Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

Lost 5 back teeth,3 top, 2 bottom, due to bone loss and gum disease. Used Peridex for post removal healing. Been using it ever since to keep gums healthy. Gum checkups have been near perfect ever since. If I had known about benefits sooner, could have prevented lost teeth due to bone loss.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I had a dead tooth removed. I was told to take twice a day til I get the implant in. I finished one bottle yesterday. I was looking at my teeth very close today and it is very stained by the gums (I have always had white teeth, no problems before. I pay to get my teeth whitened by a dentist.) Even when I run my finger nail on it I can tell this product has damaged my teeth!

Shared reviews and ratings

Steve | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Browning in between teeth, especially lower front.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
8/31/2020
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Despite reading and following all instructions, after 3 doses, I found my tongue had turned brown, my teeth had darkened, and my taste was way off. 3 days later, my gums are still irritated, I had a metallic taste in my mouth and my tongue and teeth are still dark.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
honeybub | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2016
Condition: Mouth Infection Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had 5 teeth extracted and the periodontist gave me this to help keep my mouth clean while it heals. After only 1 use, my tongue burns and face around my mouth itches like crazy. I used it a second time not making the connection, and the same thing happened. I will not use it as this is extremely uncomfortable - worse than the extraction sites.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dentist prescribed this rinse for me because my gums were inflamed and bleeding. After 2 days of use, my gums are feeling much better and the bleeding has been reduced. I can't wait to see how long before the bleeding stops. I see no issues with this drug & it is an awesome rinse. It leaves a very clean feeling in your mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gumsbleeding | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/4/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used it for two days and seemed to reduce inflammation dramatically. I don't know why they don't have commercials to let people know this drug exists. No side effects yet, but they are a big concern.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
listerine | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wow the dentist dream,- a product that stains the teeth and needs to be removed by a dentist and also causes plaque. I will never ever use this product. Listerine for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2013
Condition: Mouth Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dentist gave me a bottle to use after a crown lengthening procedure (removed part of the bone), which was done for a cap replacement. I had been using listerine and ACT mouth washes regularly before the procedure. I don't know how effective this mouthwash was in preventing infection, but my gum has healed satisfactorily within a week's time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
6/22/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lost 5 back teeth,3 top, 2 bottom, due to bone loss and gum disease. Used Peridex for post removal healing. Been using it ever since to keep gums healthy. Gum checkups have been near perfect ever since. If I had known about benefits sooner, could have prevented lost teeth due to bone loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2013
Condition: Sore Mouth due to Dentures or Poor Oral Hygiene
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a dead tooth removed. I was told to take twice a day til I get the implant in. I finished one bottle yesterday. I was looking at my teeth very close today and it is very stained by the gums (I have always had white teeth, no problems before. I pay to get my teeth whitened by a dentist.) Even when I run my finger nail on it I can tell this product has damaged my teeth!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/2/2012
Condition: Mouth Infection Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
never again712 | 75 or over | Female | Patient
3/25/2012
Condition: Mouth Infection Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had dental surgery after a root canal. The endodontist prescribed it to prevent post-surgical infection. I don't know the chemical makeup, but after using twice in one day, my tongue swelled up,and became coated, and I developed a large bruise along my chin line, which looked like a blood pool. The affected tooth was an upper tooth. I took two antihistamiine tablets, which eased the swelling. I had a highly allergic reaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brook | 55-64 | Female | Patient
2/4/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a serious dental situation and this was terrific to use. I had used it before and knew how I would react. I had a tooth taken out becasue the root was extremly inflamed and decided to do an implant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2011
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taken this for two days now and I have a very sore throat which is a side effect. I hope it goes away soon, other than that my gums have been feeling better and I haven't experience any other side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2010
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After two uses, I had to stop. My tongue got swollen and burned, my face was bright red, I got hives. I wish I had read precautions before use. Taste of everything is different. Even water.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mr. T | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2009
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a crown put in and I had a gum inflammation reaction to the first temporary cap they put in while the crown is being made. This inflammation is very painful, but this oral rinse helped me within two hours. I am grateful to the dentist for giving it to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
di | 45-54 | Female | Patient
2/15/2009
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

negative-I suffer from SVTs so I tend to react to different meds, well this one really caused a reaction really fast and lasted about 4 hours. My heart went out of its rhythm and I was light headed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ladyT | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/19/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have my jaw wired shut and it has become a lifesaver since i can't really brush my tounge.and it keeps swelling down. It also tases pretty good to, not to strong on the tastes buds. overall i'd say it's pretty great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
11/7/2007
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medacation has worked for cause mumds the gum and cleans it too. The thing I don't like is the taste it leaves in mouth. I know why they say not to drink after using it. It leaves a bitter taste and nothing tastes right anyway.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More