Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I came home from the hospital after having a foley catheter, with a bladder infection and peed every hour on the hour. My Dr. called this med in for me and in 3 days it was gone! I would highly recommend this as a fast acting drug for a bladder infection and I suffered no side affects...

Shared reviews and ratings

Wanting2bWellAgain | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/8/2018
Condition: Complicated Urinary Tract Infection caused by E. Coli
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had ruptured Achilles tendon as result of multiple courses of cipro. Care should be taken, as other serious opportunistic bacterial infections also followed use. It is effective, but will not clear infection in immunodeficient patients like me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jaymee | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2016
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2015
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given Ciprofloxacin for a bacterial UTI. After the 1st pill one wrists was achy, after the second pill, after the second pill both wrists hurt, after the third pill both wrists and knees hurt. I went back and read the info that came with the prescription that indicated immediately stopping this drug with any joint pain as it can cause lifetime atrophy of cartilege and ligaments in joints AND even if a person doesn't experience pain while taking it, the problem can begin 3 months afterwards. A physical therapist friend later told me most of her clients are folks who took this drug and they were in terrible pain. I am so glad I read the information and quit taking it after the third pill. It should be outlawed! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimblaze | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this medication for 2 days and had to call my doctor to change antibiotics. Although it greatly improved my UTI symptoms I had severe headache, dizziness and just couldn't think straight. Would not take this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tcell | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2013
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made condition disappear for 2 .days...condition returned

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not Happy in Cleveland | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2013
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Cipro over the past 10 years..As needed...No problem other than head aches...This time I got bad diarrhea that went on and on...Lost 3 pounds in 2 hours...Noticed the product came from India...Could this be the problem??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harika | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2013
Condition: Bacterial Infection of Kidney due to E. Coli Organism
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I no only used this drug for E-coli infection, but also for UTI. It did wonders in my tummy. It is super effective and I had no side effects. I love this drug and its inventor for giving out such a good antibiotic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2013
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this medication on 9/17/12. The prescription was for 10 days. After five days, I began experiencing multiple pains in my legs, knees and ankles. I contacted the doctor who advised me to discontinue taking the medication. The pains in my legs, knees, and ankles has persistently continued and I have had to seek additional medical treatment for these problems. I am 62 years old and I experienced significant problems from taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tracy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2012
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On a 10 day dose for UTI, on 2nd day severe leg pain and knee pain and swelling. Almost debilitating. I cannot get up and down without help- competely functional prior to this drug, no knee pain or injury. I have been off the meds for over a week and no improvement whatsoever! I am slmost bed ridden- unable to walk or hardly stand. Knee joints are HUGE and extremely painful! I will never take this drug again, it should be outlawed!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paper man | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2012
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my 5th day on the meds, I came to this web site looking for answers to what I have been going through. I have been very sleepy, hard to stay awake at work, low energy and have had some pain in my lower back. Now that I know it is the meds, at least I have an understanding of why I feel disconnected. I am half way through my treatment and will try and stay with it until complete but for future use I will try something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rlz30106 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/7/2012
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking just one pill, I had diareah and really bad stomach pains all day. It made me dizzy, I just fell asleep when I started feeling this way. It made my day horrible. I'd rather suffer with my UTI than take this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2011
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on this med for 7 days, i'm three days in. my uti side effects have gone away and i am urinating normally now. but the side effects are unbearable. i have severe nausea almost constantly, i have noticed an increase in my anxiety, i feel dazed and lethargic through out the day, and my lower back pains in the kidney regions are still there and very painful. i am going to stick it out for the remaining four days because it is working but i would not recommend it to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2011
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

a bad rash with hives

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jschuhmann | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2011
Condition: Infection of the Bladder
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its taking awhile for this to work. Ive taken Cipro 500mlg twice a day for 5 days, still have symptoms. I have 5 more days of it left. Seems a bit better, than back started hurting, but burning isnt so bad. Should I take 700 mlg. instead

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Camber | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for a kidney infection, after taking only 2 days worth of pills woke up unable to catch my breathe, had to discontinue use and take benadryl to counteract effects. It temporarily cleared up the infection, has been about 3 weeks and I am starting to show the signs again but I will not take this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nosrack | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

500 mg twice a day for 10 days I have never taken this medication before. While taking this medication I felt tired and sore in my lower back. This is noticeable when I get up in the morning. I will never take this medication again. The side effects are worse than the problem! I stoped taking this medication about a month ago, and I am still having dizzy spells.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TexasPM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is day one of muscle/tendon weakness, pain, etc. I've read the other reviews and frankly I'm a little ticked with my doctor! I would rather have taken 2000mg of antibiotics and dealt with the itching than this. I walk a lot for my job and can barely sit now. Has anyone received any relief from the muscle pain?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sick in TX | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2011
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Second day of this stuff. Knot in my esophagus, fever, chills, back killing me. Why would anyone perscribe this drug to 71 yr old with healing back fracture and newly fractured shoulder. Horrible Med, will call my Dr Monday for Amoxicillan. knot

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tired mom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2011
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never had a burning sensation after first 24 hours on any antibiotic for a UTI, I am on the third day and atill have some sensitivity. Since starting this midicine, I have had headaches, chills, and extreme lethargy. Oh, and lower backache as well. This is aweful and I can't believe its on the market- request a different antibiotic!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More