Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

The horrible side effects from this medication were not fully described to me by the prescribing physician. I was made sterile by this drug and put into early menopause. It DID NOT have any effect on my pulmonary fibrosis. It was prescribed so that it would slow the progression and it didn't work. It made me tired. I lost my hair. And I caught every germ that came along even using precautions. I ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2019
Condition: Nephrotic Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am new to this medication. Literally been talking for 2 days for Nephrotic Syndrome (the only treatment there is for me). I take 75mg daily but alternate months with another medication. I have had severe weakness, tiredness, full body aches, upset stomach, vomiting, bone pain. I read up on all the side effects before I started taking the medication, sadly I didn't think it was hit so quickly. My body isn't used to taking such strong medications. Hopefully the symptoms slow down, and I can actually function during the day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linzo | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/12/2018
Condition: Multiple Myeloma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this drug a week ago. Cant stay awake now. Arms and hands have lost control. Was admitted for high calcium and confusion. Still weak all over and confused.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Goodpasture's Syndrome in 2011 and took this drug for 4-5 months orally every day. It made me violently ill and I lost my hair, but it killed the antibodies attacking my kidneys and lungs. My hair came back almost the same. I took 5x 25mg tablets every morning, but because it made me so sick, there were some mornings that I ended up throwing it up, so I'm sure I technically missed some doses. Regardless, this drug did its job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/23/2014
Condition: Nephrotic Syndrome
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/26/2014
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No problems. Have used approximately one year and believe it has improved my symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/26/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After four weeks in the hospital, I was prescribed Cytoxan for treatment of Cryptogenic Organizing Pneumonia. The usual treatment, Prednisone, did not work for me. I don't like the potential side-effects, but in my case it was literally a matter of life or death. The Cytoxan worked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlie | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/24/2013
Condition: Small Cell Cancer of the Lung
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I expected the side effects to be close to what my late wife had with all her chemo treatments for breast cancer. I was given an anti-nausea medication to take with Cytoxan. My expectations were definitely wrong on the drug side effects. I only had flu like symptoms the whole time I took the treatment and my nausea wasn’t very bad. I could still work but did light duty. I didn’t lose my hair, but it did get much finer. The most importantly thing is that I have no signs of cancer in me now!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spark | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I never got sick while using this drug, although I expected to. It was easy!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Caregiver
7/29/2011
Condition: Cancer of the Cervix
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lupus90 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2010
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/22/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glam | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/14/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father had Kidney disease ( his immune system was attacking his kidneys). It did wonders for this condition but it destroyed his lungs. They do not tell you that it can cause holes in your lungs, blood clots in the lungs but it can and does!!! My father passed away Sept 2 2010 and I blame this drug!! Even the Doctor (not prescribing doctor) said that it did a number on my daddy!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blessed to be alive | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Inflammatory Breast Cancer in May, 2010. Had 4 chemo treatments in 8 weeks of Adriamyacin/Cytoxin. Then bilateral mastectomy. Now on Taxol/Herceptin. The first chemo drugs were very hard to handle but they were effective in shrinking my tumors. I had severe nausea, fatigue, memory loss, chemo brain and I am sure more side effects but can't remember. It was the hardest thig I've gone through but knowing I get a new lease on life makes it worth it. Remember, not everyone reacts the same way to these toxins that are put into our bodies. You have to choose if it is worth it to you. May God bless and keep you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nana752003 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/8/2010
Condition: Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this for a year now, sense aug. 2009 and have had great results. Lymphnodes are normal size and no side effects other than minor hair loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
livingproof | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/30/2010
Condition: Scleroderma Lung Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have read all the reviews on this drug and I will tell you that I have been sick with Scleroderma for over 10 years. When I was first put on this medication I was only given up to 3 years to live. Well I was with this drug able to stablize my lung progression and get off of the medication. I am now however back on at a lower dose. I didnt care that I became sterile, changed by hair etc.. all I cared about was living for my son. Well I am proof that this drug does work. All of you that complained about the side effects well what would you rather have being alive or loosing your hair. I choose life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
survivor86 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Cytoxan for about 3 months now, and it was successful in shrinking my tumor in order to remove it and start radiation. The nausea and tiredness has been pretty bad but its a small price to pay for the wonders this drug has done for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nancymc0529 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Vasculitis PAN Nodosa in Oct. 2009 & have been taking Cytoxan since. Dose was just increased to 100 mg. & eventually will be increased to 150 mg. I'm just starting to lose my hair. Am concerned about side effects. Was told I could eventually try Imuran but it's side effects are no better. Since my condition is rare, it's trial & error on treatment & medications.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mp52orter | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2010
Condition: Scleroderma Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hated the experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dragon-wing | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Triple Negative Breast Cancer October 2008. I had six chemo treatments -- Cytoxin and Taxotere. It seems to have worked. At this point I am cancer free. I did lose my hair, but it has grown back in just as full, and I have curls now, too, which I didn't have before. My nails aren't as strong as they used to be. They seem to peel easily now, but I'm alive so I'm counting my blessings!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gail | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/10/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Pulmonary Fibrosis and take 50mg of cytoxan. This drug has allowed me to reduce the prednisone dose to 10mg. I have used imuran and cellcept, but not as effective as cytoxan. My lung function has been stable for 10 years. (only 30% lung capcaticy)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More