Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

Being able to get out of ed in the morning, o some house work and go to work is amazing. 6 years after I started showing symptoms I was finally diagnosed. I did gain 80 pounds in 4 months but I am slowly getting it down and finally have found out HOW IMPORTANT IT IS TO DRINK 2-4LITERS OF WATER A DAY!!!! No one told me about how this drug puts your body on high alert and creates sugars to burn i...

Shared reviews and ratings

Chipper | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/10/2021
Condition: Increase in Cell Growth of Adrenal Gland Present at Birth
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hippo pituitary 1980. On cortef

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/18/2015
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the 50's I was diagnosed with last stage of addisons disease I was 90lbs now I am 190lbs. I am on 10mg Cortef in morning and 10mg afternoon. I've had about 5 addisonion crisis but on the whole have lived a fairly normal life I am 81

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rose | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/24/2014
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel so much better on Cortef than I did on the generic form of this drug. I did gain a little weight but was able to get control of it. I have so much more energy and feel so much better..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/14/2014
Condition: Decreased Function of the Adrenal Gland
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Cortef regularly since I was 11. As soon as my levels were regulated it was a night and day difference. I am alive because of careful monitoring and knowledgable endocrinologists and doctors. I have congenital adrenal hyperplasia. I have struggled with weight my entire life but I also can lose weight when I properly take care of myself. I'm not sure of other side effects because I have been on it for so long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/9/2014
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gained 40 lbs in almost 2 yrs while making myself endure 1 hr of exercise a day and those of us know how hard that is with the fatigue!! I have changed my diet significantly to probably around 75% fresh fruits and vegetables and drinkin 4-5 16oz bottles of water daily, and only eat low fat/lean sources of protein (including beans & legumes)There just seems to be no way around the weightgain! I also feel constant heaviness in my legs to the point I have trouble getting uninterrupted sleep & the jitters.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skschnell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/16/2014
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Being able to get out of ed in the morning, o some house work and go to work is amazing. 6 years after I started showing symptoms I was finally diagnosed. I did gain 80 pounds in 4 months but I am slowly getting it down and finally have found out HOW IMPORTANT IT IS TO DRINK 2-4LITERS OF WATER A DAY!!!! No one told me about how this drug puts your body on high alert and creates sugars to burn in high anxiety moments (accedents etc) but if you don't burn the sugars then they are stored as FAT .. once I learned this I increased my fluid intake .. cut out juice and anything with a glucose index over 60 and pounds are flying off .. I topped out at 268lbs .. very depressing .. but I am now down to 215 and I can see the old me coming back. As for the side effects .. jitteriness and sleeplessness I found that as I took Cortef that slowly my body adapted and that lessened. My hope is to anyone who has to take this is to keep your spirits up .. our outer layer does not define us! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/14/2013
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

overall good results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/17/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/27/2012
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2012
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/3/2011
Condition: Condition caused by Excess Secretion of Male Hormones
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have CAH and have been taking a form of this medications since childhood.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
naught pituitary | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/24/2011
Condition: Underdevelopment of the Pituitary Gland Since Birth
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cortef was prescribed at the dose of 10mg twice a day to replace loss of pituitary gland production of certain hormones due to a macro-adenoma (incidentaloma) having reduced its functioning resulting in low blood sugar, low blood pressure, syncopes, tiredness, etc. over the last two years. The medicine had an immediate effect on my general bodily tonus and sense of well being, however, it soon showed undesirable side effects such as increased frequency of urination, difficulty with sleeping because of general wakefulness and interruptions for urination. Lately, I have become aware of increase in appetite and consequent rapid and considerable weight gain (going from 180 to almost 190 lbs in about three weeks) Am waiting to consult with family doctor and with endocrinologist who prescribed the medicine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jasjds | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2011
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

just started this drug yesterday and today blood sugar was 80 points higher than yesterday

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoJo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/20/2011
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication saved my life nine years ago. I also have graves disease and pernicious anemia. Cortef and florinef will cause great water retention.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/6/2011
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skittles | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/27/2011
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

now i'm having cataract surgery on both eyes,because of taking this drug.I've been going theough severe thyroid problems(graves disease)Through all that the symtoms from addisons is even worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sue | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2010
Condition: Diagnostic Test For Cushing's Syndrome
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes my stomach upset

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sassygirl378 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/30/2010
Condition: Addison's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

gained 20 pounds in less then 2 months!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carolalan1973 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
8/31/2010
Condition: Fluid Accumulation in the Brain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works well... but struggle to lose weigh

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Missy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im not sure what RPC falls under, but ive been on this treatment for 5 months and the biggest side effect Ive had has been the Opposite of the one most people list, instead of constant insatiable hunger I have to force myself to eat.I forget to eat and my stomic will only growl if its been more than 24 hours since my last meal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More