Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

65 People found this comment helpful

When I get the feeling a panick attack is about to happen, I stick one ;ill under my tounge and within minutes I feel completely calm and no longer anxious. I also use the medication if I drank too much wine the night before (too much sugar), I take one pill and the anxiety is gone. Ativan is though very habit forming and addictive. I have been taking it for over a year and feel as thought I ca...

Most voted negative review

19 People found this comment helpful

My husband was 38 years old and committed suicide from taking Ativan. It was taken in combination with Welbutrin for depression. Do not take these two together..the ativan made him have body tremors, nervousness, and horrible suicidal thoughts. Do not take Ativan and you become addicted within one month. He was taking it for three months and couldn't handle life anymore.

Shared reviews and ratings

Mochagirl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does nothing for panic attacks. It doesn’t kick in for a long time. When it does it makes me nauseous and sick. It cannot compare to Valium or even the other sister drug of valium. I will never take it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anti Ativan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking between 1 MG and .5 MG of Ativan at night for chronic insomnia and stress related anxiety for 8 + years. Has not helped me and now tough to get off. Currently cognitive problems, anxiety and depression have totally affected my life. I would not recommend this med, especially long term (once u start, tough to quit). Eat healthy, exercise and practice mindfulness and meditation and have a healthy work/life balance (wish I has taught this stuff earlier in life, before life problems caught up to me). . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlie | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I TESTED IT ON ME WITH THE CBD TO HELP ME FALL ASLEEP MY EFFECTS WERE NONE JUST HEAVY SLEEPY EYS WHEN I WOKE UP HAVE TROUBLE GETTING UP IN THE MORNING

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LB | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken Ativan for a couple months now. I'm on 0.5mg twice a day and they saved my life. It's like a huge weight is lifted off my chest and I can feel normal for once. I like Ativan because they don't have noticeable side effects and I don't feel like a zombie during the day when I take them. I personally dont like the way Zanax makes me feel but these I can work and function on. I wanted to find a medicine without all of the crazy side effects and I found it in Ativan. If it does make you sleepy to me it's not as bad as being tired from not sleeping from aniexty. At this point what in life isn't addicting and if it helps you then call it whatever uou want. Lol People who truly need it..it works. ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/27/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

great......

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
10/27/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I so like this meds, I will recommend it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/21/2021
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication save my life. I will definitely recommend this. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nikkiashley101 | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/6/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only take one as need maybe once a week tops, on my high anxiety or high stress days, it makes me feel normal, stops my mind from racing. Iâ??ve tried so many things, and nothing has helped like this. Although, after the pill has worn off mid day I do feel so tired and drained, but that makes it easier to sleep through the night, which I usually struggle due to insomnia. I feel it makes me a more emotionally stable person when I take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ripster | 55-64 | Male | Patient
8/30/2020
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have a high leavel of axienty 1 take 1 .05mg and a hour latter i feel normale again. the side effect that has hapened to me is beeing realy tired after it wares off

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/10/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take one tablet .5 Ativan one to two hours before bedtime. Sometimes I wake up to go to the bathroom and go right back to sleep. I wake up after 7 or 8 hours and feel rested. I am 84 years old and am not concerned about possible addiction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anya | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/6/2020
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder, Adjunct Treatment
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 1mg when i show warning signs of a panic attack, it calms me down enough to deal with it. I take 1mg before bed if I'm having insomnia, it gives me a few good hours sleep. I don't feel sluggish or 'hungover' the next day, my body feels like it actually slept. I haven't experienced any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LA | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2020
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 2mg Ativan 3 times a day. I was getting this drug to help me with panic attacks and anxiety. I didnâ??t get any directions, warnings or contradictions. I just didnâ??t even think of asking, he was the educated psychiatrist so I trusted him. Well my anxiety was through the roof and the Ativan was not working so I would take an extra one..then another and it still wasnâ??t working, I had built up a tolerance for them. It was the weekend so I said I was going to call him on Monday. When I got a hold of him, told him how much I was taking and he said that I needed to go to detox ASAP that if I didnâ??t I would have seizures. He was right, I almost died in that detox facility. I never ever have been in such physical pain and so sick. It was benzos, it might feel good at first but long term use even a month on 0.5 mg you will pay the price. Had I been told this before I would have never ever taken it. Be careful!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Old red | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/27/2019
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love this pill. Has helped me for many years off and on. Use it for calming brain down so I can sleep, or when Iâ??m nervous about something. Donâ??t use very often because very hard to get from Dr. so I have to limit my usage. But if it was up to me and easier to get Iâ??d take 1 pill every day. Sure takes the edge off .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/10/2019
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped immensely with Stress Anxiety Waking Insomnia and Tinnitus which I did not know it could mask the whining noise in my ears which caused me major anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/6/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a very bad withdrawal experience. It was horrible. Took me 1 year

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rydapt_User | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this as it can help with the effectiveness of my Chemo. I can believe this drug is on the market! I was mean, aggressive and suicidal when using it. I took it for three months and can believe the difference I feel not being on it again. I was not the same person! It was awful, PLEASE don’t start this or other benzodiazepines. If you weren’t suicidal before taking this drug, you will be after!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christine | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have found Ativan to be my savior, my husband went into a nursing home and l became so anxious about it all, l was a mess but now everything seems easier to bear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
russellmeans | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/5/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this drug for a good 20 years. I had big problem with inner ear and vertigo. This was the only drug that helped me. You see with vertigo it can also cause to become very anxious.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ativan is a living, breathing nightmare from the depths of hell to withdraw from. I took .5 mg for 3 months for insomnia and two weeks later after stopping it, I am still having trouble standing in the shower and walking. Insomnia is back big-time and the headaches are beyond brutal. I have already had unnecessary medical tests because of the side effects it caused while still taking it. I am sorry I just didn't put 2 and 2 together earlier on. Still so afraid because I know I'm no where out of the woods yet from what I've read and from what I am experiencing. I know I should taper; but I am petrified to have any more of this poison in me. FDA says it can be harder to kick than heroin-why is it still so available? Do something besides printing leaflets FDA!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/8/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was 38 years old and committed suicide from taking Ativan. It was taken in combination with Welbutrin for depression. Do not take these two together..the ativan made him have body tremors, nervousness, and horrible suicidal thoughts. Do not take Ativan and you become addicted within one month. He was taking it for three months and couldn't handle life anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More