u know what i mean! ;) The pros of this birth control however, have been: knowing exactly when my period will come (fourth sugar pill like clock work), no worry of pregnancy, and cycle shorter by either one or two days!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/29/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the first birth control I tried and was on it for about 10 months. The first few months I cried a lot thinking that it was just me regulating to the pill. But then after the first few months I started experiencing horrible depression/anxiety that was very unlike me before. I am about to start Tricira Lo instead because I do not feel like myself on this pill, and I don’t really have any extra stress going on in my life that would contribute to these anxious and depressive symptoms. Other than this, I did not experience any other side effects except for some bloating and water retention the first few months. I’m nervous about the nausea on this new pill that many people seem to experience but I need to change this pill in hopes that my mental health will improve!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
L | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the generic brand of Alesse which is Alysena 28. I have had really bad breakthrough bleeding in my first two months. It seems as if I have 2 periods a month. In addition to this, I have cried way more often and had depressive thoughts more. I’m not a very emotional person but this pill has made me become one. My boobs have grown a cup size but my acne is currently getting worse. Maybe this will change as my body continues to get used to the pill?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bry | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/16/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this birth control for 10 years and I love it so much! I would recommend it because I know how hard finding the right birth control can be for some people! Remember everyone is different abs their bodies will react totally different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chip00845 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Tri Cyclen for 10 years and it was really good. This past year I started having irregular periods so my doctor switched me to Mirvala. I was only on Mirvala for 2 months and it was terrible. I have struggled with chronic tension headaches and migraines for about 5 years now with no reason why. When I was switched to Mirvala I had headaches everyday and migraines every day on my period. If was then that my doctor informed me that some women are sensitive to estrogen levels and the fact that my headaches got worse on Mirvala made sense since it had a higher level of estrogen then Tri Cyclen. She then switched me to Alysena and after only being on it for 1 month I am impressed! I've only had 1 minor headache all month with is amazing. Constent migraine are hell so if this review can help someone else who is sensitive to estrogen that doesn't know it yet, please ask your doctor about it. The only other thing I noticed on Alysena is that the week before my period I had much more food cravings then the other 2 birth control pills I was on. It's possible my body will get used to it as I continue on the pill longer though :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moog | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/9/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been using this form of birth control for about 4 years. The first month my acne disappeared. And after 6 months my period went down in days to about 4-5 days normally now. I used to bleed for 9 days minimum one time 21 days. This pill has not impacted my mood in any way that I know of. I have spotted a couple of times but just with in the first year and only a brief time during the day. Have also never gotten pregnant. .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blondegal231 | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/2/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Alysena for over a year until I started to break through bleed when taking my active pills before my placebo week. This really made me upset because I absolutely loved being on Alysena, no pregnancies, larger boobs, perfectly normal mood and sex drive. After the break through bleeding happened I got an IUD which I also had for over a year. When I tell you it was an absolute nightmare, it was an absolute nightmare. I decided after a year of irregular periods on the IUD to go back on oral birth control. My doctor prescribed me a new kind (mirvalon), and it just does not compare to how good alysena is. The biggest difference iâ??ve noticed between these two is that on mirvalon i absolutely ate everything i saw. I was so hungry all the time which never happened when I was taking Alysena. I would eat until i was sick on mirvalon. Iâ??ve been on mirvalon for three months and now iâ??m switching back to alysena because of how much i not only trust it to keep me from getting pregnant but how it affected me compared to mirvalon. I did not experience hair loss on the pill like some say, then again all bodies are different and everyone reacts to estrogen differently. I highly recommend this pill especially if youâ??re just starting out. I read a lot of these reviews over the past years about alysena and I love giving my input because iâ??ve have my fair share as a teenager experimenting with different types of birth control. Definitely recommend! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maddie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/17/2020
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this in order to regulate my period and help with hormonal acne. The experience was brutal to say the leastl. I bled everyday for 2 months and not just spotting I mean full on period for 2 months, acne somehow got worse, breasts were tender all the time, the cramps made me double over in pain and I was nauseous every few days for hours on end.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
7/3/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Alesse for birth control related reasons, and to see if it would help with my mild hormonal acne. I didnâ??t get any new breakouts, but my skin hasnt really improved. It did itâ??s job (i havenâ??t gotten pregnant) but I wont be continuing with this pill. For 2 ish weeks out of the month, I would have an upset stomach almost constantly. I found I was more sensitive to food as well. Always feeling sick led to me losing my appetite. It completely killed my mood and made me nervous to eat. Iâ??ve been off it for 2 weeks and i already feel like my normal self again. Iâ??m going to be trying the Kyleena IUD at the end of the month, i donâ??t feel right putting so many hormones in my body, the IUD has way less hormones than any birth control pill does. However, I have friends who love Alesse, so every body responds differently! Other than my upset stomach, I got a few mild headaches at the beginning. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maria | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/11/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for 5 years. The positives: it cleared up my acne, my periods no longer caused me pain and they were shorter and lighter. The best part was I no longer had cramps during my periods. The negatives: I did experience a lot of hair loss when I stopped taking the pill. Also, when I was taking the pill, I had an increase in two breast cup sizes. Before taking the pills I was a size H and after taking the pills I became size J.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
girlygirlgrill | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/11/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this birth control is effective as i havenâ??t gotten preggo but my god the side effects are brutal, i have severe cramps and feel nauseous frequently. not to mention when i get my period it lasts almost 2 weeks, sometimes longer! and when it is that long itâ??s worse than how it used to be before i was on this pill. i also noticed it messes with my mood quite a bit. so overall i wouldnâ??t recommend this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/3/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bit of a tough time adjusting to the pill, for the first 4 months I would feel nauseous or throw up a few hours after taking the 2nd or 3rd pill of a new pack, but that feeling only lasted maybe a day. Other than that, I did have issues with my breasts being pretty consistently sore. It does make me have way more discharge, but my periods are much lighter and I have little to no cramping (I used to get period cramps so bad they would actually make me cry). Overall, totally worth continuing to take the pills cause hey, I'M NOT PREGNANT!!! and the side effects have since pretty much gone away! :) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brookis | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/17/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only form of birth control that me and my boyfriend use. Have never gotten pregnant (and we have sex a lot lol). Don’t get much acne anymore, period comes exactly on the 4th sugar pill every month. Have no side effects except for tender breasts every now and then throughout the month. I recommend but every girl is different. I’ve tried other pills that has great reviews from other girls and we’re crappy for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephico | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/12/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control works for me perfectly, I barely get symptoms other than my breasts feeling tender or painful sometimes and my period is on time every month other than maybe being 1-2 days late every few months or so, I didn’t rate it 5/5 because I’ve only been using it about 7 months and you never know what’s to come but so far its been very reliable compared to my last birth control which made my period whack and that always spooked me in terms of whether or not I was pregnant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kyra Whitlock | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/23/2019
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for around 6 months now and it has been amazing for me. Before, I had excruciating period pain that would cause me to pass out and cry and made me unable to walk. I also had the pain in my right hip and into my thigh and knee which was caused by my ovarian cyst reacting to my period. I also had pretty bad acne, as well as periods about 8-9 days long before. Since starting the pill, I have absolutely no pain anywhere related to periods or my cyst, and my skin has never been better (I went from bad acne to getting maybe one pimple at a time). I do find however that Iâ??ll start getting some brown discharge 1 or two days before the sugar pills, and also for a day or two after the pills, but I just make sure to wear liners and itâ??s not an issue for me. I also make sure I take them around 8am and have an alarm set. I do this because I will never be leaving the house before 8, so I wonâ??t forget to bring the pill with me or have to take it early and screw things up. Overall, this has been a blessing for me, and I definitely recommend it, and hope that it does as many good thing for others as it did for meRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crisie101 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/10/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Honestly, every birth control is different and works differently on all women. But you have to be serious about side effects, obviously all birth controls WILL have side effects, it's not something you can control. Overall this helped with acting as a birth control, acne treatment and I had pretty bad acne, I have a horrible long, painful and heavy period when not on birth control, this helped me in ways that have changed my period. I now have lighter periods, almost little to no pain, and have them for 4 to maybe 5 days. I do experience side effects, I have PMS symptoms nearly two weeks before my period, get stubborn acne, LESS but still get a few difficult pimples. My breasts hurt at least 10 days out of the 28 cycle and I did gain a little bit of weight. I also have a slower sex drive but it is still there. Overall the birth control did it's job and helped with things that have made my life a lot better. It just depends if you're willing to wait for the 3 months recommended by doctors in order to see the changes or if you're not. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More