Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

26 People found this comment helpful

The 1st time I used Mucinex,I used the 1200mg pack, it kept me up for 36hr straight but it did loosen the congestion so that I could COUGH IT OUT (that is its purpose. not a cough supressant as others have written) This time I bought the 600mg and had no trouble sleeping. I've dealt with brochitis most of my life and if you have chest congestion, this is the best OTC drug you can get. You do ha...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

The print on the carton of this Mucinex is SO SMALL, especially if you sick. Found myself approximating dosage...don't ever do that.

Shared reviews and ratings

Coughpatient | 25-34 | Male | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Upset my stomach - lightheaded - didn’t even relieve my cough

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/19/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Liquid works great at night to deal with chronic bronchitis. Pills are not as effective and the safety packaging makes getting out the pills one huge pain in the ass.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tyler G | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Broke up my mucus so I could cought it up. No problems sleeping, didn't get dizziness. May not be for everyone but I'd say give it a try.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Activetraveler | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/18/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As strange as this may sound, I have found that good old Mucinex, that is, active ingredient *guaifenesin,* really helps amazingly with my stiff and achy hip/haunch muscles, tendons, and ligaments. I suffered a very minor injury years ago, but the area around it became stiffer and more painful over time. I noticed once when I had a bad cold and was taking the usual cold remedies that my hip area felt suddenly better. I narrowed it down to the effect of guaifenesin. Since then, I have found that many fibromyalgia sufferers also report an amazingly beneficial effect of guaifenesin on their stiff muscles! It really does work, is sold over-the-counter, and I notice no side effects. They make 600mg tabs, but even 1/2 tab per day really helps me. I hope it helps you too!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wiserlady | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this because of thick gunge in my throat making it hard to breath/ eat etc, also when I got a cold and it got worse. Had never had it before. It made my phlegm./mucus a lot thinner, I was able to sleep through the night without the usual waking up early struggling to breath and needing to use a nebuliser or inhalers a fair bit. The downside was that it made me incontinent. I had to wear sanitary towels because I would be forever leaking! I am a female of 62 who does not have problems with this otherwise. I bought mine in England in Lemsip, I would like to be able to get it in a cheaper nicer form. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2019
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced a racing heartbeat and ringing in the ears after taking one Mucinex tablet. It left me with a very dry mouth and a "cloudy" head. I won't be taking this product again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dave | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2019
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All these people saying it doesn't work are smoking crack. I had a terrible dry cough and within 30 minutes of taking this I was finally coughing up phlegm which greatly relieved my chest pain. It doesn't cure your cough but for 12 hours it relieves it greatly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paterv | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2017
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The print on the carton of this Mucinex is SO SMALL, especially if you sick. Found myself approximating dosage...don't ever do that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
poopscoop | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2017
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took regular Mucinex for chest congestion. It worked for the congestion but made me itch in the process. The itch isn't worth it!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lapras | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2017
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been coughing for a week and my sister said this worked wonders for her entire family so I tried. Within one hour I had SEVERE dizziness. It was so bad I couldn't stand on my feet. My family thought I was having a heart attack and almost took me to the ER. I literally thought I may die. It was extremely frightening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
van | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2016
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe tightness in chest. Wondered if I should go to the ER. Wide awake after taking this 8 hours ago. Did nothing for cough or wheezing. Using Vicks vapor rub now to breathe - good old remedy without frightening side effects. Hope I can get to sleep soon. This stuff is scary. Will not take again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2016
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's horrible the side effects, made me feel worse. I rather cough and can't breathe instead of feeling dizzy and just off. Will never take again!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2016
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Could not sleep after taking medication. Made my heart race. Recommend taking during the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wiser now | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/5/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not help my congestion at all. I have never felt as bad as I did after taking Mucinex for 2 days. I had dizziness and malaise with a loss of my sense of taste and smell for 5 days after I stopped taking it, and I'm still not back to normal 7 days later, I will never take it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
congested216 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2015
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the past few days I've had horrible congestion issues, I bought the drug hoping for some relief but was sadly let down, but who knows maybe the next person will have better luck.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dove | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had some really tough mucus building up in my lungs, stopping me from breathing, which in turn kept me coughing both to try and get the mucus out and bc I wanted to breathe better. I had a nightmare of a night's sleep and decided i'd do something about the horrible mucus buildup. By recommendation from a friend, I bought Mucinex DM for extended 12h relief. Took one pill during the day and another at night before going to sleep, and it was the first night I slept so well. The medicine really did the job with stopping me from coughing, and when I got up in the morning, the mucus was easily coming out. Today is day 2 that i've been taking it, and that's when i started to feel the side effects. The worst feeling ever of wanting to vomit the entire day, my stomach was so upset (so much nausea!), my stool was softer (no diarrhea, just softer), and I seemed to be a little out of it at times. I arrived home from work wondering what was wrong with me and decided to check online what others say about Mucinex and I got so relieved to know I wasn't alone in feeling this horrible. Pros: It really stopped my chronic coughing and loosened up the tough mucus. Helped me sleep at night. Cons: Made my body feel so contorted and out of it in such a way i've never felt before. I have decided to stop taking this (though it was quite an expensive medicine) and find something else lighter to help me out. I don't know if i would recommend this to anyone i know bc i don't want them to feel the side effects. I know some people said they didn't feel anything, but still the feelings are not worth it. I did read in other's comments this medicine has stronger side effects in women. Wish i had read this before. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2015
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried this product on two different occasions and it is useless. I never had relief of even one symptom. After the obligatory four hour I used Dayquil and felt better within 15 minutes. This product is a sham.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very expensive and didn't work for me at all. Could not peel back instruction label. Don't waste your money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Better! | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found it to be very effective for me. I took the 600mg once every twelve hours and noticed a significant difference. I will also say that I found it equally important to stay hydrated as it really helped my body to fight the cold and cough while taking this medication. I share that because when I did have caffeine and didn't drink as much water, my coughing increased and my throat began to become irritated a bit, but when I became mindful of those choices and began to drink more water, things improved again. I didn't experience any side effects. I always took it with food. As with any medication, you know your body better than most - just pay attention follow through with the simple suggestions such as getting rest and drinking plenty of fluids. It really does make a difference and I've always been able pick up on things more accurately as I do these things while when on medication. Hope this helps!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dallasdude | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/18/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor, the ER doctor, and my allergist all recommended taking Mucinex. I found that the 1200mg tablet was too strong so I switched to the 600mg and have had great success. If i am feeling really miserable I take 1 tablet and wait another 2 -3 hours and take another one. Wtih the 600mg tablet the box says that an adult can take 1 or 2 tablets at a time, but no more than 4 in a 24 hour period. The trick is to take it with a large glass of water and then drink at least 16-20 ounces of water per hour minimum. The water is what your body needs to thin and flush the mucus. If you don't take it with water and drink a lot of water this product can make your symptoms worse. Coffee, tea, soda, juice, sports drinks or flavored waters won't suffice. It has to be straight water or sparkling water according to my doctor and allergist.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More