Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

I have fibromyalgia and this drug is saving my life! Ambien did not work well enough for me. This drug keeps me asleep for 4 hours, then I take a second dose and get 8 HOURS sleep. Other Fibromyalgia suffers understand how important that is for us.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Shared reviews and ratings

GulfwaterLily | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/19/2020
Condition: Muscle Weakness associated with Sleeping Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Xyrem (sodium oxybate) for almost 5 years now. Although it didn't decrease my Excessive Daytime Sleepiness at all (so I still need to take Adderall during the day), it COMPLETELY eliminated my Cataplexy! Before Xyrem, I would suffer several full body attacks each week, often leading to serious head injuries. But ever since the very first night that I took Xyrem, I haven't had a single attack in over 4 years! For this reason alone, Xyrem has been an absolute game changer! Although I still wish that it improved the exhaustion that I feel every day, the fact that it has made my Cataplexy a thing of the past makes it a miracle drug to me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
The sleeping beauty | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2016
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the beginning it work wonderful, but after like a year it's effectiveness wasn't the same. The dosage was increased and I started to get muscle twitches,and I'm still not getting enough rest at night. I am exhausted every day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MaeB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/19/2015
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xyrem does not have the effect I was hoping for. It did for the first 3 months but now at 6 months I don't get sleepy at night, still have restless legs and arms, don't want to wake up in the AM & still tired all day. Now to top it off my Insurance has decided not to pay for 3 full bottles because it is so ridiculously expensive. Now I"ll have to take less. If it's not helping me enough now taking less may not even be worth all the trouble it is to get it each month. With only 1 pharmacy in the U.S. allowed to distribute Xyrem they can charge whatever they want and raising the price every few months is allowed!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/2/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/14/2014
Condition: Muscle Weakness associated with Sleeping Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken xyrem for norcolepsy-catcplexy it works wonders. I felt almost normal.Be careful taking Xyrem any other meds even OTC meds that effect the central neuor. system,it can cause a real deep depression.so follow Drs. direction. The cost is unreal $2400.00 a month ,as long as I didn't have insurance and was broke the pharmacy co. furnished it for free.When I got on Medicare it cost me $800.00 a month. for two month then my insurance prescription allowance was used up,then it went to $2400.00 a month. so now I can't afford it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
i am a PWN | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2013
Condition: Muscle Weakness associated with Sleeping Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this med for narcolepsy. I also have fibromyalgia. It gave me 8 solid hours of sleep & I felt great. However, within a week of reaching the full dosage, I had a psychotic episode & was hospitalized. I will never take it again even a reduced amount. Sigh...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/27/2013
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked great for me for the first couple years but I built up a tolerance to it and now it does not work so well. It has become dangerous because I wander at night and don't know what I'm doing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peggy t. | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2013
Condition: Muscle Weakness associated with Sleeping Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

developed sleepwalking,in hosp.due to severe fall.now have lost use of r. arm,radial nerve paralysis out look not good. dr.ug worked great except for causing me to sleepwalk.as of right now off med.rethink before use,chek side effects carefully

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marianne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/13/2011
Condition: Muscle Weakness associated with Sleeping Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibromyalgia and the fatigue and pain associated with poor sleep. This drug, along with Savella, has alleviated my pain 100%. However, I still have big troubles getting to sleep or staying asleep, so fatigue is still severe. I take 6m per night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eccmce | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/5/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe chronic insomnia and sleep stage disturbances so i have tried many different sleep meds and this works like a dream but... i am scared of it. It is very potient and could be dangerous if not taken exactly as prescribed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PraiseGod | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/20/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibromyalgia. I went for about 6 months without taking xyrem and the flareups were terrible. I have many more good days when taking xyrem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/10/2011
Condition: Muscle Weakness associated with Sleeping Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a true miracle for the last 8 years, it helped me stay awake and feel well rested and motivated the only medication that has helped with narcolepsy and cataplexy since diagnosed 15 years ago

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sleepless | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/21/2010
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is dangerous. It caused four ER admissions with subsequent stays in the ICU. My recommendation is to not take it under any circumstances.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pnstate1986 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
6/6/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibromyalgia and this drug is saving my life! Ambien did not work well enough for me. This drug keeps me asleep for 4 hours, then I take a second dose and get 8 HOURS sleep. Other Fibromyalgia suffers understand how important that is for us.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More