Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

Every birth control pill is different. Seriously. I have been on 3 different types of birth control pills and all three gave me different reactions. Everyone reacts differently to each different pill. I have researched horror stories on every pill that I've ever been on, and each time it's the same, "OH IT'S POISON!". Blah, blah, blah. This was really frustrating for me, as a woman, to try t...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

This drug is horrible, i advise ANYONE to steer clear of this Birth Control, it has given me DISFIGURING acne on my shoulders, chest, back and face. I was extremely depressed on the pill. I just wanted to die from the acne. I contimplated suicide. Im off of the drug now, but obviously im left with the horrible acne, which i now think is getting worse from having to adjust back to my regular hormon...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience on this pill was HORRIBLE. I was depressed, constantly bloated, so fatigued I could barely make it through the day, sleeping very long hours and still tired. I had bad headaches like never before and a tingling in my right cheek and pain behind my right eye- ps. I’ve left the pill and the tingling and depression from the pill still has not gone and I’m afraid it may take a while. I read some horrible reviews online and thought I would give it a try anyway because every ones experience is their own but honestly mine was awful! And similar to ones I had read. Also all I would do is cry it made me really emotional and dull I felt as if I had a grey cloud over my head I couldn’t think clearly and I am normally so full of life and loving however this made me extremely moody and introverted I just wanted to stay in and stay in bed all day it was horrible I had to go off it and the side effects are still with me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/27/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Honestly, I feel like a lot of people don't grasp that it's not just this particular birth control that causes adverse mental health effects and weight gain, and a bunch of other not-so-great side effects. It's just birth control in general. I had a horrible time with a hormonal IUD so I removed it and my doc gave me this cause it's low in estrogen. Honestly, it's doing exactly what I expect. I am generally as good as one can get when they are on birth control. Everyone needs different amounts of hormones and I just happen to like the lower dose. Figure out what's best for you before deciding that this one birth control, in particular, is the worst thing to ever exist. It works great for me. I still get cramps and headaches around my period as I always have, I still have a bit of stress/hormonal acne, and yeah I'm bigger than I was when I was 16 and starting birth control for the first time but all of that is okay. Keep consulting a medical professional and figure out your own needs/wants for contraceptive methods. Maybe birth control just isn't working for you if you feel like it ruined your life. Stop taking it and find other methods. Same as any other medication that is tailored to the user - try a different type, different dose, different method that works for you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although I had no period and therefore no side effects from a period, the pill was awful. My mental health was ruined and I gained sooo much weight. I am getting an IUD soon so hopefully that works. I also heard from some people that the Lolo pill or mini pills are better for weight gain and mental health.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rachel | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced horrendous depression, weight loss, I would breakout in hives, zero libito, regular headaches, nausea, painful acne, made my PCOS flare ups even worse and more frequent then they were previous to getting on the pill, and the start of a blood clot in one of my legs. This pill almost killed me. I was one it for about 6 months, and it has taken me over a year for my body to recover from the synthetic hormones they use for “the pill”. My doctor wrote me a prescription with minimal consultation. I would suggest getting into a in-depth convo with your doctor, about all possible out comes, even if it’s “rare” or “highly uncommon”. I learned that the hard way after trusting my doctor, and having to read the fine print of side effects written in the little pamphlet in the box. Please do your own homework on side effects, effectiveness on a birth control your interested in taking, even get a second doctors opinion to play it safe to what will work with your body.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tania | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried taking this pill three times already. Every time I take it my mood changes drastically. I get very depressed, and sad and anxious. This is my Last month as I will be getting an IUD. Please stay away from this pill, the psychological side effects are very bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bee | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on another birth control that had the hormone percentage go up every week and it ruined my mood. My doctor prescribed this one for me and it fixed my moods. I get some cramping during the ovulation week but besides that, every thing else has been good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/16/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Alesse for 10 years and it ruined my life. I attempted suicide multiple times while on Alesse and thought I was a chronically depressed person. Then I moved and wasn’t able to renew my prescription then everything changed. After getting off Alesse I became a completely different person no longer depressed or unmotivated. I suddenly had a zest for life and was able to get a promotion at work and leave my terrible relationship. The doctor that originally prescribed me Alesse didn’t tell me about the psychological side effects and I had no idea that all that suffering was caused by birth control. I am so grateful that I wasn’t able to fulfill my prescription that day. I’ve been using condoms and tracking my periods ever since and haven’t had any difficulties preventing pregnancy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well for about 4 years then began to have breakthrough bleeding and constant spotting for several months. No diagnosis could be made other than ineffective birth control as I underwent several months of testing for endometriosis and found nothing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/12/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never had any problems with Alysena 28 for the past two years now. Felt some mood changes at first but that is normal I believe. Never had a serious pregnancy scare.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mac | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/29/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yea it made my cramps a bit less painful but its not worth it it made me go crazy i was so depressed and my personality completely changed i was unrecognizable and so so sad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/13/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on Alesse for a full year and it was wonderful. it cleared my acne, i didn't have any side effects, however after a bout a year my PMS got so bad i would get horrible leg cramps that kept me up at night, severely ill with nausea, it made my anxiety disorder 100x worse and overall super depressed. coming off Alesse i had serious clarity. I'm not trying Marvala and hoping to see better results. But Alesse ruined my life to say the least.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Other | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/7/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control is horrible. I do NOT recommend it. It made me extremely depressed and suicidal. I was on it for many months and it didn't help my long heavy periods whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Satisfied | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/23/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking Alysena 28 as a method of birth control as well as regulating my hormonal acne. Took about 4 months, but my acne is no longer active other than the occasional pimple. I'm left with scars but that is my own fault. Been taking it for 7 months and it has been an effective birth control. Before this pill, I had extremely painful periods with very heavy bleeding. Alysena 28 has reduced my period pain as well as lightened my period. The only con is that I gained a bit of weight and bloat easier now. Not sure if it's pill-related or just me growing up. Regardless, for my first birth control experience this pill has worked well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first week of starting the pill, i would get headaches and nausea for the first couple of hours after taking it but would eventually wear off. After taking the pill for about three weeks, i noticed my weight began to change and i slowly started packing on pounds. Whether it was water retention, or a slowing of the metabolism if not both, after taking it for five months, i've gained 20 pounds! Something very abnormal for me. Since quitting Alysena 28 for the last two weeks, i've noticed an increased libido (making climax even easier!?), overall better mental wellness (forgot what normal felt like apparently), and i've lost two pounds each week!! I'll stick with the other type of "birth control" if u know what i mean! ;) The pros of this birth control however, have been: knowing exactly when my period will come (fourth sugar pill like clock work), no worry of pregnancy, and cycle shorter by either one or two days!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/29/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the first birth control I tried and was on it for about 10 months. The first few months I cried a lot thinking that it was just me regulating to the pill. But then after the first few months I started experiencing horrible depression/anxiety that was very unlike me before. I am about to start Tricira Lo instead because I do not feel like myself on this pill, and I don’t really have any extra stress going on in my life that would contribute to these anxious and depressive symptoms. Other than this, I did not experience any other side effects except for some bloating and water retention the first few months. I’m nervous about the nausea on this new pill that many people seem to experience but I need to change this pill in hopes that my mental health will improve!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
L | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the generic brand of Alesse which is Alysena 28. I have had really bad breakthrough bleeding in my first two months. It seems as if I have 2 periods a month. In addition to this, I have cried way more often and had depressive thoughts more. I’m not a very emotional person but this pill has made me become one. My boobs have grown a cup size but my acne is currently getting worse. Maybe this will change as my body continues to get used to the pill?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bry | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/16/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this birth control for 10 years and I love it so much! I would recommend it because I know how hard finding the right birth control can be for some people! Remember everyone is different abs their bodies will react totally different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chip00845 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Tri Cyclen for 10 years and it was really good. This past year I started having irregular periods so my doctor switched me to Mirvala. I was only on Mirvala for 2 months and it was terrible. I have struggled with chronic tension headaches and migraines for about 5 years now with no reason why. When I was switched to Mirvala I had headaches everyday and migraines every day on my period. If was then that my doctor informed me that some women are sensitive to estrogen levels and the fact that my headaches got worse on Mirvala made sense since it had a higher level of estrogen then Tri Cyclen. She then switched me to Alysena and after only being on it for 1 month I am impressed! I've only had 1 minor headache all month with is amazing. Constent migraine are hell so if this review can help someone else who is sensitive to estrogen that doesn't know it yet, please ask your doctor about it. The only other thing I noticed on Alysena is that the week before my period I had much more food cravings then the other 2 birth control pills I was on. It's possible my body will get used to it as I continue on the pill longer though :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moog | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/9/2021
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been using this form of birth control for about 4 years. The first month my acne disappeared. And after 6 months my period went down in days to about 4-5 days normally now. I used to bleed for 9 days minimum one time 21 days. This pill has not impacted my mood in any way that I know of. I have spotted a couple of times but just with in the first year and only a brief time during the day. Have also never gotten pregnant. .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blondegal231 | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/2/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Alysena for over a year until I started to break through bleed when taking my active pills before my placebo week. This really made me upset because I absolutely loved being on Alysena, no pregnancies, larger boobs, perfectly normal mood and sex drive. After the break through bleeding happened I got an IUD which I also had for over a year. When I tell you it was an absolute nightmare, it was an absolute nightmare. I decided after a year of irregular periods on the IUD to go back on oral birth control. My doctor prescribed me a new kind (mirvalon), and it just does not compare to how good alysena is. The biggest difference iâ??ve noticed between these two is that on mirvalon i absolutely ate everything i saw. I was so hungry all the time which never happened when I was taking Alysena. I would eat until i was sick on mirvalon. Iâ??ve been on mirvalon for three months and now iâ??m switching back to alysena because of how much i not only trust it to keep me from getting pregnant but how it affected me compared to mirvalon. I did not experience hair loss on the pill like some say, then again all bodies are different and everyone reacts to estrogen differently. I highly recommend this pill especially if youâ??re just starting out. I read a lot of these reviews over the past years about alysena and I love giving my input because iâ??ve have my fair share as a teenager experimenting with different types of birth control. Definitely recommend! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More