Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

I think the only reason this pill has so many bad reviews is a bunch of recently-pregnant hormonally out-of-whack women get prescribed it. I'm a 20 year old, active and healthy college student, and this pill has worked just fine for me! The only things I've noticed are a decrease in breast size (boooo.) and slight increase in facial acne. I don't get my period anymore which is great. I try to take...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

didn't work for me

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous |
8/5/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You have to be consistent with the time. I had my period 5 on 3 off for probably 6 months and as I was more consistent and adapted to it I'm just fine now. I had mood issues at the start too. Now, I just spot once a month or so. I'm not pregnant so it works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ANDRIA D | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

l used this birth control for 2 weeks and it is terrible and I recommend that this is pulled from the market. I used this to stop my permanent menstrual (light) cycle and it went off for 3 days. The 4th day I experienced heavy periods with a lot of blood clotting. I have had that much clotting since my miscarriage in '98. Everyday I wake up its like a crime scene my mattress & sheets are soaked with blood. I have to wear double padding and I still end up messing up all of my clothing, towels & sheets. I stopped taking them and I'm still experiencing heavy bleeding and clotting to the point where I'm scared. This is not how birth control pills are suppose to work! I took these thinking finally the bleeding stops and my husband & I can have a sex life again. Wrong! I dont have any other conditions before taking this and the cramps are horrible. I'm not exaggerating and I wish I could sent pictures as proof.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pj | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Errin as an alternative birth control because of having high blood pressure. The first 3 months were normal with my period last about 5-6 days. On the 4th month I started bleeding profusely! I would bleed through heavy pads in 3 hours. The bleeding was full of huge clots. I lost so much blood that was pale and required to come into the doctor's office for a checkup. The cramping was unbearable. There is no way this medication is worth the pain and money it costs in feminine products. The birth control works in preventing pregnancy because who would want to have sex with you when you are bleeding through your clothes! Terrible experience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Misty D | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/9/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for over 2 years, no negative side effects. Starting any new BC pill will cause some getting used to for the first couple of months, so please keep that in mind when reading other reviews. This pill has brought my once heavy and unpredictable periods down to a light period lasting 3/4 days and has been very effective as well. As with any POP you must take it at the same time every day to be effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Taylor | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/16/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not know where to start. Tiredness, constant bleeding, excessive amounts of blood, cramps worse than I have ever had in my entire life, multiple periods per month, inconsistent cycles, and to make it all better, these have gotten worse each month for the past 8 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Errin for a little over a month. Immediately noticed I am extremely tired. Was not told to take at night by my Obgyn. My mom told me progesterone causes sleepiness. Tiredness continues into my morning. Also have had daily bouts of nausea and dizziness. Extremely bloated and gained 8 lbs! Have flu like symptoms while on my period during this med. Continue to get my period right on time while taking Errin. My asthma is worse. After reading about Errin it said it could make my asthma worse. And my OBGYN did not tell me this! I asked if I should get my progesterone checked and I was told no not needed. But when i looked up side effects of too much progesterone and they all fit. Getting my tubes tied! Done with all birth control!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tameka | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Been using errin for now 1 month within this month my period has came on twice and i have had mood swings i was so emotional crying about everything my breast has been sore but nothing major today i have been nauseous all day very tired i take it on time every morning i dont know i just want to do what right for my body. my obgyn put me on this one cause i had a mini T.I.A im going to give it another month and see what it do after that

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nomorebc4me | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this birth control for five months. Each month I have experienced a heightened symptom (more than I ever have in the past). One month I had tender breasts every single day. Another month I experience nausea on most days. One month I was 17 days late for my period. I have noticed weight gain, 5-10 lbs. The first few months also caused me to have serious mood swings. I finally decided to stop taking. The ONLY positive thing I have to say about this pill is it did not cause my eczema to get worse (like all other birth controls have in the past). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Errin | 0-2 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/22/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been taking Errin for almost a year and it has completely messed up period cicle. Bleeding almost the whole month!! Iâ??d only have like a 1 week without period and then it comes back again. My mood swinging are crazy. Feeling tired and drained probably because of the constant bleeding. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS MEDICATION AT ALL.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leela | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does what to supposed to but don’t get too excited to have sex as you might have CONSTANT bleeding. The first month, I bled for 17 days straight. Was normal for one month and then went right back to irregular bleeding. I’ve now been bleeding for 14 days and it doesn’t look like it’s gonna end any time soon. I guess it works cause not too many man wanna have sex while you’re bleeding. Birth control is such an omen. ???? Also, I started Errin in January and I’ve already gained 9lbs. Considering getting off this s**t. Hope this helps!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taken off orthotri cyclin (had been taking for 10 yrs) about 1.5 yrs ago (due to migraine). I had an implanon placed but didn't tolerate it and had it taken out, then used condoms for a year. My period became regular right away but was heavy and painful every month. Im pretty suce I had a huge estrogen imbalance. Been taking Errin as a way to hopefully tame my symptoms. I have been on for 1 month, I had a headache the first three days, some spotting but noting crazy just used a panty liner, and my breast have shrunk. I have not had noticeable acne, mood, or weight changes. I was really scared to start after reading all the bad reviews, but its important to remember EVERYONE IS DIFFERENT! I will see how the next 2 months go, I have a check in with the OBGYN then. Best of luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MommaBrat | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/8/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking the mini pill becuase I was breast feeding. I had been taking this pill for 8 months. I missed the ppill by an hour or so on Christmas day... and I am now 6 months pregnant. So it doesn't work to well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Whitney | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/6/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Errin for about 8 months when I decided it wasn't working for me. The first 2 months were rough, but I stuck through it because my doctor said it can take up to 3 months for your body to adjust. I had random , near constant spotting which was super annoying more than anything. After the initial 2 months, it was working great. My period stopped completely, which is what I hoped would happen. I was taking it due to PCOS and irregular bleeding (was having a period a couple times a month) during the last month I was on it, I had constant bleeding. Only went about 6 days in a 30 day timeframe with no bleeding. The last week, I had such heavy bleeding that I ended up in the ER. I had to go on Norethindrone 10mg/day to stop the bleeding. My Dr decided to keep me on the 10mg/day since the low does in Errin wasn't working for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/16/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Des86 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/30/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this pill 6wks after giving birth. I was prescribed this pill due to the fact I was breast feeding and was told any other pill could dry up my milk supply. I'm half way through the second pack and will be discontinuing immediately. I've been having frequent irregular periods and spotting and the hair loss is ridiculous. These were the most obvious side effects I noticed. After doing some research I realized that much like the other reviewers I've also experienced constant fatigue, some depression and moodiness. Thanks but no thanks Errin!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelli | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Errin for 2 months, now, with zero side effects or weight gain. I am noticing a trend with side effects mainly with the younger generation. I am on Errin for my alternative birth control during the Essure process. I set an alarm for daily to take my pill on time every day, and if I am going to be away during that time, I make sure to put it in my purse. It IS that important to me not to get pregnant. Best of luck.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jocey | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/3/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first nothing was wrong, just a little breast tenderness. Now, 2-3, months in, I'm very fatigued and have had extremely irregular periods. Very on and off, heavy, and SO MANY CRAMPS. I never wanted to have sex because I was embarrassed of the CONSTANT bleeding. Also I've had headaches and leg pain. Hormonal just isn't for me, will be switching soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LisaM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm pre-menopausal (age 45, yet healthy, active lifestyle) so my periods recently became irregular and I need birth control but cannot take estrogen because of heart palps. I'm in week 4 and haven't noticed any negative side effects but I'm still spotting or bleeding daily. The pill was an attempt to control that. Also, my dr said its only 90% effective! Considering essure now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
em12990 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/30/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My GYN changed me to this medication due to high blood pressure (at 22?). in the first few months it was ok but after 3 years of taking it, I could not put up with the stress this pill causes. The mood swings were crazy, one minute laughing and happy the next anxious. This also caused depression and weight gain. The most stressful thing was that I never knew when my periods would come (I stopped tracking them because it would just start and then stop and start again). I would have periods twice a month or have spotting for a week then stop then a week later start again. So inconsistent and hard to deal with. I don't know how this pill would help my blood pressure if the extra stress and anxiety would raise it. Sometimes I would also feel like my heart was beating out of my chest for no reason. After reading other reviews, I did notice that my hair falls out a lot more than normal (could be because of this pill). After explaining all of this to my GYN, she refused to put me on another pill (so for 3 years I kept taking it), I finally went to another doctor and she put me on something else. I suggest if you take it and experience side affects to talk to your GYN right away, and if they won't help you then go somewhere else.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sammisosa | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi! So i have been taking Errin for only 2 days and i feel awful. I am so bloated on my right side. Its so uncomfortable, I hate it. I took the pill the last 2 nights at the same time and within 15 minutes I felt sick. I was taken off my other Birth control, that I was one for 4 months because I told the Dr I was getting sharp pais in my chest every now and then. I haven't lost any hair, but my hair has gone from curly to straight in 4 months! Idk I don't really like taking the birth control. I have only got my period once in 4 months. And now being on Errin IDK what is going to happen!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More