Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

I have been suffering migraines for a few years now and Amerge is the only thing that has worked for me. I can actually function on days when I would have normally been stuck in bed all day. One time I did have the side effects of being hot and having my heart race, but overall it is a wonderful drug. Maxalt and some others did nothing for me.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2019
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had severe migraines for over 15 years but recently the have intensified and I have them almost daily. I switched to Amerge because I read so many great reviews and I was tired of all the side effects from Imitrex. Amerge did absolutely NOTHING to touch my migraines after trying for over a month. I tried at the onset of a migraine as well as when I woke up with one and then taking another two hours later as instructed. I had absolutely zero relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ReneeS | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/5/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 29 years of hormonal migraines I found Amerge was the only drug that worked to get rid of them. What a relief!! I can take it even after I have had the migraine for a while and it still works. My experience has been that it works with the first pill 99% of the time. I do notice though that I have to take it with either tylenol and a caffeinated drink or excedrin. (Had to stop the excedrin due to ulcer but tylenol combo still works) On it's own Amerge doesn't seem to work for some reason. I don't know what the difference is but maybe this will help someone else out. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/10/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I now must take the generic Naratriptan due to insurance. Amerge is the best of the two of course but you take what you are given. Most of the time it works great, depends on how far I am into the migraine. I have found nothing else works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mr Gumby | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/2/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this drug about three years ago. It works well, with the sharp pain in the head easing after about 15 minutes, and then all pain gone in about a half hour. It does make me extremely tired and unable to drive or operate machinery. These side effects last all day, so I need to go home quickly if a migraine occurs at work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/14/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great at first onset

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hibiscus | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/27/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is very effective for my migraines. Unfortunately my insurance is now dictating that I can no longer get amerge. Only the generic. Which I tried and it did not work at all. So I am out of luck since I cannot afford amerge $400 for 12 pills is ridiculous. Shame on pharmaceuticals company. Maybe I can get in Canada?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/21/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug works for me like nothing else ever did. no side effects except I could sleep for hours afterwards.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginger | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/12/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] bellsouth.net | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If taken as soon as you feel the migraine, it relieves the pain & light sensitivity with the hour. I find that if I can lay down for 2 or 3 hours, I'm ready to come out of the blacked-out room. This is a vast improvement over the last treatment I was on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/19/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only med that relives my migraines.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KateMegMum | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/12/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only drug that has ever worked for my migraines. I have hormonal migraines, usually lasting 5 days or longer twice a month - if I take one Amerge at onset, it usually works within an hour. If the headache is already established, it might take 2 hours, but it still works! I have not experienced any side effects, and being someone who has GAD (anxiety), that is very important!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/6/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/7/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only Migraine medication which works for me (other than a VERy expensive one that insurance won't pay for). I get 2.5mg size and split them (again due to insurance limitations). The frequency of headaches hasn't changed, but i find I can get away with less medication on a given day. 2 hours is my "clock". If the first 1/2 tab hasn't kicked it at 2 hours, I take another. Rarely do I need 2 pills these days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/2/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since triptans are abortants, it is important to take the medication when you feel a migraine coming on. Sometimes I take it later than I probably should, which may account for the times when it doesn't help much. Usually one dose will knock my migraine down to a dull roar, so at least I can function. I wish there wasn't such a restriction on how many doses a person can take in a few day period, sometimes my headaches last for a couple days, but the Amerge almost always helps reduce the level of pain and visual symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2012
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first time trying Amerge. Now, 1 hour after 2nd dose, pain=9. Eye pain and throbbing, sensitivity to light and sound are all unchanged. Not going to take any further doses. It did not work at all for me personally. Will call my Doctor in the morning and hopefully try something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/16/2011
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have daily headaches. Always upon waking so I need 2 take Amerge daily but the limit is for use is only 2 days a week.I suffer the rest of the times trying 2 us.e other meds that thw doc doesn't want me to take like tylenol, motrin, excerdine migraine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
catlee_101 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2011
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My neurologist prescribed this med to me for my "monthly migraines". It did not do anything to take away the pain and it gave me a side effect of making me feel like I was having something similar to a hotflash. Neuro said it may not work everytime so I will try it for one more month, but if it does not work again and side effect continues I will not take this medication again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Feelin better in canada | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/26/2010
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only problem, other than cost, is that it takes a while to work. I take Advil and gravol (one of each) to help out until it takes effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pruett365 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/13/2010
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from migraines most of my life and nothing has ever worked until I tried Amerge; 30 minutes after taking it I have no more migraine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blessed | 45-54 | Female | Patient
1/5/2010
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines for years. I have tried serveral migraine medicines and they have not worked as well as Amerge. I take it when I FIRST notice one coming on. If I wait to late then it takes longer to take it away. It does make me VERY tired and I have to lay down when taking it, it helps to lay down anyhow. Chocolate, vinegar (pickles etc.), sourcream, cinnamon(the spice)and some nuts are a few of my triggers of a migraine. I have fibromyalgia and Cinnamon (the spice)causes my muscles to hurt and contract. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More