Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

56 People found this comment helpful

I want to start off by saying this drug is a miracle. I was in a rehab center for two weeks to detox off OxyContin. They gave me this drug expecting me to be off it in two weeks. I relapsed 3 days after i was off this medicine because although the physical withdrawals were not present, the psychological cravings were. Also if you are psychologically dependent on this drug your body will stop produ...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

Note that most of the reviews are people still ON this very powerful opiate. Very few get off of it, and those that do usually go through 6-24 months of PAWS. It should be a last resort for the hardest core junkies. It's essentailly methadone. Do your homework before you take this garbage...do yourself a favor and go cold turkey or in patient detox...seriously!!

Shared reviews and ratings

FitzSpeaker | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/12/2021
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why would I stop suboxone? Suboxone combats anxiety, depression, pain, etc in fact Suboxone does everything short of opening the garage door! Multiple injuries, left hip replacement, left dropped foot, etc. Health issues over the years that include Osteomyelitis in my affected left foot, etc The psychiatrist explained "You are a high risk of relapse you are on Suboxone forever" Upbeat, high energy, I swim early each morning at 6am, feeling GOOD due to suboxone. Five years ago 2 hip revision surgeries within 4 months and just 2 sublingual strips of Suboxone got me through NO percocet, NO vicodin. The Suboxone "overrides" the pain yes I feel that hip revision surgeries pain BUT get up go to work with a smile each day. My assets include Suboxone. The drug Suboxone has changed my life. I am the most fortunate guy to have a persciption for Suboxone indefinitely forever. Modern medicine at its best Suboxone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drek82 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/22/2021
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I AM A RECOVERED ADDICT AFTER battling A 18 year habit from doctors and dentist over prescribing pain meds for dumb stuff headaches etc. Well once they pushed painkillers on all Americans that had any pain boom script for at least 30-45 Vicodin perks etc. Now they completely after being the ones responsible for drug pushing to make money run ran and I HAD TO BE TREATED LIKE TRASH STIGMATIZED PREJUDGED BCUZ I BECAME AN ADDICT THA KS TO THEM THEY RAN SCOTT FREE I LOST EVERYTHING IN MY LIFE MY WHOLE WORLD CARS CLOTHES HOUSES WIFE KIDS FRIENDS FAMILY BUT THE DOCS STILL GOT PORSCHES LAMBOS AND WONT WRITE U A SCRIPT NOW TO HELP WHEN I DISLOCATED MY KNUCKLE AND FRACTURED MY HAND WOW BUT THEY GAVE OUT LIKE CANDY I ADMITTWD I TOOK THE MEDS I AM THE ADDICT AN OWN IT WHY DONT THEY WONT THEY EPIDEMIC IS BCUZ DOCS PUSHED THEM ON US ADDICTS NOW SINCE THEY WONT WRITE A SCRIPT FOR LEVIT REASONS SADLY EVERYONE IS TURNING TO STREET DRUGS WHERE NARCOTICS ARE MADE BY HOME CHEMIST OR PEOPLE HAVING NO BUSINESS DOJ G IT AND CUTTING THE DRUGS WITH HIGLY ADDICTIVE AND DEADLY OTHER UNMEASURED NARCOTICS TO MAKE MORE POTWNT DEALERS ON STREET DO T CARE REPEAT CUSTOMER ANYMORE SADLY AS A RECOVERED ADDICT WE WOULD HEAR SO IN SO DIED AFTER TRYING SO IN SO STUFF AND WE RAN TO GET IT AND TRY IT HOW MESSED UP AND SICKLY IS THAT AS MOST ADDICTS ARE IVE WALKED MANY OF MILES IN ADDICTION SHOES. I luckily was saved by a dealer I was buying pills from she gave me a methadone pill not methadose u get in clinics big difference most do t know there’s 2 types the company that makes methadone is owned or co reacted only with United States government and makes for them they make brand methadone which is a true paink killer potent narcotic comes in like wafers or pills shaped for pain like cancer patients then the liquid methadone in methadone clinics an suboxone slash methadone clinics it’s called methadose it is not as potent an has a blocker so u can not get high off any opiate or you will kill yourself trying I know I tried. So there’s a full on narcotic painkiller which is pill I was given by dealer she said u r gonna kill itself I am worried about you yes I want your money but your doing to much I took 1 5mg or 10mg methadone pill and was buzzed high and for 3 days did not pop another pill or anything it kept me off everything heroin etc. Off one pill lasted 3 days so I studied it wanted to quit the lifestyle of drug abuse worry about being able to function then to get high so found methadone clinic and was on 125mg of it for years and it’s called liquid handcuffs bcuz it was very hard getting off it’s made for users with high tolerance heavy opiate users it zombiefied me I lived in a cloud truly believe it was getting me high daily but I made the move to quit and go to suboxone which is made for light users of opiates not heavy users been clean 5-6 yrs now been on suboxone first pill form and had to take so many was on 20-24 mg could go up to 30 well another reason I switched to suboxone was I was dignified and treated as a normal human bcuz docs will write scripts for u and it’s called “OBOT” stands for OFFICE BASED OPIOD TREATMENT IM IN VA AN I GET SCRIPT DOR 2 weeks at a time no more early 4am 5am getting up waiting in lines. Also in VA I got state Medicaid insurance covered my methadone while I was on it still in clinic an group sessions and covers my now 16mg suboxone script I started out one week had to attend intensive outpatient treatment groups show ur serious an willing to put in work to stay clean u gotta want it I’m on last year of college I’ll graduate with my bachelors degree in criminal justice!! If I can do it anyone can I was o W of every user out there we all came or come from trauma or past traumatic stuff an use or docs over prescribe an depends an addicted that way but suboxone is not intended for heavy users coming off an getting clean use methadone from experience an all classes and studying I’ve done on the methadone n suboxone totally diff Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Josh | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in and out of sub clinics the past few years and it's not bad. I'm prescribed 16mg a day to help keep cravings and sickness at bay. I have had a therapist the past few years and that's helped but I was also in a methadone clinic for 4 years about a decade ago and I can tell this, both will help you stay off opiates but after a while sub it's just like taking tylenol. I'm not after a high but methadone always gave me drive and energy even years after the euphoria left some days I find it hard to get out of bed. Subutex works much but you can't get that unless your pregnant or allergic to some of the ingredients on sub. I'm a heavy opioid user. I know ppl have taken much more than me but a bottle of 120 oxycodone 30mgs would last me about 3 -4 days top. Maybe it's bc methadoan is a full antagonist where in sub is half.Thats not saying I'm all about trying to get high, but sub just doesnt do it for me. I know its about getting well but I have had most success with methadoan prbly is its value $500 for methadone vs sub( insurance) although its roughly $600-800. That's makes think the gold standard is whatever makes the most money. This medicine has saved ppls lives for the better and I'm glad and happy for them but for me methadoan isnthe way to go. They have abuse potential although sub has a ceiling but if I had a choice, which I believe we should(have insurance pay for sub ot methadone) but will prbly never happen. The only reason I'm on sub now is that I don't have enough money to pay an extra $500 a month but I'm working on that. Both if these drugs have saved millions if lives but there is always a danger of overdosing to try and get high. I'm older now and I wish to God that insurance will eventually cover methadone as well.maybe one day or prbly in Colorado lol. Nah but seriously they are progressive using marijuana edibles to treat anxiety instead of benzos. The next thing will be mushroom in micro doses possibly up to a gram.it helps with depression and if used right could also change your life. If you are ready to quit using then I strongly suggest methadone but if you dont have the money and decent insurance you will easily be able to find a sub clinic as they poppin up everywhere. Like I said sub is better than using any other opioids but for me I need something more not euphoric but something that can get me motivated to get up and getting stuff down. I very rarely did other drugs on methadone weed ,which really doesnt count anymore as one imo like maybe 5times the whole 5 yearsni was there with, sub I often find myself whatever you decide to do research it first also sub is supposed the 3rd strongest opiate with methadone being 7 I believe and the withdrawal symptoms are there you just gotta know that is has like a 40hr halflife so fir anywaby day 5 i stat feeling sicl af 5 and it doesn't really improve until the 9thbor 10th daybor so but everyone is different.Also methadone were some of the worst withdrawals I have had (I quit cold turkey at 110mgs for 4 years). I know its hypocritical of me to stay on sub when I want methadone but it s better then hunting for pills all dau and pretty eliminates cravings and the dope sickness. Also good idea to get into therapy when you start as you can work on you and your coping mechanisms Good luck to you all prayers and God Bless!!! Also sorry for the misspelled words and running sentences lol.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WarningOTHERS | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/21/2021
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on suboxone for 5 years now. Yes it has helped me but after taking it for one month I was mentally and physically ready to get off. I had already made all the life style changes that I needed to. My Dr. on the other hand told me that I would be making a huge mistake and I wasn't ready. So I listened to him. Well here I am 5 years later still on it. My Dr. will not help me taper off so I have been doing it myself. I recently found out from my GP that I have severe liver damage caused from Suboxone. Also I have not drank alcohol in over 10 years. This medication works great for short term use, which is what it is supposed to be used for. I literally feel like it's killing me. And I'm about to quit once I'm down to 1mg. I started at 8mg and at 3mg now. Some Dr.'s take advantage of people and keep patients on it for their financial benefit. Be very careful when taking this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
britt23 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2021
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on suboxone for a couple weeks and it has helped me tremendously. I donâ??t really like the strips, but I donâ??t like the graving even more. I was doing 3g of fentanyl for the past 4 years. This medication truly saved my life but I will take the advice of others here and try to get off this stuff soon as possible. Sucks you had to go through withdrawals all over again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dani66 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2021
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just recently started suboxone, Jan.12. for a fentanyl addiction. Suboxone has worked great for the cravings, I really havenâ??t had any. I was doing quite a bit 2 1/2- 3g a day. I really donâ??t like the strips. Taste disgusting and I feel like if I donâ??t keep my tongue completely still it will be all over the place. I will take the advice of others and get off soon as possible. So sad you had to go through withdrawals all over again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PH | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/15/2021
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in the process of tapering off suboxone after being prescribed it for the past 3 years. IT SUCKS. As you may have read elsewhere, the withdrawals from this drug are more substantial and longer lasting than coming off opiates, and I would absolutely attest to that fact. Don’t stay on it as long as me! Not looking forward to the next 6 months of depression. It did help me but I just became addicted to this instead and really, what is the benefit of that??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stupid 53 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/24/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It saved my life in 2006 but I have been on it since and it is also used for my disability chronic back pain but it is so hard to afford it and find a doctor where I live now and I can't get primary doctor or any doctor to help me get off this drug, they do not want to have anything to do with this drug period

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lonnie | 55-64 | Male | Patient
3/6/2015
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the same lever all the time.I feel good !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/20/2015
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I6t changed my life. I could not manage other opiates and benefited greatly from the pain reduction it gave me. While not pain free rarely do I have the incapacitating now that I take it . I often did before. It does make me a bit sleepy and dozy sometimes. not like a "nod" it is all body not eurphoric but it is somewhat a familiar feeling and the drug has relaxed me somewhat as well as eased mood issues as well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
1/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The experience I write about is not my own. I was an observer of someone using this drug. A former roommate had started using it, but not with the intention of getting off any other drug, which was evident as he stumbled around the house. This drug can and is being used by some people to get high. I am NOT saying that this drug cannot help YOU, but only if your intention is to become completely drug free. I was an addict for about 5 years, I have been clean and sober for 10 years. I was never an advocate of using drugs to get off drugs, but I do not live your life. Please be safe and make an informed decision before using any drug to replace another. I found that most reviews on the internet are not addressing the adverse uses of this drug that I witnessed first hand. Again, if it works for you, make it work. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sinfulbynature | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/6/2015
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been an addict for 20 years. I have tried rehab several times and I have experience with just about every method known for coming off of opiates. Suboxone works best for people that are just interested in being able to function normally and have stopped pursuing getting high. If someone is really serious and determined to be clean suboxone can really help if used correctly. But tbh most that I know that are on it only pursue it so they can either trade it or sale it so they can purchase their drug of choice. From what I have seen most doctors that prescribe it are in it for the money and not to help addicts get clean. In my area most doctors charge $100 a week to prescribe it and thats not even including what the pharmacy charges to fill the prescription. Thats just crazy to me because everyone knows that by the time an addict is ready to get help they have no resources cause they have exhausted everything they have when they were actively drug seeking. Every person I know that is on it has to sell half of what the doctor prescribes to people on the street just to be able to pay the doctor's fee and pay the pharmacy for getting them filled. This totally defeats the purpose of what suboxone is suppose to be for cause it keeps the addict in the destructive cycle of addiction and involves illegal activity. But like I said if the patient takes the drug just as directed by a doctor it can be beneficial. But if addicts were able to stick to how drugs were prescribe then they wouldnt be addicts to begin with.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2014
Condition: Symptoms from Stopping Treatment with Opioid Drugs
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug made me very sick feeling. So much that it was hard to function as it made me feel very nauseous and tired. I question why the doctor would prescribe me something this strong for Tramadol withdrawal, when it's clearly too strong. At the most, I took 10 Tramadol a day. I took Suboxone, and at first it was fine as it made the cravings go away, but then it made me very tired. Later on, my heart rate was very fast, and I felt very nauseous. It just made me feel so sick to the point that I stopped taking it and had to go cold turkey from Tramadol. I'd rather go through withdrawal than feel sick from Suboxone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/7/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PLEASE get all the info before starting this dangerous drug. Thank you for taking the time to listen and god bless. If I would've known the difficulty of getting off suboxone I would've never started taking it! The withdrawals from this is a million times worst then any painkiller out there!!! I reccomend this med for SHORT TERM use..to get off the opiate. But don't stay on it...if you can help it. I have been trying to get off of the Suboxone now and it is HELL! Every step down on the medication you are only supposed to have 'Mild' withdrawl's for a couple of days only. That's BS. Mine lasted straight through the month until the next step down. Now I am wondering how the hell I'm going to get off of these things! Do yourself a favor, If you can do it without, DO IT WITHOUT SUBOXONE!! This is only good for the Doc cause you have to keep going back to them. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this med literally saved my life combined with being active in my 12 step program. the one thing that just tore me up was cravings, first dose and no more whatsoever what a relief!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justanaddict | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/17/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Suboxone, or something similar ie. Subutex, Zubsolve, generic Buprenorphine for 8 years. This drug saved my life, I was a heroin addict and when I started treatment my liver function was so bad they thought I was in the late stages of hepatitis. Two months on this drug and it was back to normal. I do not crave opiates, I don't want them or think about them. The only down sides to this drug are the price,and the availability. If your insurance wont cover it, and most wont, it can be as high as 11 dollars a piece for brand name strips or as low as 3 dollars a pill for generic buprenorphine. The availability can be terrible as well, and office visits to physicians who prescribe this are almost never covered by insurance. I am currently driving 3 hours and paying 120 dollars out of pocket for my monthly visit. All that being said, this drug was a miracle for me. It does not change the fact that I am an addict and using this medication is literally changing one addiction for another. I have seen repeatedly where people have said that withdrawls from suboxone are not as bad as with other opiates, this is not the case for me, it is just as bad as heroin, but with this addiction I am able to live my life, and that is whats important. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SMAN Cometh | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/25/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not only does this medication stop all cravings of opiates but it also stops all cravings for alcohol. However, there are side effects. For me they are, constipation, chronic insomnia, weight gain and addiction. You basically trade one drug for the other but this drug has much less negative consequences of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
derry30 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mabolick | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/7/2014
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried many opioids for my cancer related chronic pain and nothing has been as effective as the subs. I greatly preferr the sublingual to the pill, as it was so difficult to get the amount of medication I needed to dissolve under my tongue. The strip is dissolved and in my system within 2 minutes maybe less. I can't say enough good things about this medicine and I'm so grateful not to be chained to my bed as I was with other drugs. It gives you your life back. Last but not least, this drug is not just for narcotic withdrawal!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lmr2424 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/6/2014
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to use and it works. For both chronic pain and addiction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More