Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I had chronic high blood pressure for many years. I tried every usual medication available with little positive effect. Eplerenone dropped my blood pressure to a normal level in three days and I was able to reduce or drop most of my other medications.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I have just started this drug so am not sure if I will keep my blood pressure in check along with my potassium level accurate.

Shared reviews and ratings

Eplerenone | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug made me very dizzy, loss of appetite, and extremely tired. I have no energy whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frustrated | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/1/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since taking this drug I have experienced a wide array of side effects. My menopause symptoms, that were going away before use, came back with a vengeance. I could feel it messing with my thoughts, makes my heart murmur worse, it gives me weird sticky sweat. Having horrible muscle aches and sever pain in joints, not to mention its not helping my HBP at all, making my hair fall out... etc I definitely do not recommend this drug!! BEWARE!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pdub | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/20/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What started as atypical high blood pressure has revealed itself to be hyperaldosteronism (high aldosterone) which causes hypokalemia (low potassium) which causes hypertension (high blood pressure). After a few years of doctors trying different combinations of blood pressure meds, an endocrinologist diagnosed the hyperaldosteronism. I initially began taking Spironolactone to treat but after a few weeks I began experiencing breast pain and noting breast enlargement (Gynocomastia). My doctor switched me to Eplerenone which is supposed to equally effective, but without that particular side effect. The breast issue went away and my potassium levels have stabilized into a normal range. My BP continues to be marginally high at times, but I think other factors will need to be improved (like my weight) to get over the hump. Overall, I am pleased to date, but another users previous review about kidney disease after 5 years of this medication have me greatly concerned. The endocrinologist says the need to regulate my aldosterone with medication will be for the rest of my life, so I will be raising the subject of long term risks.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jack | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/22/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Primary hyperaldosteronism. Prescribed by a nephrologist, seemingly perfect drug for this condition. BP improved significantly but after 5 years taking it, I am in stage 4 kidney disease, which is irreversible. Be wary. Nephrologist happily will push you into dialysis and end your life as you know it. Be watchful for this dreadful side effect, educate yourself about CKD and consider your options.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/13/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had chronic high blood pressure for many years. I tried every usual medication available with little positive effect. Eplerenone dropped my blood pressure to a normal level in three days and I was able to reduce or drop most of my other medications.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/21/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NANA101 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/7/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
henry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I jusst started on the drug two weeks ago and it has raised my KI levels back in the normal range. I started intestinal bleeding today , cause unknown, I was trying to research the side effects of this rug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jesse | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/17/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zulu | 75 or over | Male | Patient
6/10/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Spironolactone for several years but I began noting breast enlargement (Gynocomastia). My doctor put me Eplerenone which is supposed to be a more effective drug for the type of hypertension that I have. The literature says it may take up to 4 weeks for the full effects of the drug to start working. I closing out my 3rd week on Eplerenone and my BP is still not stable. In fact I had to go to the ER several weeks ago after experiencing a very high reading I've got my fingers crossed that it will eventually fully kick-in.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kandsmall | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this to help regulate my potassium only. It may have worked, but not without lots of problems and I had to go off of it after two months. My problems were serious jaw pain to the point where I was involontarily crying. Also, began to get confused and just overall suffering. Took myself off it and returned to my potassium supplements.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started this drug so am not sure if I will keep my blood pressure in check along with my potassium level accurate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More