Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

138 People found this comment helpful

After a terrible experience with fluoxetine in the past, I was hesitant to try any other SSRIs, but lexapro has been a real life saver. I started taking it for depression and GAD, and about a month after I got up to 20mg/day, it finally kicked in and I feel amazing. I no longer feel utterly hopeless and useless; I don't dwell constantly on negatives or worry incessantly about everything (in fact, ...

Most voted negative review

41 People found this comment helpful

This drug is pure poison.

Shared reviews and ratings

Linda | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/29/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a sudden onset of severe anxiety out of the blue that I never experienced before. I spent hours on the internet convinced I had a major health issue and that this couldn’t be anxiety since I have the least stressful life. I’m a stay at home mom with all my kids in school and no money issues. After two weeks of symptoms not subsiding I decided to try meds even though I was so scared. I‘ve never been on any medication. The first 17 days were brutal! I almost quit several times and didn’t think I would make it through. I started with 2.5mg for 12 days, then went to 5mg for 5 days and the up to 7.5mg. I plan on staying at 7.5. It took 18 days to kick in and for the AWFUL side effects to go away. I lost 5lbs because I could barely eat anything. I felt nauseous and uncomfortable all the time. My anxiety was unbearable! My dr prescribed me lorazepam and propranolol to help with the side effects. Stick with it, it’s worth it! I’m on day 20 today and finally I feel 100% back to normal. I would recommend giving it three weeks before you quit. Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffering the past few years with bouts of depression and anxiety. I have been on Celexa for a few years but I feel it was not working as well after a few years. Try to go to Madison at three and fell into deep depression and a dark place period started Lexapro October 4 at 5 mg, experienced nausea, headache, more anxiety for first three weeks. After I started to feel a little better I went up to 10 mg. Now I feel like my head is clearer but it is difficult to get motivated and by late afternoon start to crash. I’m going to go back to 5 mg and see how I do. Total loss of sex drive which is a big problem for my husband.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lexapro Help! | 25-34 | Female | Patient
11/9/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking the generic version of Lexapro. The first two weeks I felt like I was spiraling down and the week after I felt significant better with my emotions. After long term use I feel like I don’t have any desire to do anything productive or sexual and everything comes with a struggle. As for sleeping… I wake up during my rim cycles and find it hard to get myself together in the mornings. If anyone can identify with this please let me know. I started taking 10mg and am now currently still taking this medication. It feels like a dependent drug to me and I really want/need a holistic remedy. I skipped a dosage one morning and felt my energy levels increase. I’m at a crossroads on the continuation with this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/31/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's hell switching meds. It took me about three months to go from Effexor to Lexapro. I am on 20mg. I am experiencing less appetite and fullness. Doesn't anyone take lorazepam while you are getting use to Lexapro. It help me get through some tough times. Now I can't remember the last time I took lorazepam.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christina | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/29/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on 5mg lexapro for about 3 weeks now. The first week I did have some mild side effects (nausea, headaches & body aches, as well as constipation.) Those faded after about 10 days and now I feel great. I can tell I have more serotonin and my mind is more quiet and less prone to anxious thoughts. I’m honestly just happier and more hopeful. I know it takes 4-6 weeks (or longer) to feel the full effects but so far this seems to be a great match for me. Thankful I finally found the right medication after years of trying just about everything else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abby | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on this medicine for about 8 weeks. i started on 10mg which didn't seem to make a difference then got bumped up to 15mg. still being a low dosage, after about 2 weeks i had terrible side effects. i could not sleep at night then would sleep all day. i had no energy and started to become numb. i also had terrible nightmares and at times my whole body was just in an unbearable amount of pain. it also felt like there was a fire in me and i was uncomfortably hot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects memory loss, compliant, robotic, stuff down emotions, A1C up and may pre-diabetic Side effects without titrating down- depression, anxiety , horrible thoughts Medication- should come with a warning label about possible memory loss , diabetes and do not stop without talking to your doctor in big bold print. Would not recommend this medication to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Astro | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug made my initial symptoms worse than the beginning. I went into full autopilot and my moral values and conscious filter were “gone”.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt like I needed to post a review, because a lot of reviews that get posted are due to bad experiences. I was originally prescribed 5mg and was on that for 6 weeks. I have generalized anxiety disorder which causes me to have depressive episodes. The first 2 weeks I felt amazing but then I went right back to where I was before - racing what if thoughts, episodes of feeling very down and stuck, slight panic feeling in my chest, etc. I then asked my doctor to increase my dosage and I'm now on week 4 of 10mg/day. I have to say my physical and mental symptoms were no walk in the park. I had severe diarrhea and nausea as well as increased anxiety, depression, and this weird out of body experience. However, being on 4 solid weeks, this medicine has literally changed my life. I didn't realize what it felt like to live every day without anxious thoughts and moments of feeling so down I couldn't get out of it until the next morning. I've noticed an improvement in my relationships and my work life. I just started therapy as well and this helps me to work on and improve things in therapy. Overall, very happy with how this has worked for me but it is not a one-size fits all! It's important to be honest with your doctor!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HannahD | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking lexapro to help with anger and anxiety. Before taking lexapro I had uncontrollable anger and rage and debilitating anxiety. It felt like shots were firing in my brain and I had a bee hive in my chest when I was anger and it felt like I was sick and frozen with my anxiety. I take 5 mg of lexapro a day and I still feel totally myself but with the ability to control my anger and it has lessened my anxiety significantly. I no longer have shots firing in my brain or a bee hive in my chest. It’s really been a life changing thing for me. I will say the 10 mg was too much and it made me feel blank. The 5 mg is perfect because I’m still me. I still feel emotions. I just have control now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Lexapro 5 mg about 8 weeks ago. The first week was rough so I stopped taking it. I decided to give a second try. I now take it in the morning and feel stable during the day but I crash around 7pm and become tired and irritable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leanne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like everyone filtering these reviews, I was once in your place. Looking for ANY sense of “I’m not alone” when thinking of taking Lexapro and during the first SEVERAL weeks of using it. I was started on 10mg for anxiety, panic, and depression (as a result of having untreated anxiety for 10 years). It wasn’t until it caused me to be depressed and unable to sleep that I considered treating my anxiety. I was told to move up to 20mg after 7 days. My first week was HELL on wheels and I had to take off work. My physical side effects were minimal. Loss of appetite and some constipation. My mental side effects were unreal. I experienced horrible horrible racing thoughts, intrusive thoughts, worsened depression, etc. I felt so weird, so out of body, and absolutely nothing like myself. Luckily, my ex husband is a psychiatrist and reminded me that unless I had out of control suicidal thoughts to keep taking it. I would border on saying that my thoughts crept into that realm though I knew I realistically had no desire to die. I trudged on but did NOT increase my dose. There was no way. Weeks 2-4 consisted of feeling mostly bad with the occasional half-day of feeling like a normal human having a bad day. Weeks 5-7 consisted of half of my days feeling like hell and the other half balanced with good in the morning, hell at night. Week 8, I found myself feeling good with tiny glimpses of doom and not feeling like myself. Week 9 was normal. I feel good, energetic, like myself, happy, etc. All of it. I suddenly and consistently feel like a normal, happy person. I am sleeping well, never stressing, etc. I never titrated up to 20mg. Know that people with horrific adjustment periods can still have really good results. Keep at it if you can. I thought about throwing in the towel dozens of times and found myself combing the Internet daily, hoping to find success stories after 6-7 weeks of feeling like absolute garbage. I’m so glad I kept going. This is such a good fit for me and I can’t imagine going back to my life before Lexapro. Downsides. Hungry ALL of the time and have gained 10 pounds in 9 weeks. I have been allowing myself to eat whatever though and am confident that if I stopped, I would stop gaining weight or lose. There is still the tiniest bit of emotional numbing hanging on. But after so much improvement thus far, I am confident that I will began to feel my full range of emotions completely with more engaging in activities that I had quit doing. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

6 months ago some sudden medical conditions hit me and are still ongoing. I ended up losing 63 pounds, have insomnia, and occasional anxiety attacks. My doctor recommended Lexapro 10mg. I am on day 2 and am not sure I will continue as this stuff is awful. Severe nausea makes it hard to eat or even drink water. Worse anxiety. High blood pressure. Stomach pain. Dry heaving. Worse insomnia. Throat closing up which makes me feel like I am choking. Tremors that shake my entire body. Maybe it gets better but holy cow this stuff has terrible side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted to wait and write my review. First off I want to tell the people who wrote their experiences thank you. When I started my journey on Lexapro I would sit in my bed crying rereading the reviews over and over to comfort me. I thought I was stuck for life. Each morning I would coach myself to take the pill and get through the day. I experienced anxiety, depression, and terrible intrusive thoughts. I started low and slow 2.5mg now I’m fixing to start 20mg. It’s hard journey in the beginning but stay strong and stick with it. I would literally take it hour by hour sometimes minute by minute. I didn’t think this drug would work I questioned it so much on the beginning. Thanks to God, my doctors/therapy, my family/friends, and this drug it will forever change my life. All the comments that tell you to wait it out and to just give it time I have to say was true for me. Just remember there is a light at the end or the tunnel. If not this drug there is others. Keep fighting take care. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/22/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on 10 mg to help with postpartum depression, it definitely helped but now they doubled my dosage and I take it at night and it increases ocd thoughts. I will be obsessively trying to remember something and it will give me an anxiety attack if I can't remember, and I'm thinking its the extra dose thats making me a little crazy. Not sure I'm going to continue with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xox | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/21/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hey. i’m writing this on my behalf of using lexapro. i understand everyone is different so here is my experience. i started on 5mg. i’m small i weigh about 103 pounds. the side affects were unbearable and my anxiety heightened insanely. i got off the phone with my doctor who advised me to taper off to 2.5 and then to stop completely if the anxiety did not subside. alongside that she prescribed me a sedative that will hopefully calm my anxiety down in the meantime of tapering off the medication. it has made my chest incredibly tight, thoughts are off the roof. i’m doing everything i can do stay calm. hoping that tapering off will be the best option for me. i’m expecting to feel moody tomorrow and a little sick but i know i’ll be fine the next day. i’m sorry for everyone who finds that this isn’t the medication for them and is advised to stop for their own good. it could of worked and it could of not but the anxiety got to me terribly. i haven’t ate in days. i hope everyone is doing okay . you aren’t alone and please stop if you need to. you know your body better than your psychiatrist!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
a | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking lexapro for 4 days so far on 5mg. So far the worst symptom is excessive diarrhea and heighten anxiety during the night. during the day my mood feels stable and my anxiety feels decent, at night it gets terrible though. i have a meeting with my psychiatrist to see if i can take any meds alongside lexapro that may help with symptoms. the anxiety it gives me has decreased my appetite, which sucks because i am already underweight. But since i’ve started i won’t quit yet. i’m terrified on if it will help me or make me worse, but the reviews make me hopeful so i will continue. please give medicine a try if you’re struggling. i know the side affects can be so uncomfortable so just make sure you have a decent support system. i’ll update in a week ! everyone who is going through this right now stay strong with me. eat and drink whatever you can and take meds if you need to for headaches or nausea.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Livo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication now 8 months for health aniexty which I have my entire life. I am 40 now and have always been against the idea of taking these sort of meds always looked at alternatives, like exercising eating healthy, therapy. and yes this works to some extent. but when covid hit I locked myself away. I decided to take lexapro with advice from my GP and what best we thought was right for me. 10 days of feeling bit rough. Very sleepy, yawning all the time but unable to sleep. no appetite. headache. and basically away with the fairies. But after that I can truly say this drug for me is a game changer I haven't had an aniexty attack in 8 months which if you knew me would not think it's possible. If you are recommended this drug try it you will no after a couple of weeks weather it's for you or not. Good luck.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was not one who dealt with Anxiety/depression until an unknown illness struck in 2014. Panic attacks began. I was put in Lexapro 10 mg to start. Loss of appetite, loss of sex drive but it worked wonders. Have had to switch around over the years as they seem to stop working after a few years. I am now starting back as the others have stopped working. Anxiety got worse again, no want to do anything but be in bed all day! After 10 mg the last 4 days I’m noticing a small difference. I’m expecting as before, within a few weeks that I will be back to normal. It helps reading these positive reviews. Keep searching for what’s right for you. By the way my unknown illness was an Ulcer. If I’d known, I wouldn’t have started the meds as I can’t get back to normal without them. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Witchyfox | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on Lexapro for 6+months. Was at 20mg and at first it helped. I had energy but everything else was the same. Slowly I started feeling ‘numb’ all my emotions just sort of flatlined. Annoyance and irritation I could tell easier than other emotions. I had energy but no desire to do anything. Also had no sex drive what so ever. Even trying to please myself body just didn’t want to react.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More