Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

Finally started taking this a few years ago and it works great. After 30 years I can tell when it's coming so take this right away. I know it is expensive and I only get 12 per month. What I do is get the 40 mg and cut in half with a sharp pill splitter. Have been told that they won't work that way, BUT they do. Sometimes have to take another half but many times this works and I do it because ...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

my first migraine medication due to bad reaction to tylenol, and took a few hours with 1 pill but eventually relieved the pain did not take second pill, a bit nervous because doctor only gave me 4 pill to see how I reacted to them. so it is early days for me and so far no side effect yet. I have 2 left and will only take if the pain is bad, good pain? I do not have neausea or auros with headache...

Shared reviews and ratings

Jenny | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/22/2021
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relpax allows me to go to work when I wake up with a headache/migraine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/9/2021
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As soon as I feel it coming on I take relax, and within 15 minutes I am back to work. Witn no side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/29/2019
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lifesaver

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Breezy78 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/26/2019
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this prescription about two years- I really have not found it to be useful at all- I can barely the wait the two hours befor taking the second pill- Plus my insurance only allows so many per month- I will be changing this month

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jweeks2438 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/18/2018
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tied all the other triptans, and all helped but only Relpax works 100% every time, though occasionally i have to take two. one commenter here incorrectly said the FDA only allows two pills per week; not true, the limit is two per 24 hours

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Snoopy1970 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/15/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the ONLY medicine that will completely take away my migraine pain. Occasionally, it will take 2 pills to totally relieve it. Cost can be an unfortunate factor, as I've had to pay $50/per pill at times.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/5/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this for migraines. It works most times than not. It takes it to a lower level of pain from a 10+ to a 4 or 5. A narcotic is usually needed for the rest of the headache since drug is dangerous and not allowed to take more than two dozes per week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/10/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I call these my "magic pills". The only thing that works for my migraines. Within 45 mintues of use, I can resume all normal activities of my day. I have not experienced any side effects. Love them. Dislike the cost, but am thankful my insurance pays for the majority of the cost. I am only allowed 9 pills per month, but that is usually sufficient.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/7/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relpax made me extremely nauseous the first time I took it. I had to lay down and not move to prevent vomiting. It made me hazy and I passed out for 4 hours. Not only that, but it made my migraine WORSE. My migraines usually last 1 day, but after taking Relpax, my migraine lasted 3 days. Worse migraine of my life and I will never take Relpax again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jstjokin | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/12/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relax is the best out of all of the Triptans especially if you didn't catch it before the hat of pain sets in. My only complaint is that there isn't an alternate delivery method for those of us who get nauseous. It defeats the purpose if you can't keep it down. It's very defeating to know that something will help but your body is going to reject it. I used to take Sumatriptan which comes in every delivery system known to mankind but it quit being as effective. You w o old think that Eletriptan could be made as a sublingual or injectable too.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
neshomah | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/10/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 40 mg of Relpax (with the option of 1 more after 2 hours if migraine not gone) for quite a few years with no side effects. I strongly suggest this drug to anyone I know that has chronic migraines.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bakko | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/14/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking Relpax in Canada where the product strength is double the American product strength. 20 Milligrams sufficiently ended a migraine within 20 minutes. I notice the American product (20 miligrams) takes up to an hour, and sometimes I need a second dose. Relpax is the BEST migraine medicine I have ever taken. Within a short time after the dose is taken, I am back on my feet, ready to live my life. Sometimes I am a bit weak and sometimes I am still sensitive to light and sound, but I can easily function and enjoy my day without further delay after having Relpax. I love it! My only complaint is that the tablets come in 40 milligram strength, but I always have to divide the tablets which are not scored. Sometimes its a bit messy and I can't always equally divide the tablet. The cost is high unless your benefits cover it, but worth every penny if that is what it takes. I would rather have Relpax than food.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucycarl | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/8/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like most one here, I have suffered with migraines since my teens. I'm now 62 and finally found something that works!!! And like many other on here, my insurance company gives me too few - not enough for all the migraine's I get. And doctors never win when prescribing more. It's a shame the Drug companies have this kind of power over doctors. I also had minimal success with botox. I'm on my second round of it. First time it seemed to work good starting 2 weeks after the shots, but it doesn't last all 3 months. Got my second round a month ago and am having just as many migraines as before. I'm at my wits end. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/3/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relax has dramatically improved my quality of life. I have tried ALL of the other migraine meds. Some helped, but the side effects were almost as debilitating as the migraine itself. I suffered for years before I found Relpax. The other thing I found over the years is that you should take the Relpax as soon as the symptoms begin. I used to try to convince myself that the headache would get better with over the counter melds. It has never worked. So, take my advice, just take it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ducky | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/12/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had complicated migraines for over 30 years. I have tried everything to get rid of the migraines. Relpax is the only drug that gets rid of the migraine within a half hour most of the time and that is with a half of pill. I cut the pills in half because the ins company only allows a certain number per month. Most of the time, I do not have to take a full pill. When I have had to take a full pill, the migraine is usually gone within 30-60 minutes. I have never had any side effects and I am highly satisfied with the results of this medicine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/11/2016
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 49 and have suffered migraines ever since I was about 14. Relpax works for me everytime! I do have some weakness for about half an hour but getting rid of the migraine is well worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/13/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Relpax for overar 5 years and only on a few occasions had mild chest pressure. This is the only drug that works for me. It works within an hour to several. My Insurance at work has always given me a problem with giving the amount I need. I was getting 20 and now 6 per month. My doctor doesn't like fighting the Insurance. This should be against the law for both Doctor and insurance! Patients shouldn't have to suffer in pain!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
10/14/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr prescribed this to my son and it has not been effective at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/8/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 44 and have had migraines as long as I can remember. This is the FIRST drug that actually works for me, and believe me when I tell you I have tried everything. Except for the price...it is perfect. I've only taken two pills on one occasion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just say no | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication almost killed me the 1st and only time I took it! Within 20 minutes I began having chest pain and heaviness. I felt like I couldn't catch my breath. Pain began to radiate from my shoulders into my neck. I felt weak and extremely nauseous. My heart was racing and it felt like it was flopping around. That was 2 days ago and my heart rate is still erratic. When I woke up this morning I had a resting heart rate of 106 bpm. I am a 40 yr old,non smoking woman in excellent physical condition. The only health problem I have is migraines. Beware of this drug!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More