Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

137 People found this comment helpful

After a terrible experience with fluoxetine in the past, I was hesitant to try any other SSRIs, but lexapro has been a real life saver. I started taking it for depression and GAD, and about a month after I got up to 20mg/day, it finally kicked in and I feel amazing. I no longer feel utterly hopeless and useless; I don't dwell constantly on negatives or worry incessantly about everything (in fact, ...

Most voted negative review

41 People found this comment helpful

This drug is pure poison.

Shared reviews and ratings

Cancervive | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on 10 mg with goal of increasing to 20 mg daily. Initially I had very bad side effects, migraines, a very strange sensation in my skull, and kept wanting to grind my teeth. My dose was decreased to 5 mg daily for 2 weeks and then 10 mg daily thereafter. The first day I had the same side effects, tension in my jaw, migraine, that lasted 2 days. After 2 days, I felt a sense of calmness. Things that normally set me off edge, small trivial things, don't bother me anymore. No more anxiety, no more feeling hopeless. This has truly been a lifesaver. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on 10 mg of lexapro my dr just increased to 20mg daily makes me feel relaxed and feeling good have ocd and sex addition issues both have worked in controlling both issues my sex addition is under control and anxiety is much better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

im on 5mg of Lexapro after being extremely depressed for about a year and i started taking the medication around 4 weeks ago. i feel AMAZING. it really does do it's job. the biggest downside is i feel SO tired and i get random bursts of energy and then just absolutely crash. this is typically at night though. it has been helping me so much and makes me feel like im returning to my "normal" self. of course this is along with being more open and going to therapy but it has only positives for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Future engineer | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Currently going through lexapro withdrawal and I feel like I’m dying. The effects of me leaving it is much worse than before using it. I just can’t wait for this to be over. I will never make the mistake of this horrible drug again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane Doe | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on 5mg of Lexapro for almost 3 weeks, which may not be long enough to give an accurate review. I’ve had anxiety and depression forever. I always thought it was more depression than anxiety but therapist believes it’s more anxiety. COVID was an eye opener. I was not called essential but was not allowed to work remotely, even though it could be done, as upper management just “didn’t like it” and doesn’t take COVID as seriously as I did and my governor did away with a mask mandate. It seems like many around me just dissociated with this worldwide pandemic, which was something I could not do and hoping that a SSRI doesn’t make ever make me dissociate and lose my questioning ability but does calm me down. Bad-I am more exhausted than ever. Had a couple of lost weekends where all I did was mostly sleep. I have not missed work but wanted to call in like every day and getting up for work has been a struggle. I have allergies and took it with Benadryl a few times so that made it worse. I have some productive days but feel zombielike sometimes and yeah concentration is not as good. Good-Sleep better and don’t dread going to bed as much as used to. Dreams are stranger (not nightmares and kind of interesting) but more vivid. My appetite decreased as did my cravings for salty foods and sugary foods. I have major dry mouth so drink more. I’m not as freaked out by things. I got a speeding ticket yesterday and surprised myself how calm I was about it. Verdict - it has some good but maybe should be on it a few more months to really review Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brooke | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely horrible. As soon as I took it, it made me feel worse and I gave it the adjust period but couldn’t handle it and had to be taken off right away. My condition got worse and had depressive episodes at least once a day and could barely get out of bed. Bruised very easily and was very easily irritated to the point it was hard for me to have a decent conversation with my boyfriend. Withdrawals are absolutely horrible too. I don’t recommend to anyone at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/2/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi! I was on Lexapro for over ten years mainly for anxiety. During this time period, I was either on 20mg or 10mg. I weaned myself off and can't begin to tell you the difference. I think that this drug was keeping me "content" when I was capable of so much more. I quickly began to make new friends while off of Lex, had more energy, and my sex life is 100% better. Everyone is different, but Lexapro held me back from exploring life. I am not going to recommend checking with your doctor when deciding if this drug is right for you as they will always try to give you a replacement SSRI. They are all pretty much the same. YOU will know if your social, active and sex life has changed for the better or worse. I wish I had stopped years ago. This is just my opinion and may not be right for everyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/2/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Lexapro after my twins were born for postpartum depression. It was great! Made me feel like “me” again! Once they were about 5 I got off. I didn’t think I needed it anymore. Well fast forward to homeschooling and a global pandemic.... my anxiety is killing me!! I called my dr and she called in Lexapro again for me since it worked so great the first time. I took 10mg yesterday which was my old dose. I was knocked on my butt!!!! Throwing up super sick all day!! Plus jitters in my chest and I know this sounds strange but every time I talk I have to yawn! . It was a nightmare! Anyone else get this sick after 1 dose?!? I’m trying just 5 mg tomorrow but I’m upset it’s making me so sick!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/1/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt worse than before while I was on the med. After 1 year if nothing I stopped it and I never felt better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erika | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/18/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Lexapro for just over two months now. I felt it starting to work after about a week and a half. I was prescribed Lexapro for GAD but have noticed it has helped with depression as well. I had been extremely anxious, barely sleeping, and was having awful mood swings. Now I still have mild anxiety but it doesn't just happen over nothing like it used to and my mood has improved pretty drastically. I feel like a more positive version of myself. I went from crying every day or every few days to finding it hard to cry even if I wanted to (which is a strange feeling). I still have some issues sleeping but I have had these issues my entire life. What I like most about Lexapro is that I still feel like myself. No foggy or zombie-like feeling as I have experienced on other prescriptions. I am on 10mg and am not sure if this can change with increased dosage. I sometimes feel mildly nauseous for half an hour or so after taking it but nothing extreme. It helps to eat something with it. The biggest downside is definitely the sexual side effects. My sex drive has dropped and I do find it harder, but not impossible to climax. The positives outweigh the negatives for me but it's something to consider.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/10/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on lexapro twice in my life from when I was 17-21 and again from 26-29. Initially it was a life saver but became relatively ineffective after 6-12 months each time. Psychiatrists would increase and play around with my dosage. Higher dosage I would become manic and have muscle spasms all the time. Both times I have been on lexapro I have gained a significant amount of weight. When I was 21 I stopped taking it cold turkey and lost all the weight effortlessly. This time I am switching from Lexapro to Prozac. Hopefully will find the right fit for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amaya | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/7/2021
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lexapro gave me my life back. Brought me back to the feeling and experience of my happiest times of my life. After post-partum depression, losing my husband at a young age, and a year later losing my mom. Lexapro saved me. I was able to graduate with my master’s degree and now raise my two small children effectively. I wake up everyday with gratitude.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on celexa for 12 years, stop taking celexa April 2021, I was very sick and my anxiety was horrible after quitting celexa, but my dumb ass didn’t figure out why I am sick, then my doctor ask me did you was on any medication and I told my doctor I was on celexa, I didn’t figure out because I quit suboxne at same time, I thought it was suboxne withdrawal . I was insanely suffering from anxiety and nervousness , then my doctor put me on Lexapro , it start with 5 mg but but didn’t see any improvement in 10 days, so I increase my dose to 10 mg , what a difference , Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GG 909 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
7/7/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Though lexapro did slightly relieve my anxiety after a while, it also numbed every other emotion i had. Felt like a zombie, it sucked the joy out of life. I can't believe doctors are allowed to prescribe this so easily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elaina | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/2/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only have had dry mouth and tiredness. Has helped my crying constantly. I have not been taking it that long and I hope to see more in the future!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pmdd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Night and day on this medication for treatment of PMDD. Minimal side affects for me. So far I’m so so happy I made the leap. I’ve been scared to use psych meds for years but this has changed my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Relaxed57 | 55-64 | Patient
6/20/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you can make it past the first 14-21 days of taking it, during which time it makes your anxiety a lot worse, you’ll be amazed. Yeah, it was really hard (certain days I questioned continuing), but after day 14, the increased anxiety started to go down, and by 21 days, pretty much all my ruminating and catastrophizing thoughts disappeared (98%). After nearly 7 months of suffering before taking lexapro, I’m finally feeling better :-)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NicoleAlexander | 35-44 | Female | Patient
6/17/2021
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a game changer. My doctor recommended it when I described to her increased anxiety and insomnia, likely due to peri-menopause hormone changes. I cannot take hormone therapy, which might have helped with these symptoms, as I was treated for hormone positive breast cancer 2 years ago. My doctor recommended what she called an "anti-depressant" instead (Lexapro). I was skeptical and resisted the recommendation for a year. I don't like taking chronic medications and I thought, I'm not depressed. When I started having hot flashes and ever increasing anxiety, isomnia, and irritability, I changed my mind and decided to give it a try. I am 3 months in to 15mgs daily and I now recognize decreased anxiety in SO many aspects of my life, anxiety that I didn't even realize I had been dealing with my entire life, anxiety that was affecting every aspect of my quality of life. I sleep better. I am finding joy and meaning in my job again for the first time in years. Not only is my anxiety decreased for big triggers like traffic jams, dentist, flying, and work, but I am also excited about going back to school, when I haven't had the mental bandwidth to care about, or have the energy for, learning anything new in many, many years. My quality of life has improved in so many big and little ways. I am so happy I started this medication and want to write my experience in case it might help anyone that is afraid of taking a chronic medication, like I was. I had a little bit of nausea the first 2 weeks of taking the medication but no other side effects. After 7 weeks at 10mgs daily, I did not really notice a difference so my doctor recommended I increase to 15mgs. I really didn't notice obvious major changes to my anxiety levels until maybe 8 weeks in to the increased dose, even though it is only supposed to take 6 weeks to get to full effect. So don't get discouraged if you don't notice anything in the first month or so. Give it a chance. It took my body awhile for some reason. I have considered going to 20mgs but I don't want to chance having any sexual side effects that I have read is common with these types of medications. I have not experienced any sexual side effects on 15mgs. I hope this is helpful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thefriendlyteen | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Lexapro in October of 2020 when I was institutionalized. At first, everything was fine I had bad headaches for the first month or so but that is about all I can really remember. Being on Lexapro makes it harder for me personally to register and understand what emotion I'm feeling like most of the time I just feel constantly "meh". My motivation has plummeted while on Lexapro and my grades have dropped severely. I have noticed that I am a lot less angry and easily irritated. I have only been on Lexapro for my depression and GAD (generalized anxiety disorder) and don't take any other meds. I am a teen and had dabbled in marijuana when I was younger and if you have a teen who you know is on drugs do your research before you give them anything. Overall I would say remember to take your Lexapro if you forget it for a day you'll be fine however if you miss 4+ days after taking it constantly prepare for just feeling crappy and sad and crying over every little thing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was first RX lexapro in 2003 when I was DX with BPD. At the time I used cocaine daily. Along with Valium. Not sure if it helped. Then I was Rx it again in 2008. Medication does not fix your situation. I was on it until 2021. Now I cry when something sad happens. I’m no longer a zombie going they the motions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More