Show ratings & reviews for

2.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

the pills are too large and bitter

Shared reviews and ratings

Joycetta Hayes | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been taking hydralazine 50 mg for about three days, and today I decided to stop taking it because of the sever pounding of my heart, pain all through my body, headaches, lack of strength, lost of appetite, and weaknesses. I am out of work until Monday and one thing I know is there is no way I could work with all that going on in my body, today I was able to sit up without feeling so weak and go to the bathroom and back to my room without feeling like I was going to pass out all because I did not take any of the hydralazine today and I felt a big relief.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peanut | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It probably does reduce my blood pressure but i completely loss any energy i have. I can tell to the second when it takes effect. I messed with it for a week, almost lost my job, and fractured my elbow. Dreadful stuff, but yeah my blood pressure sure went down.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FEDup | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Heart palps,very rapid pulse after having taken this drug for one day.It is 50 mg.Doctor prescribed it for me for 3x daily plus one more if I felt I needed it.Pain in chest,dizziness, intense headache that last a full day after stopping taking it. I will never,never take this drug again. Thought I was having a stroke or heart attack.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tj | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/13/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

medicine caused headaches,heart pounding,loss of appetite ,nausea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KTCOMBA | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took Hydrazaline for only one day 50 mg 4 times a day. I was on Clonadine a week prior to the office visit and my Doctor took me off and gave me the Hydrazaline. After one day on this medicine my heart was pounding and beating irregular, I had pain going up my arm to my jaw and the nausea was overbearing. While in the hospital, I was offered a 10mg dose of Hydrazaline thinking that maybe this would work, but I had the same effect of the medicine as if I had took the 50mg. I ended up staying in the hospital for 6 days, almost lost my kidneys from all the trauma that was done to my internal body from this medicine. This medicine should not be on the market. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jack | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/13/2013
Condition: Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caution | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started hydralazine 50mg twice a day on 3/29/12. I already take lisinopril 40mg once a day and HCTZ 12.5 once a day. I was taking Amlodipine Bysalate 5mg but the doctor took me off that when I started the hydralazine. Within 3 days my heart was pounding so fast I couldn't lie down and had to sit up all night. I took my blood pressure and it was up to 195/77 pulse 91, the highest it's ever been. I ended up in the emergency room for two nights. My blood pressure shot up to 225. They had to give me all kinds of heart tests and finally changed me from Hydralazine to Metoprolol Tratrate 50mg twice a day which brought my blood pressure down to 120. I would not recommend Hydralazine to anyone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amojjo | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm currently taking several blood pressure medications among them Apresoline. I started this medication about 2 weeks ago. 50 mg. 3xdaily. I could not tolerate it due to pounding heart and discomfort. My doctor reduced the dosage to 1/2-50mg. 3x a day. I continue to have heart pounding. It is effective in reducing my b.p. quickly. I am going to have heart sugery for a valve replacement. This Apresoline concerns me. I'm also taking Norvasc, Tenormin, Lasix, Tekturna, Klor-con. I don't believe the Apreoline is worth the suffering it causes.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Terry | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/30/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given Hydralazine for high blood pressure and within a year, I experienced joint and muscle pain, out of control high blood pressure and systemic lupus erthymatosis. I asked my doctor if the medication was causing all of my symptoms and he said "no, it was a good medicine". I suffered for 7 years with lupus until I finally found another doctor who did the ANA blood test and found out about the lupus. It took almost 9 months to get a negative ANA test for the lupus but I still have lingering pain from the lupus years later. This medication should be taken off the market immediately. The doctor didn't listen to me when I said I was hurting all over. He indicated I "need attention". He's no longer my doctor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
virginia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/18/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the pills are too large and bitter

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/19/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/6/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My sister had a very bad reaction to this medication. It caused a medication induced lupus condition which put her in the hospital for 2 weeks and in intensive care for one week. The doctors concurred that it was the medication that had an adverse reaction to her. She may have been the one person to have this reaction but I would not take the drug after seeing what she's gone through.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More