Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

138 People found this comment helpful

After a terrible experience with fluoxetine in the past, I was hesitant to try any other SSRIs, but lexapro has been a real life saver. I started taking it for depression and GAD, and about a month after I got up to 20mg/day, it finally kicked in and I feel amazing. I no longer feel utterly hopeless and useless; I don't dwell constantly on negatives or worry incessantly about everything (in fact, ...

Most voted negative review

41 People found this comment helpful

This drug is pure poison.

Shared reviews and ratings

Ecitaloptam | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/27/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very easy to get on. Close to impossible to get off it. Slow weaning process using liquid decreasing every 4-6 weeks by tiny increments. It’s been 3 years and I’m down to 1.4 mg. I’m staying on current dose for a while because each decrease causes emotional upset, crying, sensitivity. It’s horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/5/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve suffered anxiety and depression my whole life but managed it with exercise, counselling etc. but last 6m it’s been out of control and I’ve finally succumbed to trying meds. This is day 6 on Lexapro 5mg and I feel horrendous. Stomach aches, nausea but the worst is insomnia and total feeling of panic, like I can’t breathe. I’ve debated stopping but so many reviews say to keep going so I took todays pill but I’m totally regretting it. The panic is getting worse. I’ve taken Valium but it’s not helping. I’ve got a killer headache from not sleeping all night and I can’t stop crying. This is a nightmare. I can’t get hold of my Gp and I feel desperate. I have no idea what I’m going to do Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cm | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/3/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After it finally kicked in, will never go off it again. At least 8 yrs for me. Out of blue massive panic & anxiety attacks overtook my life with no warning-and had to check myself into hospital at beginning to get it under control. Was going through peri-menopause, hormones from change of life can wreck your seratonin levels. Wish I’d known that prior as might of relieved my “what is happening to me” fear. It’s a godsend in my book. Many friends & family are on it with similar good results. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stevenyc | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/31/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before lexapro I would love life based on my anxiety, it would come in waves, either panic attacks or insomnia. I would be able to go Places alone or handle difficult situations , that would go away and then I would go days on no sleep, I regret not taking lexapro years ago , I can’t tell you how after 10-15 years of suffering I got my life back. I sleep amazing , I was able to overcome my anxiety and I have no side effects , lexapro saved my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ej | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
12/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is not good. My father with Parkison's was given this and it clashed with his other meds. He went from easy going to agitated, frustrated, angry, to violent. His behavior was pychotic and bizzare and very scary. I never want to see him like this again or take this poison crap drug!!! AVOID!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mandy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/13/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Me and a few people I know have been on lexapro. By the end of my year and a half on lexapro, I was up to 15mg a day. It helped my ocd and depression for a time, and then the side effects got to me. Mostly fatigue, headaches, and insomnia. I’ve known it to help people, and it did help me for a time. Every antidepressant is different with every person, so I would totally recommend trying it out, even though personally it didn’t agree with me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
djfeuer | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i took apart the toilet it made me ocd it made me make weird faces.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
An angry person | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Here's how my lexaprophobia was born: a few months ago, I was suffering from mild sleep deprivation (yeah, a condition that involves sleeping 5 hours per night instead of the normal 8/9 hours!) accompanied by agitation and occasional fits of anger (in other words, irritability). I sought professional help. I was prescribed Lexapro. Knowing its potential side effects include insomnia, agitation and increased irritability (that is, the EXACT ISSUES I'VE BEEN STRUGGLING WITH in the first place!), I was reluctant to take it. I started with a 5 mg dosage. No improvements (in fact, my sleep kinda worsened, due to occasional nightmares). A week later, I was supposed to raise the dosage to 10 mg. It was then that I started to hate Lexapro. With 10 mg of Lexapro a day, I started getting even less sleep than before and feeling angrier than ever. Wow, that's definitely a way to help a person struggling with sleep and anger issues! Way to go, doc! I quitted it. But I'm not surprised it didn't help me. Because I wasn't even feeling depressed. If anything, I was closer to a manic state rather than to a depressed one. The bottom line is, it's not a sleeping pill and it's not a tranquilizer either.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/29/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a sudden onset of severe anxiety out of the blue that I never experienced before. I spent hours on the internet convinced I had a major health issue and that this couldn’t be anxiety since I have the least stressful life. I’m a stay at home mom with all my kids in school and no money issues. After two weeks of symptoms not subsiding I decided to try meds even though I was so scared. I‘ve never been on any medication. The first 17 days were brutal! I almost quit several times and didn’t think I would make it through. I started with 2.5mg for 12 days, then went to 5mg for 5 days and the up to 7.5mg. I plan on staying at 7.5. It took 18 days to kick in and for the AWFUL side effects to go away. I lost 5lbs because I could barely eat anything. I felt nauseous and uncomfortable all the time. My anxiety was unbearable! My dr prescribed me lorazepam and propranolol to help with the side effects. Stick with it, it’s worth it! I’m on day 20 today and finally I feel 100% back to normal. I would recommend giving it three weeks before you quit. Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffering the past few years with bouts of depression and anxiety. I have been on Celexa for a few years but I feel it was not working as well after a few years. Try to go to Madison at three and fell into deep depression and a dark place period started Lexapro October 4 at 5 mg, experienced nausea, headache, more anxiety for first three weeks. After I started to feel a little better I went up to 10 mg. Now I feel like my head is clearer but it is difficult to get motivated and by late afternoon start to crash. I’m going to go back to 5 mg and see how I do. Total loss of sex drive which is a big problem for my husband.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lexapro Help! | 25-34 | Female | Patient
11/9/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking the generic version of Lexapro. The first two weeks I felt like I was spiraling down and the week after I felt significant better with my emotions. After long term use I feel like I don’t have any desire to do anything productive or sexual and everything comes with a struggle. As for sleeping… I wake up during my rim cycles and find it hard to get myself together in the mornings. If anyone can identify with this please let me know. I started taking 10mg and am now currently still taking this medication. It feels like a dependent drug to me and I really want/need a holistic remedy. I skipped a dosage one morning and felt my energy levels increase. I’m at a crossroads on the continuation with this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/31/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's hell switching meds. It took me about three months to go from Effexor to Lexapro. I am on 20mg. I am experiencing less appetite and fullness. Doesn't anyone take lorazepam while you are getting use to Lexapro. It help me get through some tough times. Now I can't remember the last time I took lorazepam.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christina | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/29/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on 5mg lexapro for about 3 weeks now. The first week I did have some mild side effects (nausea, headaches & body aches, as well as constipation.) Those faded after about 10 days and now I feel great. I can tell I have more serotonin and my mind is more quiet and less prone to anxious thoughts. I’m honestly just happier and more hopeful. I know it takes 4-6 weeks (or longer) to feel the full effects but so far this seems to be a great match for me. Thankful I finally found the right medication after years of trying just about everything else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abby | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on this medicine for about 8 weeks. i started on 10mg which didn't seem to make a difference then got bumped up to 15mg. still being a low dosage, after about 2 weeks i had terrible side effects. i could not sleep at night then would sleep all day. i had no energy and started to become numb. i also had terrible nightmares and at times my whole body was just in an unbearable amount of pain. it also felt like there was a fire in me and i was uncomfortably hot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects memory loss, compliant, robotic, stuff down emotions, A1C up and may pre-diabetic Side effects without titrating down- depression, anxiety , horrible thoughts Medication- should come with a warning label about possible memory loss , diabetes and do not stop without talking to your doctor in big bold print. Would not recommend this medication to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Astro | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug made my initial symptoms worse than the beginning. I went into full autopilot and my moral values and conscious filter were “gone”.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt like I needed to post a review, because a lot of reviews that get posted are due to bad experiences. I was originally prescribed 5mg and was on that for 6 weeks. I have generalized anxiety disorder which causes me to have depressive episodes. The first 2 weeks I felt amazing but then I went right back to where I was before - racing what if thoughts, episodes of feeling very down and stuck, slight panic feeling in my chest, etc. I then asked my doctor to increase my dosage and I'm now on week 4 of 10mg/day. I have to say my physical and mental symptoms were no walk in the park. I had severe diarrhea and nausea as well as increased anxiety, depression, and this weird out of body experience. However, being on 4 solid weeks, this medicine has literally changed my life. I didn't realize what it felt like to live every day without anxious thoughts and moments of feeling so down I couldn't get out of it until the next morning. I've noticed an improvement in my relationships and my work life. I just started therapy as well and this helps me to work on and improve things in therapy. Overall, very happy with how this has worked for me but it is not a one-size fits all! It's important to be honest with your doctor!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HannahD | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking lexapro to help with anger and anxiety. Before taking lexapro I had uncontrollable anger and rage and debilitating anxiety. It felt like shots were firing in my brain and I had a bee hive in my chest when I was anger and it felt like I was sick and frozen with my anxiety. I take 5 mg of lexapro a day and I still feel totally myself but with the ability to control my anger and it has lessened my anxiety significantly. I no longer have shots firing in my brain or a bee hive in my chest. It’s really been a life changing thing for me. I will say the 10 mg was too much and it made me feel blank. The 5 mg is perfect because I’m still me. I still feel emotions. I just have control now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Lexapro 5 mg about 8 weeks ago. The first week was rough so I stopped taking it. I decided to give a second try. I now take it in the morning and feel stable during the day but I crash around 7pm and become tired and irritable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leanne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like everyone filtering these reviews, I was once in your place. Looking for ANY sense of “I’m not alone” when thinking of taking Lexapro and during the first SEVERAL weeks of using it. I was started on 10mg for anxiety, panic, and depression (as a result of having untreated anxiety for 10 years). It wasn’t until it caused me to be depressed and unable to sleep that I considered treating my anxiety. I was told to move up to 20mg after 7 days. My first week was HELL on wheels and I had to take off work. My physical side effects were minimal. Loss of appetite and some constipation. My mental side effects were unreal. I experienced horrible horrible racing thoughts, intrusive thoughts, worsened depression, etc. I felt so weird, so out of body, and absolutely nothing like myself. Luckily, my ex husband is a psychiatrist and reminded me that unless I had out of control suicidal thoughts to keep taking it. I would border on saying that my thoughts crept into that realm though I knew I realistically had no desire to die. I trudged on but did NOT increase my dose. There was no way. Weeks 2-4 consisted of feeling mostly bad with the occasional half-day of feeling like a normal human having a bad day. Weeks 5-7 consisted of half of my days feeling like hell and the other half balanced with good in the morning, hell at night. Week 8, I found myself feeling good with tiny glimpses of doom and not feeling like myself. Week 9 was normal. I feel good, energetic, like myself, happy, etc. All of it. I suddenly and consistently feel like a normal, happy person. I am sleeping well, never stressing, etc. I never titrated up to 20mg. Know that people with horrific adjustment periods can still have really good results. Keep at it if you can. I thought about throwing in the towel dozens of times and found myself combing the Internet daily, hoping to find success stories after 6-7 weeks of feeling like absolute garbage. I’m so glad I kept going. This is such a good fit for me and I can’t imagine going back to my life before Lexapro. Downsides. Hungry ALL of the time and have gained 10 pounds in 9 weeks. I have been allowing myself to eat whatever though and am confident that if I stopped, I would stop gaining weight or lose. There is still the tiniest bit of emotional numbing hanging on. But after so much improvement thus far, I am confident that I will began to feel my full range of emotions completely with more engaging in activities that I had quit doing. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More