Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

84 People found this comment helpful

Many reviewers wrote such horrible side effects, I have had none of them. On my 6th day now. After reading these reviews I was scared to death to take this. After talking to a pharmacist, I felt much better. No side effects at all. My sinus blockage is much better now. Would take again.

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed this medicine due to flu like symptoms and congestion. On the first day I received the pack at night and took the first 6 tablets as it states to on the pack to do when you first receive it. The entire night I had cold sweats. I sleep in a robe, which I do every night but on this night I was totally drenched with sweat and shivering all night. Through out the night and on to the n...

Shared reviews and ratings

BethA | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: Muscle Pain and Stiffness in Shoulder, Neck and Pelvis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on the 6 day dose pain for back pain. I didn’t notice any improvement, nor any side effects for the 6 days. But on day 7, mood swings started, day 8 was dehydration and day 9 nausea and dizziness. Been off 5 days and I am miserable. Back is now a little better, but I preferred back pain to these side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am barely on my second day and the pain does seem to be subsiding somewhat, however, it's the side effects that I am having problems dealing with. I hate them all, they are horrible! But if it will take this Sciatic nerve pain due to a bulging disc away or even just lessen it some, it will be well worth the sacrifice of the side effects. I can't wait to be done with this medication and I honestly don't see myself taking it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B.ll. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had horrible lower back pain, I was prescribed these meds couple of months ago. Had the worst experience of my life. It did seem to help with the lower back pain but not for what its worth, I would've wanted to try a different medication.I mostly had all of the side effects of this medication. I winded up completing an endoscopy because of it and was out of work for 2 months, till the adverse reactions of this meds eased out of my system. I pray they find substitutes to this medication, because thanks to this medication Im now terrified to take any kind of pills. Worst experience I've ever had taking this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Terry S | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My wife had a delayed reaction to multiple bee stings (4). She had large swelling in the bite areas and severe itching as well. Within 18 hours of taking the Methylprednisolone first stage (six tablets) the swelling had all but disappeared. The itching remained but that was to be expected. No side effects to speak of except maybe a little jittery after the first day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Climber | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/16/2022
Condition: Contact Dermatitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this when I get into poison ivy to get it to stop attacking me. My body reacts strongly to poison ivy so just using topical creams and sprays doesn't work well at all. The doctor will give me a shot at the office that has 125mg. That's pretty strong and shuts down the intensity within a few hours. Then with topical creams for the itching I can sleep. Then I take the step down dose of the pills (10mg/ea) starting the next day for 6 days. 6-5-4-3-2-1. By day 2 or 3 it is very manageable. The side affects that I get are usually being wound up so I stop drinking caffeinated products while I'm on it. A dose of benadryl tablet before bedtime and I can sleep. It isn't perfect but no medicine is. I've used this as needed for over 10 years and it never fails to get the job done. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe covid that lasted for 6 days without letting up, only getting worse. This, along with Paxlovid brought the covid to its knees in 12 hours. The steroids were for my throat/tonsils, which were intensely red and painful. Drinking water felt like drinking acid. In 2 days, all the inflammation was gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Survivor | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2022
Condition: Disease in which Body has Immune Response Against Itself
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a renal transplant recipient. Had mild rejection episode. creatinine jumped to 1.69 and reduced to 1.25. On 1gm of this injection for day 1. Side-effects : Sweating drenched the bed mood changes,increased agititaion

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matt | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has made me very irritable and emotional. I am not able to sleep. For 3 days now, I feel as if I have drank a six pack of energy drinks. I am ready to jump out of my skin. I lack the ability to concentrate. I still have 3 days left to go. I will finish my dose but I will not take this medication again nor would I ever recommend it to anyone else. I feel that I should have been warned about these side effects. The 1 positive, I can now breath through my nose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CH | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have arthritic and compressed lower vertebrae with nerve aggravation. Prepared for the worst; got the best. Pain gone. Walking better. Sleeping better. Like magic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Tendon
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on Meloxicam (NSAID) for an inflamed tendon in my foot. It suddenly got worse, so my podiatrist subscribed the 6 day pack of Methylprednisolone. The first day, I took 3 pills at lunch time and 3 pills at night (first day option). It felt like my heart was racing. The second day, (yesterday), my body decided it was done taking pills, so I had to coat them with chocolate pudding. I had really bad heartburn last night. I was sweating a lot, too, but I also have early menopause, so hot flashes at night are nothing new. Tonight, I will be adding Pepcid AC to my nighttime pills. And more chocolate pudding or yogurt.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have Cervical Neck herniations c5,6,7. Am a severely anxious human/female. Rx 4mg medrol Pack. I took it exactly as it was prescribed. The key: Every A.M. before breakfast took Pepcid (prevention) wait 30 min then take 1st dose. Wait 30 min eat breakfast. The key: drink lots of water. 8 glass/day. after dinner took tab. Then 1 hour later about 7 or 8 pm took 1mg Ativan to decrease anxiety & slow heart rate. Then I took 1st tab before bed about 9pm then @ 10 pm took 1 5mg flexeril then at 11 pm the next Methylprenisolone tablet. * The key: Take the bedtime dose 2 hrs apart. This helps to significantly reduce insomnia. I must say this experience was positive for me. I was actually relaxed and thank goodness pain gone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toya | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/2/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had bad shoulder (left) pain for days. Finally went to the doctor and was prescribed methylprednisolone pills. I felt better within a few hours. I was able to move my shoulder/ arm and had totally forgot about the pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Health1234 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got this medicine for sinus and allergies.doctor said i have fluid behind my ear and i had right side face and headache. It was not that bad on 1st day only sweating but 2nd day i have severe acid reflexes, farting, burping, bloating and abdominal pain.it is night and i am so scared. I have history of h pilori.can anyone help me? is this medicine will affect or activate h pilori bacteria again? I don't know what to do. Hopefully 3rd day will be better and will talk to my doctor tomorrow. Also eye pain, back pain and right lower side is hurting????.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gen2Alex | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Elbow and Surrounding Tissue
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On my third day of taking the 6 days package. Just perfect enough for me. Had both tennis elbow and golfer's elbow at the same time. Was very painful...Now, about %80 better. Three more days to go.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drtyd | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2021
Condition: Any Disease Following Trauma Involving Joint Cartilage
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the second time in 5 years I have used this steroid. First was a biffed knee when running. And now a wrist injury ( my massive dog yanked on the leash in excitement to go for a walk and I held on without letting go ) anyways after 2 months of that "pop" and only getting marginally better I decided to get it looked at. After the first day I just realized I had no or very little pain and ( swelling reduction is my guess ). No real side effects yet with the exception of maybe being a bit irritable ( not out side the realm of normal I suppose :) ) and maybe my lungs feeling a it tighter on my run ( it was also 99f outside though. But honestly I was just trying to listen to my body for anything out of the norm. So overall yes this was/is extremely helpful. ( Both times ). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Sac Surrounding the Joint - Bursitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the second time I have taken this - with no side effects. Helped with the pain in my shoulder immensely. Finally slept unbelievably. Would definitely recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tbdearfluid | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this due to fluid in my ear and an inflammed inner ear. No pain, but needed to reduce the fluid. I was scared of all the side effects, but I am on day 2 and have had none so far. I even slept just fine. First day I was actually quite drowsy, but otherwise no issues. Still TBD on the ear issue, but I cannot feel the fluid currently and am hoping it will heal. Don't be afraid of the side effects, remember most people leave a review if they had a bad experience and those who made off fine probably don't even think about it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kobi | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/12/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very bad experience with this drug, i have a knee problem Patellofemoral pain syndrome, the amount of side effect that i had from using it is behind imagination: Headache, nausea , depression, confusion, restlessness, Anxiety, eye pain, urinating real often( like every 15 minutes) that i was actually start to feel pain during urination, Irregular heart rhythm( very fast), and more... i took the first day six peels , one in the morning on the day after and i quit that was enough for me i could not bear it anymore, it's felt like a poison to me and even didn't solve my knee problem, to my surprise some of the side effects last for almost a year after i stop taking it. but thank god i think it's over by now. it was awful and i wish i knew better before i took it. i think that if its not a life threatening condition there is no way that i'm using it in the future!!!! and i wish they will find some substitute for this asap Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/20/2019
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take daily Prednisone since 2005for my SLE with no problems at all. I take Methprednisone 6 day back when I have infection I am not beating very fast or if my migraines just keep coming with vomitting and I want to calm the inflammation by a temporary switch up. I do after years of the Lupus, sometimes ask for a second 6 day pac. Effective, use to be by day one and two but now takes 3 to 5. I had no side effects except , what is expected , tiredness, well my body adjust back to my daily low dose of Prednisone. Good Medication for SLE. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took methylprednisolone for a very severe asthma attack and ,for me, this was a miracle drug. It stopped the asthma attack, eliminated the tightness and pressure in my chest and, as a bonus, it relieved the aches and pains in my whole body. I felt 15 years younger while I was taking it! I took the 6 day descending dosage pack and would definitely take it again if I needed to.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More