Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

92 People found this comment helpful

I have suffered with chronic depression for most of my life. I have tried almost every antidepressant out there with varying degrees of success. I currently take 90 mgs of Cymbalta every day. While it is somewhat effective for me I still suffered greatly from nagging depression. It wasn't until my psychiatrist added Abilify that I experienced almost complete relief of my depression. Within two wee...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

when my 19 yr old nephew took this med ,he died in his sleep apprx. 12 wks later.

Shared reviews and ratings

Grant | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been really scared to try any new medication, I tried an antidepressant and it sent me to the hospital. So I was kinda iffy about trying any medication. when I was diagnosed with generalized, mood, anxiety, and depression disorder this medication was perfect. It addressed everything. I might need a higher dosage but when I forget to take it or forget to get it refilled there is a difference in my attitude, mood, and energy. It works well with me and I will take it until I don't need it anymore.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/16/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication made me feel more depressed, I was better off before I began taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vicky | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Major depression, Bipolar type 2, PTSD, Panic and anxiety disorder and ADHD. Great combo I know. Anyways.... I hate this medication. A week in I started going crazy. I had a crazy panic attacks that made me want to hurt myself and I started having suicidal thoughts. Spoke to my psychiatrist, no longer on it....trying new medication Seroquel. The other medication i'm on is Prozac, my psychiatrist prescribed me this to help with my bipolar disorder. Prozac only helps with my depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monarch Takami | 13-18 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication by my psychiatrist after starting Lamictal. After this, my depression kept getting worse and worse. I explained to my doctor, parents, and psychiatrist that it wasn't helping and was only doing the opposite, and they told me that they believed I was just on too low of a dose. A separate psychiatrist upped my dosage, and this caused me major suicidal thoughts, where I ended up in the hospital. The psychiatrist there finally took me off of it (she put me on Seroquel instead) and I automatically started feeling better. It couldn't have been the new medicine, because I started feeling better in about 2 days, when the medicine would have needed at least a couple weeks to start affecting me. In conclusion, once the Abilify was out of my system, I felt so much more improved.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it did help with my psychosis but made me really constipated and gave me terrible nightmares my depression was not improving and in less than a month i got sent back to inpatient way more trouble than it was worth

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/1/2022
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Abilify for two years or so, it worked great until by body continued to build a high tolerance on it. I started at a decently low dose and had to be increased every now and then. I eventually reached the max dosage- I had already been at a very high dose for my age- and had to be taken off because of the inability to control facial expressions and other muscles (Tardive Dyskinesia).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angel Mae | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
12/20/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Our autistic son was prescribed after experiencing violent tics/outbursts. The medication caused his behaviors to be more frequent when the dosage was increased. We took him off and he now has the behaviors once every couple of days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raphael Heals | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Psychiatry is a quack scam. Get your loved one off their pills and treating them with the respect a human deserves will make their lives liveable. Every good I've accomplished on this medicine, was not because of it, it was in spite of it. Drugs cause trauma, not health.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
9 years | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/4/2021
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On it to long causes stiffness mouth twitching and insatiable appetite. With weight gain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Out of the Dark | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
11/26/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Lexapro for 15 years for dysthymia and bouts of clinical depression. The Lex kept the sharpest corners smoothed off, but only gave me a grey existence. My current Psychiatrist added 5 mg of Abilify to my medications. The effect has been nothing short of a miracle cure. I hope Abilify continues to work for me for a very long time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Benjamin J. G. | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/22/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes u feel invisble, like u will die, u will gain weight, u will be weak. Ur eyes will be bad. Lifes still wrecked

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ebso | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/20/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication made me zone out. I had no idea people were even talking to me. It was extremely expensive. I would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gg | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/13/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took abilify paired with prozac and to simply say- it saved and changed my life. I stopped taking it now but will go back on it if needed. It is very useful in treating intrusive thoughts and depression!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/11/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given abilify to help boost my antidepressant. I took it for a year or so my depression never got any better. Then my Dr changed my appointment date to a week later one month, and before the week was over I got a condition called musical ear syndrome, and it drives me insane 24/7. It's horrible and I've had it for over 3 years now. He said going off of abilify abruptly wouldn't cause that ,but yet whenever I would say I didn't want to take it anymore he would say "you want the music to go away don't you?" That's kind of revealing that it was the cause. Be very careful to never run out of them if you choose to take them.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mag | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
11/5/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I came off my Abilify very slowly. My psychiatrist is very kind and understanding to let me make my own choices regarding what medication I take or not take. I have been on Abilify for a very long time. The earlier psychiatrists gave me it cause it treats depression better with another antidepressant. Well for all those years I can say I never feel relieved from the agony. In fact I believe it made me feel worse. How do I know that? From coming off it slowly. I was first given 10mg. After I while I take 5mg, then 2mg, then 1mg. Now I am taking no Abilify. I paid close attention to how I feel all this time. Now with 0 Abilify, only Trintelex and Trazadon, I have never feel this good. Now I am less irritated, tired, have more hope, sleep better. I can do more and feel more serene. I highly recommend Trintelex for depression. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Losing my mind | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/28/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Abilify is cutting my life short. Even though I am schitzo-affective im in tune with my body and mind. This drug causes my legs to shake most times uncontrollably sometimes my fingers twitch and cramp for no reason. I move my toes constantly causing open sores and leather patches. They gave me another drug to counter act the restlessness in my legs but I refuse to take it.( no more meds). Its caused erectile disfunction in me, it's made me put on 30+ pounds in the 7 years Even though I eat and exercise regularly. Now I'm facing diabetes even though the doctors say I'm pre-diabetic and I can turn it around. I'm not believing them as I'm very active and watch what I eat and drink. I think because of my lifestyle this didn't occur sooner. I am court ordered to take my medication or the govt. Will lock me up. They've done it before. It makes me lethargic for 3 days after the injection and usually stops working at week 3. Or sooner depending on if I worked out in the sun to long or if I get sick as in the flu, cold, covid 19 etc. My doctor says that the benefits out weigh the negative effects. I have tried these Psyche meds to no avail: respidol, halidal, and lamictal. Between these three they caused bloating, weight gain (22lbs in 2weeks), throat constriction, breathing problems and anxiety. If someone knows of something that can help me let me know please. *** The last 2 months I have been losing my memory I fear it is causing me dementia at 49.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/27/2021
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

honestly no idea why they prescribe this. Insane weight gain and suicidal ideation, brain zaps, fatigue. gained 30 pounds over 4 months

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alba alba | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/22/2021
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Actually it really works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AJD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2021
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seems to be working ok, although it makes me sleepy, and I constantly feel hungry.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alba alba | 3-6 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2021
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is good drug to cure schizophrenia

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More