Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with Pseudotumor Cererbi in Nov 2009. I went to the eye DR for a flashing in my left eye and went from there. My eye test at that time was great 20/20 so no vision issues at that time. I went to see the neuro opthamologist and he did few test including a field vision test and my vision was fine but the fluid was bad in the left eye(flashing eye) and moderate in the right. In D...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

MY 14YO DAUGHTER HAD BEEN HAVING HA X 4MONTHS DR. SAID HA RELATED TO HER CYCLE SHE BECAME CROSS EYED AND I TOOK HER TO OPTH.AND SHE WAS HOSPITALIZED WITH PSEUDOTUMOR CEREBRI NEURO DIDN'T HAVE A GOOD ANSWER SHE WAS ON DIAMOX TABLETS NOT EFFECTIVE AT ALL IM DOING MY RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT SHE WOULD DO BETTER ON THE CAPSULES WHICH IS VERY EXPENSIVE SHE IS DOING BETTER BUT STILL HAVING BLURRED VISION ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Spmgansa | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/9/2020
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So the meds took the headache away. I am having the pins and needles feeling everywhere. My fingers lips and neck sometimes go numb. Recently I have been missing my does sometimes, and it make me break out in hives and it feels as if Iâ??m getting bit by little ants all over my body. Web MD says itâ??s a rear allergic reaction. Soda seems as if it flat, and the carbonation kicks in times 1000 a few seconds later. Food tastes bland but still some what good. Doc says with good exercise and weight loss it should go away. Iâ??m 170 5â?5. My husband and his adopted mother have the same thing. Iâ??m looking into figuring out if it is environmentally triggered. Three none blood related adults have the same thing. Concerning at it all time high. Keeping you posted Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MSinPsychology | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2019
Condition: Increased Eye Pressure caused by Another Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While this drug is effective, the side effects are not worth it if you are a mom with young children like myself. I was on two 500 mg pills a day due to my rising eye pressure from uveitis. My pressure was 35 and 40 and should be lower than 21. I took the drug as prescribed for 4 days. My ophthalmologist then decreased it to one 500 mg a day for 10 days and then 250 mg for now. I feel horrible. I am always fatigued and it interferes with my daily activities. I nap about 3 times a day. I need off this medicine now. I cannot function.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SEV | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2018
Condition: Altitude Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took for 1 day prior to altitude over 12,000 feet, then 3 days at altitude. On last day, hands had tingling feeling. Overall, removed the headache and nausea associated with previous trips to high altitude. Tingling feeling dissipated within 1 day of finishing drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skier | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2018
Condition: Altitude Sickness
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication because I regularly suffered from altitude migraine headaches. It has virtually eliminated these headaches. I have found that feeling sleepy and lightheaded can occur when starting up taking med at sealevel 48 hours before going to the altitude (as directed) Taking an adult electrolyte mix, available over the counter, has helped mitigate these side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/24/2017
Condition: Altitude Sickness
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on Diamox 250 for past 2 months. I was in hospital for a week with vertigo sysmtoms. all test incl MRI are clear. I am on serc

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miriel | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2017
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been taking 500mg twice a day i was diagnosed with Pseudotumor cereri 1/3/17 i went from 20/20 to nearly legally blind my eye specialist Dr. Baalhaness recommended me to take this medication 4 times a day i couldn't tolerate it at first so we went down to twice a day i went in for my eye check yesterday and am improving very fast my edema in the eyes are gone i do have with this medication tingling in the hands and feet, loss of appetite and change in bowel movement i stopped taking anything carbohydrate as it tastes like burning nails but other then that its has helped me Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TanyaRay | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/6/2016
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the Diamox sequels for over 20 years. They are time released so the side effects are not near as bad as the regular pill. If you have problems with side effects, ask for the sequel version. It is SOOO much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/6/2016
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects of Diamox are rough, tingling in the hands, feet and lips, the "sucking on battery" taste when drinking anything carbonated, the overall tired feeling and constant drained feeling, but I will continue to thank the manufacture for making this drug that is keeping the pressure in my head down and allowing me to continue to see.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2016
Condition: Increased Eye Pressure caused by Another Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Surgeon gave me this for 10days following a vitrectomy due to retina detachment about a week ago at UR-Flaum Eye Inst. to reduce eye pressure in the eye. cannot take steroid eye drops due to allergies. Rough on my stomach but I took it with a probiotic 7 small glass of milk at night. They wee capsules 500mg. B.I.D......It worked

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Goodgirl13 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2016
Condition: Increased Eye Pressure caused by Another Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with IIH in November 2015 and currently take 1000mg of Diamox total perday. The medication has been effective in reducing the edema and hemorrhage found behind my right eye, which is now only a trace. I feel extremely lucky. The side effects are tough, leg weakness, very dry mouth and the initial tingling of my hands, face and feet has pretty much subsided. For the most part I'm functioning well with some forgetfulness and small changes in vision but no headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lyn | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/15/2016
Condition: Altitude Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for altitude sickness for several years when skiing as I live at sea level - I take the meds 48 hrs prior to ascent (250 mg twice daily, I acclimate at around 5000-6000 ft for about 24 hours before heading to higher altitudes, I drink lots of water and I do just fine once I'm at altitude. I do get a little buzz in my head but it's fleeting and I'd rather have that than be sick for 24 hours. It's been a lifesaver for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Winch | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/12/2016
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug now for 48hrs and have felt drunk the whole time. I'm on 1x 250 twice a day which in 12 days time is going to be doubled. I'm confused, disorientated and dizzy. I have tingling in my hands, cheeks, back and down the backs of my arms and fizzy drinks taste horrible. In fact all food tastes weird and and I don't feel like eating much. there is no way I could even think about getting behind the wheel of a car and I'm nervous about taking care of my small children. Although my life was at risk every day before I started taking them I feel so much worse now. I would be interested to hear if patients bodies get used to this drug or whether I'll feel like this for the long haul.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Newbie998 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/15/2015
Condition: Altitude Sickness
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed severe blurred vision after 2 days of taking diamox. Onset was gradual, and took a further 2 days for my vision to return to normal. Quite a frightening experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WazUp247 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/7/2015
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been diagnosed with IIH. I've been on this medication for over a month now and I absolutely HATE it! I've been begging my doctor to let me stop taking it. I have tingling in my feel, hands, back, and lips. I drink a lot of water and still the dry mouth is bad. I have massive migraines that last days, and I live with a headache 24/7. I'm tired and moody all the time. My tastes buds are shot, nothing tastes good. I have little to no hunger and when I try to see it just makes me nauseous. I have chills hot one minutes, freezing cold the next. I started taking it because of my blurred vision and I see no change! I try to stand or walk and I get dizzy and light headed. I also have ringing in my ears are random times. Surgery would be better than this! This isn't living!!! I can't even live my house without my husband, I'm scared I'll get dizzy or my vision will get blurred while driving or walking around the block. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2015
Condition: Increased Eye Pressure caused by Another Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had sclera buckle surgery for a detached retina. Only had to use for 5days. Looking over these reviews here helped explain a few things. Soda, was craving soda I normally do not drink and all tasted flat. Almost painful tingling in the heals of my feet. Was also very tired and horrible scary nightmares.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JessicaC. | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2014
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had pseudotumor Cerebri 3 years ago and then went on diamox for a year and everything was fine 9 months later it came back i am now back on the medication and I'm having worse side effects then before.i only take 250 mg at night and 125 in the morning because the side effects are so bad, i had the increase in urine the tinge in m hands feet and face, headaches after taking the medication and I'm always tried, and metal taste when drinking carbonated drinks, the last time i was on it it make me anemic. now when i take the 250 at night after going to sleep i wake up in the middle of the night and feel like i have no control over my arms and legs its very scary. I've tried to switch the different medications but this ones the best, and I've done the lumbar punctures and the most recent one i had landed me in the hospital for 2 days. I also don't fit the criteria for this issue, I'm 5'1 and 120 pounds and healthy so my doctors are now sending me to john Hopkins hospital in baltimore Maryland to see a specialist, hopefully i come home with answers.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kerryo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/23/2014
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This condition is no longer referred to by the sad name of Psueudotumor please change to the correct medical term....IDOPATHIC INTRACRANIAL HYPERTENSION... thanks. It has been absolutely horrible. I have been on this drug for over ten years. I got IIH from Lupus and I do not believe this is a disease caused by weight..as the british say, there is no proof...weight is only a symptom of the overeating caused by the disease or hormones. in this obese society everyone would have it if it were weight and it's that thinking that stops the progress of study into the disease! Men, children, skinny people get it too. I had every single horrible side effect. My disease, well the grade four papilledma, is gone I still have many symptoms and on top of that have to deal with the symptoms of the drug which now include a serious tinnitus that I am reading has caused deafness and or hearing loss in many people on the drug...some get it back some don't. It is my greatest hope that they will do research and begin to understand this awful illness. The latest 40 year study I read confirmed the loss of cognitive levels and impairment for life in patients with IIH whether primary or secondary. I gained weight from steroids with lupus...couldnt stop eating...I lost weight, I exercise, I eat healthy....nothing has changed the illness and most studies confirm that few people are helped by weight loss....everyone feels better when they lose weight my question is the chicken or the egg...is the disease active at low levels in the brain causing overeating and are there hormonal issues....or does the eating come first causing hormonal issues and an increase in the disease.... That's my rant. Diamox is a horrible drug and should not be taken long term. It is great for short term use or small doses from some conditions. The medical community needs to take this illness seriously, study it and come up with something better than diamox, topirimate (which is even worse) and shunts.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/20/2014
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only thing that I don't like about taking this med is the dizziness and lightheadedness and some times I have tingling in my feet, hands and face. But other then that it has be fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cadasil | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have cadasil. I have not taken it yet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2014
Condition: Pseudotumor Cerebri
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I personally, have had a lot of side effects with this med.However,I also am in the process of spinal surgery too. so.....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More