Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

Have taken for 20 yrs. Back then, a pharmacist told me it had the fewest side effects, but works slower, taking an hour to feel better. What I've learned is that I can take less than the whole pill of 2.5 mg. It's always been safe for me to do this. What also is important is to act quickly when a migraine starts, and then taking a small amount works. To get some relief in 10-15 minutes, i drink a ...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I took this with food, my stomach now burns as well as my migraine bothering me. I can't sleep either

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/31/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After getting tired of going to the ER for debilitating migraines each month and trying a slew of medications, I was prescribed naratriptan and it has made a huge difference. If I feel a migraine coming on, I take a pill and it is gone within 30 minutes. I have not had to be hospitalized for my severe migraines since I started this medication over 16 months ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/11/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines for 4 years. I have been on this medication for about 2 years now. I have had no problems it's helps 90% of the time. If anyone has migraines I always say to have them try this because it's the best one out there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
North Dakota | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/14/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've suffered with Migraines for 9 years. After dancing around with 5 different neurologists, my current one has put me on this. Ive been on it for 6 months and it has helped more than Imitrex and Treximet ever came close to. I generally don't get relief if I cannot sleep along with treatment, and this drug doesn't make me drowsy as the other two did, but there isn't a bad hangover, and I can usually rebound in a day or so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/11/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

46 year old man with a highly stressful job (PI Trial Attorney in Miami). Got late age (43) migraines formally diagnosed by a UM Neuro. Began with Maxalt and it 1) got me extremely tired and "doppy" and 2) resulted in a reoccurrence of the migraine within hours. Switched to Naratriptan (Amerge) and it has for me, been a miracle drug. Only need 1/2 of 2.5 mg and helps if you take it immediately at the onset. Insurance covers only 4 a month and i get 10. Each pill costs about $28 so I have to pay the difference. But unquestionably, is a wonderful drug that should be tried if others are not working for you. I experienced less rebound migraines with this drug, Amerge. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/2/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraine headaches most my life and so far this is working with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kay | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/16/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken for 20 yrs. Back then, a pharmacist told me it had the fewest side effects, but works slower, taking an hour to feel better. What I've learned is that I can take less than the whole pill of 2.5 mg. It's always been safe for me to do this. What also is important is to act quickly when a migraine starts, and then taking a small amount works. To get some relief in 10-15 minutes, i drink a cup of coffee. Many times I just stop the migraine before it gets out of control with a cup of coffee. Excedrin Migraine only has 65 mg of caffeine, the ingredient in coffee which helps with headaches and migraines. About 80-120 mg caffeine works for me. The acetaminophen isn't necessary. If after an hour the migraine isn't better, I bite off another amount, maybe a quarter of the pill. The longer you wait to take something, the more engaged the migraine becomes and is more difficult to get rid of. Amerge or other naratriptans may make things worse if you have a tension headache, where muscles are tight. Such meds and coffee restrict blood and tight muscles need circulating blood to the muscles. If you don't like coffee, take a bite off a caffeine pill, as they have way too much caffeine in them, maybe 300+ mg. Lastly, as I am getting over the migraine I can make it resolve faster a couple of hours later by taking a warm bath. The warm water on the bottom half of the body sends a signal to the brain, redirecting the focus or something like that. Hope this info helps someone elseRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/5/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get occasional migraine or cluster headaches. Naratriptan was tried after some of the other triptan family drugs failed or resulted in undesirable side effects, such as jaw pain and rebound headaches. This relieves the headache, but makes me sleep and must miss work when on this drug. If only they can find out what the trigger(s) is/are for these and treat with a prophylactic drug that won't cause nasty side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gilly | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/21/2014
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

with naramig i can at least function at work all be it a little slothlike; i get one sided migraines alternating but its when i get a central one involving both sides the Naramig helps to reduce the effects of the attack but have to go to bed for 3:4 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
not4me | 45-54 | Female | Patient
5/2/2013
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used a generic 2.5 tablet. I got little relief from pain. The side effects are almost unbearable. Stomach pain lasts for two days after dose. My usual happy self turns to a most unusual very agitated mental state. It causes my neck and jaw to cramp so tightly it adds pain to my headache. I got much better relief on Relpax which had no bad side effects. But insurance refuses to cover the Relpax :/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
namaste | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/25/2012
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Amerge 2.5 mg very successfully to abort migraines at the first signs of a headache. Recently i have used Heritage Pharmaceuticals generic brand and find it much less effective and worse, it causes an upset stomache which never occurred until using this brand. This product is made in India, hopefully it is tested for effectiveness and safety. Has anyone else experienced stomache issues using a generic formula?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/6/2011
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has worked wonders when I get migraines. The main side effect I get is severe drowsiness along with mental confusion (sometimes lasting 24 hrs). On days that I can, I just relax and I’ll just sleep the drowsiness off. But on days that I can’t, it is good to have something that relieves the pain so I can at least be functional… (confused and drowsy, but functional just the same)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/29/2010
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Amerge for several years. It works well for me and I don't have the cloudy-fuzzy feeling in my head or drowsiness with it. I have just recently been given the generic Naratriptan, I do not feel this works as effective ss the Amerge. I am very dissatisfied with the Naratriptan. I am going to check into receiving Amerge again.....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hope | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/29/2009
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer monthly (hormonally related) migraines and take one tablet when I feel a migraine about to take shape. Within half an hour the feeling of nausia and the sickly unwell feeling that is my sign of possible migraine has disappeared, but I do still need to rest my body and sleep always helps for a more speedy recovery. This drug has worked wonders, as previously I could have been out of action, head lying into a pillow feeling sick and very unwell, for 3 days. Now for a few hours I have to rest and my live can continue.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pandymae | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2009
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works well with me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/3/2008
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I actually get cluster headaches, which are similar to migraines (I don't know the difference, but the docs diagnosed it as such.) This pill works very well on these headaches, which come in waves. One side effect: drowsiness. I previously tried IMITREX and ZOMIG as prescribed by the docs, but got serious pain in the jaw and neck as side effects, but Amerge does not have the same side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momnotclone | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/15/2008
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked for me for a number of years. Other than feeling a bit tired after I take it, I have had no side effects, and the complete relief is well worth it. I never go anywhere without this medication in my purse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beckatha | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/18/2008
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amerge has been the only medication that has succeeded in stopping my migraine cycle! Except for it's prohibitive price, and the fact that not all insurance companies pay for it, I'd recommend it. My neurologist actually had to supply me with samples so I could take it properly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2008
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this with food, my stomach now burns as well as my migraine bothering me. I can't sleep either

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More