Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

44 People found this comment helpful

I am 62 years old, have been taking sinemet 25/100's for 21 years. I started initially on 3/day, currently take 5/day. Drug has been a life saver. I need a walker to get around every morning until the first dose takes effect. Minor side effects. Careful with diet, and exercise regularly. Take no other PD related drugs.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

For PD, been on low baby dose (1.5 tab 3/day) for 2 years, only affect has been to make me dizzy and nauseous. The more I try to take, the sicker I get. Tried 2 tabs at one time and I had to lay down from the sickness. Felt OK after the sickness passed (about 1.5 hrs) but the sickness was too much to be able to function in the world. Down to taking only 1 tab twice/day. Not very effective for...

Shared reviews and ratings

Kanz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/10/2021
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RayRay | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2021
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’d love to give it an A rating but it is too soon in my treatment. Right now I am on only one dose of 25/100 and feel dizzy with a very stilted gait... like I am afraid to fall. I have an appointment with the doctor coming up in the next week to see what he says...his feeling is that I need to be on a heavier dose. All I want is to feel relatively normal...whatever that is!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sylvia62p4yu | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/13/2019
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

53 year old female diagnosed 3 years ago on sinemet 1-2years now, take 1 50mg and 12.5mg every 2 hours. Get terrible wear off symptoms, mouth ulcers and electric shock feelings. Speech is also a problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimiata90 | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/27/2017
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 87 year old father is currently taking 25/100, 5 times/day (every 3 hrs) and has pretty much stopped having those times when his feet just won't move. Although he is still quite weak, he often doesn't even bother to use his cane now. We have noticed that his success on a daily basis directly corresponds with whether he has eaten at the wrong times. Since this drug doesn't work well if there is food in your stomach, we try to give it to him about 1 hour before and at least 2 hours after his meals - pill 8am/breakfast 9am, pill 11am/lunch 12pm, pill 2pm/applesauce snack 3pm, pill 5pm/dinner 6pm, Final pill at 8pm. As you can see, this schedule can be hard to maintain. My elderly mother sometimes gives it to him right before or after his meal by mistake and the medicine definitely doesn't work well when this happens. Dairy and protein particularly have a negative effect. But when he's on schedule, the medicine works and also seems to help him mentally, and he has had no side effects at all that we have seen. Doctors need to tell patients and caregivers how important it is to watch what food is being eaten while taking this medicine because it can be the difference between success and failure.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
10/26/2016
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mom taking for 6 years. First 4 years were good. Past two years have been awful. She is dizzy alot, depressed, OFF periods are more often and much longer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/5/2016
Condition: Parkinsonism due to Degenerations in the Brain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my husband has been told that he has parkinisam and the have given him sinamet but finds that it dose not work very well has any other male patient had the same affected

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave46 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/20/2015
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have done well with Sinemet. Sure there are side effects, as there are with any drug you take. You have to remember that it is not going to cure you, but it is going to help with your quality of life. I feel my biggest problem is figuring out the cause of the "side effects". Is it the pill, is it the Parkinson's, or is it simply growing older? That's the $64,000 dollar question.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tami1969 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from Restless Leg Syndrome (RLS). Sentimet is a "wonder" drug for me! 10+ years ago my PCP prescribed Sentimet to me and told me this is a very old drug used for the treatment of Parkinson's, not for me? right? well as it turns out this is and has been the perfect drug for RLS. After about 5 yrs of being on 10/100, I needed to increase 25/100 which I am still on today. I take it about 5pm each day and do not need anymore until the next evening. NO pain whatsoever. I can function, enjoy my children and grandchildren, do whatever is needed for my daily routine. A huge thank you to my PCP for knowing and learning about Sentimet! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shereen | Female | Caregiver
3/24/2015
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i want to ask about the comination between sinemet and agnucaston as anatural dopamine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/4/2015
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually exercise and stretch for 30 minutes before I take my morning dosage. That helps. I try to take sinemet every 4 hours. SET YOUR CELL PHONE ALARM WHEN IT'S TIME TO TAKE YOUR SINEMET!!!! I set my cell phone alarm 15 minutes before, on time and 15 minutes after my dosage is due. If I forget to take medicine on time there is a period of adjustment before the next dosage kicks in, usually 30 minutes. Therefore, I try to take my medicine on time. When I take medication on time, I have a great day. Don't over exert yourself. The medication will make you feel invincible. I sometime over exert myself and will pay for it over the course of a few days. Exercise ,exercise, exercise. Then exercise some more. Carpe deum.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandyjean | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/7/2014
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stopped the shaking in my mother. Caused nausea though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UT Bug Doc | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/3/2014
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sinemet has done well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
katwoman | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/30/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this in connection with pramipexole (mirapex) for RLS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ross | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/27/2013
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has reduced my falling and injuries that I suffered early on, before treatment. A broken wrist among other injuries, at first, and falling off an elevated porch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cutty | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2013
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Too much depression and not enough help with symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ginger | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/14/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When agonist drugs stopped working sinemet was prescribed and had immediate positive reaction to drug. Ability to function increased on all levels. Only difficulty is remembering three times a day to take the pills. Diagnosed one 1/2 years ago, had disease 9 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/23/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roswel | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2013
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 1/2 tablet three times a day for very frequent falls,with 'freezing of feet' in doorways and balance issues. My neurologist recommended, an increase to 1 tablet 3 times per day, with a 5 hour space between doses, because there seem to be gaps in the Sinemet coverage. I have to be sure and reorder it before I run too low to prevent not having enough, when I need to take the next dose. No nausea or constipation, or other signs aside from occasional increase in naps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pinebird | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/26/2013
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on 1/2 of 25/100 for two years, and have had no major problems. Lately, I have noticed an increase in tiredness, depression and blurred vision. Have been wondering if I needed to increase the dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/22/2013
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have noticed hairloss

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More