Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

70 People found this comment helpful

I have had terrible painful acne since I was 12 years old. I had tried everything else and nothing worked for more than 2 weeks. I finally tried Accutane for 6 months when I was 24, during the six months that I used it I looked like an angel. I am now 27 and my acne is almost non-existent, I might only get a little pimple once in a while if I fall asleep with my make-up on. Accutane was one of the...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

Please take this with care. I was prescribed this for a year when it was relatively new and was not aware of the major side effects, I now suffer from depression and my personality changed. I felt suicidal during taking this medicine but was not aware this was a side effect I thought it was due to teenage hormones! also as for the monitoring by the doctor I saw him twice in a year.I would advise m...

Shared reviews and ratings

Catterpillar1 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having had zero blemishes, pimples or acne as a teenager, it came as a shock once I stopped taking the OCP in my early 30's. My skin broke out in red spots and pustules continuously, and was extremely oily. After around 10 years of trying both prescription and OTC remedies unsuccessfully, I booked to see a dermatologist. He agreed that isotretinoin was the best option for me and prescribed a low dose of 10mg to review after 6 weeks. The effect was immediate and within 48 hours my skin had dried out and pimples were healing already. I did not have any skin purging that some people experience, but continued to have massive improvement and after 2 weeks my skin was clear and smooth. Although I did have dried lips it was easily remedied with lip balm and Vaseline. At my 6 week review, the dermatologist was surprised to see the results especially after such a low dose. I continued with successful treatment for a further 6 months, but noticed that my eyes were starting to suffer. At night it felt like they were so dry that they didn't want to close properly and then it started to affect my vision, which is a side effect of the drug. Both myself and the dermatologist agreed that the side effects on my eyes and sight outweighed the benefits of treatment, and so I stopped taking isotretinoin. Unfortunately, my skin returned to its former self within 3 weeks of stopping the medication. However, I am writing this review 15 months later and now my skin is completely clear after using niacinamide and azelaic acid daily, which are both natural products. My eye sight has suffered from taking isotretinoin, especially night vision, and for this reason, I would not recommend taking this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lex | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

epuris changed my life. I took it for 8 month after I was cleared for not having fungal or bacterial acne, which meant I had the worst and most painful cystic acne. after the first 2 months my skin was so much more clear. this initial purging period was scary and painful but it was all worth it in the end. I am now 1 month off the medication and my skin is still pretty clear. this had very minimal effects on my mental health if none at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sammy | 35-44 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/28/2021
Condition: Hidradenitis Suppurativa
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started taking a 20mg and a 10mg I have a couple of side effects my lips are so dry and cracked they are really sore , also I'm getting up quite a lot to urinate in the night. And my eyes feel cloudy. I really want to take them as I keep getting so many lumps on my face I cannot wait to have clear skin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Johan | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/26/2021
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this treatment after seeing a dermatologist when I was 16 years old. Had controls with him every 3 months and he explained all the possible side effects as well as how to treat my skin while I was on the medication. I experienced nosebleeding and extremely dry skin, however, I knew this was "normal" thanks to my doctor. As a whole, it took me 9 months to take the medication to get rid of my acne. And now 7 years later I've never had issues with it again. I would say the period you're on treatment is very uncomfortable, but overall I'm really happy with the results. Acne was something that made me uncomfortable and I'm much happier with myself.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2021
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 15 years of struggle I found this miracle drug. I had acne, nodular and pustules both on my jawline and back and it was slowly spreading over my shoulders , hands and legs. I started consuming dosage of 20 MG per day for six months. Today after completing eight months I am writing this review . I am completely healed and no new breakouts have been noticed so far . The scars have faded too. I believe one should start with a lesser dosage to avoid all the side effects as it tends to dry out the lips and skin. I will definitely recommend it to all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/7/2021
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used it in my early 20’s. I developed severe acne at age 21. Tried all other creams and pills. This worked so well. Side effects of dry lips and nose. My hair was super oily and I could easily push my hair wash to 2-3 days. Very happy with the end result. Acne went away and didn’t return.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kumar | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/7/2020
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took at the age of 16 for acne. Caused immediate erectile dysfunction for life. Bone ache, mood swings, brain state permanently depressed. Still after 12 years. It did fix acne with a heavy price. I rather have acne than side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pooja Ghute | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/18/2020
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Rosacea
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe side effects like dry lips, nose bleeding, stomach pain, bone pain,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
D Klim | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/20/2020
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Currently in my 6th month of taking it. Only really got really dry skin on my lips and back of hands. Probably the worst side effect of this drug for me was the fatigue. I haven't felt very mentally energized in 6 months. As for results, I had quite a bad purge period (which happen for most) and am now recovering from the scarring. Hopefully my skin will continue to improve after treatment (which is what im told).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PagnakitaNaKita | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/5/2019
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Rosacea
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started medication with a dose of 30mg daily. I am 24. Acne just started on my 20s when I started working and has not stopped since. On the 1st to 2nd week of intaking the drug, my face darkened and started drying as well as my lips. On my 3rd to 4th week, breakouts starts to build up. Face all red and experience back pain, depression, anxiety due to face turning into a strawberry but not the cute one. Will visit the doctor again this sat. Hoping for greater results in the coming days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/25/2019
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was a teenager about 18 years ago, I was prescribed Accutane in the 40mg capsules for 6 months, but could not bring myself to continue after 5. It was moderately effective at reducing my acne, but coincided with several exceptionally large cysts that formed late in treatment and left permanent scars. It also produced the standard chapping in the corners of my lips, a continuous feeling of malaise that worsened over time until I finally went off the drug, and severe digestive issues that are still with me today. I would have stopped much sooner if I had realized some of the side effects would be permanent, and I would trade back my gains against acne in a heartbeat in order to undo those side effects now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jspring89 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2019
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel the rating system for this drug was difficult to complete because although the drug was extremely effective treating my acne, I feel extremely unsatisfied with the effects this drug has done to the rest of my health and am afraid is the result of the difficulties I am dealing with today. My mom worked for a dermatologist and suggested this drug for me when I was 12 or 13 to help treat the acne on my back I was suffering from. Shortly after taking it I started developing psoriasis on my elbows and back of knees pretty bad. I never had it before but after stopping the drug even though it subsided I now continue to get it on my scalp. I also experienced extreme joint pain in which now continued and is diagnosed osteoarthritis when I wad 27. When I was 24 I developed a dvt blood clot and now fear I may have lupus, psoriatic arthritis or some other autoimmune disease because my symptoms are getting far more serious. I was young when I used Accutane(the old name for the same drug) and although my acne cleared and haven't developed anything other than an occasional pimple since I don't feel someone my age should be experiencing the health issues I've had and have now. I truly believe taking this drug kick started the issues I am now facing. It was always stressed to me how dangerous this drug could be during my treatment but I dont believe the lasting effects of this drug were/are really know to the fullest extent and could be the culprit to many more and far greater health consequences.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
biki | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2019
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking it from last 10 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gracy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2017
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sara | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2017
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked very well for my severe cystic acne. If you start taking the drug as a female, you have to be using 2 forms of birth control, and are closely monitored by your dermatologist every month while taking it. There are severe side effects, as with any medication. Honestly, if you have minor to moderate acne this product probably isn't the best option for you. However, I had tried countless OTC options, and several prescription options including doxycycline. The medicine comes in a pill and you take it twice daily with a full glass of water. While on it, your face and lips will be so dry! Make sure you use a good moisturizer but also drink TONS of water.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
l30nV | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2017
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 27 and have been taking this drug for about 2.5 months now. So far so good, no noticeable side effects besides having a super dry face and lips. I'd recommend getting the Cetaphil face moisturizer and please please please get Dr. Dan's CortiBalm. This chapstick is the only thing that will get you through this program with your lips in tact.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
concerned father | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/22/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ISOTRETINION HAS DANGEROUS AND DAMAGING SIDE EFFECTS!!! Isotretinion is a powerful and dangerous drug! It stunted my 16 year-old son's growth forever. He had moderate acne at age 13 and I made the mistake of letting him go on it as his older four siblings had. But they began at 16-17, not 13. It turns out that 3% of users have "premature closure of growth plates", i.e., STUNTED GROWTH! It's on the side effects list. Our dermatologist said this side effect is rare. It's not so rare as it turns out. 3% is risky. He only took it 3-4 months before we could see the effects of NO GROWTH. My son will be the height, weight and stature he was at 13 for the rest of his life. Look at all the side effects and risks before starting this drug!! If your dermatologist will not admit the 3% risk of stunted growth, they are lying to you. It is in the literature. Our dermatologist readily admitted this after the fact and after diagnosis by an endocrinologist, in order to avoid a lawsuit. Our pediatrician claimed she'd never heard of the side effect before, indicating to me that she was either lying to protect herself or woefully ignorant. ISOTRETINION HAS DANGEROUS AND DAMAGING SIDE EFFECTS!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pra | 19-24 | Female | Patient
7/18/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

which lip care im useing for Dry lips

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K.L | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/26/2016
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really suppress the acne. Since I took it, acne was never my problem again. Proud of my skin now! Free of ance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dan | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2016
Condition: Severe Difficult to Treat Nodular Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im taking this for about 4 mons now. Im happy cuz i saw a lot of improvements regarding with my acne problems. The only problem or side effect i encounter now is having chapped lips tho my doctor warn me and orient me with this. he he . So far this medicine is fast and very helpful. im satisfied user!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More