Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

53 People found this comment helpful

Had very large prostate for my age. Desire to urinate 3 to 4 times a night. Hard to drive home from work without stopping at rest area to urinate. I've been taking Avodart for 12 months as of now. I sleep through the night without getting up. No problem driving home. Flow of urine is much better. Side effects: I've had trouble with sexual desire. I can still get it up but ejaculate is minimal. Use...

Shared reviews and ratings

LB | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/4/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken Avodart for 7 years. Told only other option was surgery. Worked for awhile, now getting up 4-5 times per night. Penis fully retracted - have to sit down to pee. No semen on very rare occasion of ejaculation. No erection without Viagra. Dizzy a lot of the time. Tired, sleepy everyday. Stopping med and having Uro-lift. Had to have a catheter one time. Most painful thing I have ever felt. Could not get it through my prostate. Don't want surgery or Uro-lift, but what other option do I have? Must change something. Can't live like this any longer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roly | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/29/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After prolonged use caused severe heart arrhythmia and complete loss of smell and taste. May have caused permanent nerve damage. After a year off Avodart, taste and smell has returned and the arrhythmia has subsided. The benefits DID NOT WARRANT THE MANY SIDE EFFECTS! BEWARE!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/11/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Breast increased in size!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JD | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor said my prostate was a 3.5 out of 5 with 5 being the largest. After taking Avodart it has dropped to about 1.5. So has worked good that way. I did see a drop in sperm fluid and it turned to a clear liquid. What I did is a little research and discovered that if a Man takes some Progesterone it helps you from going sterile. I use a product called Balanced Male. Also a herb called Shatavari has helped a lot with erectile dysfunction. It also increases the fluid. I use a product from "The Raw Food World" called "Raw Wildcrafted Shatavari Extract. Do your own research and find what works for you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/6/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

62,on this medication for about 8 years. Only side effect, loss of semen. Very happy with this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WIlliamE | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/13/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Jalyn (Flowmax and Avodart). I have loss of energy, smaller penis, reduced sex drive, no semen, breast enlargement. My prostate has not shrunk and my urinary symptoms are getting worse. I now have to straight cath myself four times a day and I am only 53!. I am not sure what I am going to do but this drug is trouble stay away unless yo have no choice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VinnyBagodonuts | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/23/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

medicine works great, however, trade-off occurred and I personally am not willing to make that trade :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/11/2015
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/28/2015
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this medication for about 4 years. No noticeable improvement for first three years, but at end of 4th year have significant improvement. Ten years before taking Avodart, I had microwave treatment. Felt like I was when I was 20 after treatment (wonderful) but in 10 years it was back to what it was before microwave treatment. Had already lost most sex drive before taking Avodart so don't mind atrophied of testicles. Still go around 3 times at night but flow much improved. Doctor wants me to stay on it for the rest of life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kevin | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2015
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Muscle atrophy. I have done consistent physical training for 50 years. Age impacts performance, but Avodart brought on a rapid degradation of performance. Prior to Avodart I could do 8 Pull-ups. I struggle to do 4 now. My running speed has diminished from 8 to 9 minutes a mile. I took Avodart for 3 months. I have been off it for three months. I think I have noticed a gradual recovery. Hopefully not my imagination. My theory is that although Avodart is taken to reduce and relax prostate, Avodart acts equally against your entire body, relaxing and reducing your organism. US older guys are in a jam. You have an enlarged prostate and you can't piss. That is not healthy either. What is the root cause of an enlarged prostate? Age? Death will take care of that problem, but not an option. Diet? I am convinced is a solution to slow further growth, but will not reverse prostate size. That leaves the TURP. When I read the comments of my brothers in this forum, I see they are all 1%ers. The Avodart "Possible Side Effects" page indicates that 1% of their test bed had these effects. Is that true? Did 99% have zero problems? Are we all the unlucky 1%ers?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Templar | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/23/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stuffy nose, difficulty breathing when doing heavy work, difficulty in swallowing dry foods..throat appears to be swollen. I will stop this medication on my own as I do not like the number of negative reports. Will discuss with my doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenner | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/16/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Increased prostate; urination problems. Am taking 1 avodart + 1 Flomax. Flow increased. Blood sugar increased much! Anyone having that problem? Also, breast mass growing to embarrassing size. Penis shrank a lot, sex drive disappeared completely.There are other side effects but i'm not sure that they are from Avodart, so I'm not listing them. Avodart is marginally satisfactory. I'll try 2 Flomax/day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just finished having cataract surgery. Was informed by my dr. that having taken this drug makes this surgery much more difficult and risky.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jimwlfjyj | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/22/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had success with Avodart. It has helped my urinary frequency at night,dropped my SPA level.Even with the side effects,I've been on it for 3 years. I have recently developed purple toenails and wonder if there is a connection.Plz let me know if anyone has heard of this, thanks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ike g. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/17/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken Avodart for two years. I did see improvement in symptoms. I also had side effects that I was willing to live with for a while. They were impotence, and total loss of semen. I did have a good side effect, some hair regrowth. I recently discontinued it and went to herbal remedies. I take 320mg Saw palmetto, 250mg Pygeum, and 950mg stinging nettle (check with you Doctor on this). I'm on my fifth day and I have half the frequency of urination, better pee stream and less urgency. I don't know about the semen yet, but here's hoping that improves to. I wish I'd started this two years ago instead of Avodart.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
georgebecky | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/8/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

trouble with dizziness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ejsbauer | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/8/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for two years. It almost eliminated my penis, and I have no semen. It's turning me into a woman.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
singer | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/4/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for several years. It drastically reduced the size of my penis and my testicles, and I have no semen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
spry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Avodart with antibiotics and broke out in a terrible rash. My feet also swelled and were painful to walk on. At first I wondered if it was a reaction to the antibiotics, but it wasn't. It was the Avodart. I was on it 12 days. The problems began 5 days after I started. Never again!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thankful | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2014
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to my doctor and let him know that I was urinating up to 3x's a night. He gave me an examination and found that my prostate was slightly enlarged...not unusual for a guy in his mid-50's. He prescribed Avodart.I've been using it now for two months and reduced my run to the bathroom to once a night. I have reduced sperm volume, but I don't need any more kids so that's not issue. Also, I'm not sure about those other guys but my sex life is still alive. In fact, my erection seems bigger and lasts a whole lot longer than before. No Viagra for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More