Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

I have Stage III - Duke's C colon cancer. Just recvd 4th treatment along w/levorcan and 5FU. Nausea controlled with Emend. Seems to working OK but I still have 8 more treatments to go. Blood tests have been good so far. Biggest pain is the neuropathy -- painful tingling and cramping in my hands and tingling in my feet. I've learned how to live with it: dress warm, avoid cold and don't forget...

Shared reviews and ratings

karenann | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/28/2019
Condition: Lymph Node Positive Colon Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had 12 rounds of chemo, 10 with Oakiplaitin. The cold sensitivity was bad, as was the neuropathy in my hands and feet. I finished chemo in September 2018, and the cold sensitivity is gone, and the neuropathy is getting better. Hang in there!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kat2959 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/26/2016
Condition: Lymph Node Positive Colon Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I know this drug will help me be free of colon cancer but at the same time it is very hard on me. I am sick immediately after getting off the pump on chemo days and the neuropathy it causes in my hands and mouth is sometimes difficult to handle. it makes my mouth dry, food taste funny and my mouth and lips tingle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sherry | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/3/2015
Condition: Lymph Node Positive Colon Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Abackey | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/2/2014
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not had severe side effects while on this drug. My fingers and toes tingle when they get cold, but it goes away very quickly. If the tingling is very bad, I rinse them in warm/hot water and it goes away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tonda Rae | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2013
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My only complaint is the numbness remaining in my hands and feetl

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
avickery | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2013
Condition: Lymph Node Positive Colon Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm satified with the performance of this drug which was part of a FOLFOX cocktail for Stage IIIb Colon Cancer. The only thing I'm not happy about is the peripheral neuropathy. Not being able to feel your fingers, toes, and soles of your feet is not fun. It has been 6 months since my last treatment. We'll see what happens next.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/25/2012
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My nurse overdosed me by infusing me over 2 hours instead the orders for 4 hours. I have horrible pain in my fingers and feet.I can't open bottles or jars. I don't know if this side effect is worth it. You can't do everyday things with the neuropathy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
calico01 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2011
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While the oxaliplatin staved the cancer away, it did cause ocular dysfunction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
6/27/2011
Condition: Cancer of Large Intestine
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband (like others i have read) has developed neuropathy. He says that had he known the severness of not feeling of fingers and toes and the pain of hands and feet he would not have used the drug, however if it works then it saved his life, but he argues "at what expense?" He is in constent pain, severe enough that he crys at times, feels he has no quality of life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DKB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/21/2011
Condition: Lymph Node Positive Colon Cancer
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible neuropathy and nausea for many days after the treatment. The numbness is increasing and spreading to my feet and legs. I experience sensitivity to cold and exhaustion for about 7 days after the treatment. Then most side effects go away except the neuropathy which seems to be getting worse as I am in my 5th treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
over40 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2011
Condition: Lymph Node Positive Colon Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In only 2 treatments so far, I have neuropathy in hands and feet, nausea and vomiting, cannot eat or drink anything cooler than room temperature, hands are drawing and cramping. It is probably the worst experiences of my life so far!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KLB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/8/2010
Condition: Cancer of Large Intestine
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had peripheral neuropathy the longer I have been on it. It was stopped when I could no longer feel my feet when walking or driving. Now my tips of fingers have also got it bad. We'lll see how the dr. addresses this issue today when I go for my visit. My cancer marker has gone from over a thousand to eleven in the last 6 months. Worth putting up with it as long as I can walk & feel some....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sugary | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/27/2010
Condition: Cancer of Large Intestine
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

badside effects while on the drug. Long term side effect of neuropathy is pretty bad to deal with.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stormineagle | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The oncologist decided on this Tx in taking an aggressive stand for early stage colon cancer.The only side effects have been extreme fatigue and moderate nausea.The cancer is now in remission after 6 weeks and will review in another 2 weeks.Very satisfied with results so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/2/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In Feb. 2008 I was dx with stage iv espohageal cancer and given little hope even told by first oncologist not todo anything and accept my fate. I was determined to fight and was given this, avastin and xeloda. I had terrible side effects with this and had to stop after 3 months but my tumors also disappeared. I continued with the avastin an additional 5 months and xeloda for almost a year. As of today I have had the esophagus removed and am able to swallow and eat (just in smaller Portions) My experience has been eye opening and everybody has a different metabolism so just because it did not work for one person does not mean it may not work for you. If you want to fight, fight Do not be swayed in your convictions and keep positive. Doctors do not know everything they just look at the Playbook and do what others have done in the past. Look for someone who has faith in you and wants to work with you. I am still here 2 years after being dx with stage iv. Also look at your diet look into alkaline water and asparagus. Think positive.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/28/2010
Condition: Lymph Node Positive Colon Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LBH | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/31/2009
Condition: Cancer of Large Intestine
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

During the treatment, I had alot of the bad side effects. Two years later, I'm still having neurpathy pain. But, I'm also still cancer free after stage 4 colon ca.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kitkat | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2009
Condition: Lymph Node Positive Colon Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not sure which drug is giving me trouble but will contact again when my treatment is over

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2009
Condition: Colon and Rectal Cancer that has Spread to Another Area
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
web md | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/22/2009
Condition: Cancer of Large Intestine
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am experiencing peripheral neuropathy which is very difficult for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More