Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

I usually have a hard time staying asleep once I go to bed, always tossing and turning and waking up during the night. When I take the valerian root before bed, I fall asleep easier, stay asleep all night, and really feel rested when I wake up in the morning; not groggy like usual.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I felt like I had a bad hangover and it also made my head feel tingly and numb;not a great way to start the day. It also did not help me sleep it just made me groggy all day.All naturall supplements aren't always so all natural.

Shared reviews and ratings

christine | 45-54 | Female | Patient
6/3/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i take one about 30 min brfore going to sleep and it really works well. i have menopause issues and sometimes wake up in the middle of the might and cant go back to sleep, i take another one and really sleep better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginas | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/2/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Could not understand why I have had a headache off and on for 2 weeks. Also, skin itchiness relieved by Benadryl.I think I need to just adjust my dose of Clonazepam which I have been trying to get off of. That works for me great. Under a LOT of stress right now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donis | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/14/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works for me but need more information and it makes me sleep that is the good part

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joeyy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/25/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

relaxes me 1000 mg 1/2 hr before bed does not make sleepy, sleep night through, no drowsiness in am, ok to use during day but prefer L-THEANINE calms me, more attentive 8am 200mg, 3pm 200mg 225 lbs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mazzy1012 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find it works great, but I have had the occasional headache during the day. Has anybody else experienced headaches the next day?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MZTAZLADY | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/10/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I LIKE TO USE IT IT RELAXES MY MIND N BODY I TAKE ONLY WHEN I NEED IT JUST THE SMELL SUCKS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
daddio | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/15/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Val.root pills for years,but,of late,I'm thinking it is affecting my prostrate (pain during urination) CAN this be so ????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sre789 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had started having trouble with insomnia and anxiety at bedtime. I began taking this supplement and have had wonderful, restful sleep. Puts me to sleep within 30-45 minutes and I stay asleep all night. I would recommend it to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this product. I have trouble with being anxious and not sleeping and it helps me stay asleep all night. A must try

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brian | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
1/11/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Valerian Root for about 1 week. It has worked very well for helping me rest at night and for treatment with my overactive bladder. I love this stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phyllis | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/15/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Valerian Root for 15 years for pain releif in my joints and back, headaches and for a restful sleep. I use capsule 500mg so I do not smell the strong fragrance. I take one during the day and 1 to 2 at night before going to bed. Fantastic and wonderful Valerian Root

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jruss1969 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/14/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used valerian for help with sleep and tremors. It has been effective for both. Use it for sleep in combination with melatonin and the two together help me go to sleep and stay asleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lastcaress | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/12/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this supplement because I was tired of using Ativan to sleep and for anxiety. I have found that it works better, non-addictive, no horrible side effects, and I feel great. It does smell horrible, but I would take any day over using an addictive medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/7/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps enormously with getting me to sleep. Not great at keeping me asleep for more than 3-4 hours, though. No drowsiness when I get up, in comparison with other preparations, so it's the only one I take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yorkiemom | 55-64 | Female | Caregiver
6/11/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do shift work .I have had trouble with insomnia most of my adult life. Tried everything out there ,from herbs to benzo's.This herb helps me fall asleep faster ,stay asleep longer and I awake with no side effects at all. No memory loss.Best discovery ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 58 year old male. I have used valerian root for several months. I get up everynight to go to the restroom. I used to be unable to get back to sleep. Since I have been using valerian I'm always able to return to sleep immediately. I have not noticed any side effects. The product does have a peculiar odor but it is tolerable. I would recommend this product to anyone who has sleep difficulties.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have trouble staying asleep. When I take valerian root I sleep all night and wake up around 7 am feeling refreshed. It's great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
just say no | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt like I had a bad hangover and it also made my head feel tingly and numb;not a great way to start the day. It also did not help me sleep it just made me groggy all day.All naturall supplements aren't always so all natural.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/6/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great putting me to sleep, and keeping me that way. Though it does make me a bit groggy in the AM, so be prepared to drink a lot of coffee.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/20/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not helpful at all. It really upset my stomach in a painful way. But, it might work different on others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More