Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I had originally taken it last year for about 3 months, and I honestly didn't notice any of the side effects that I am going to mention. Then my doctor put me on another pill, Klor Con and I noticed the coldness, depression and weight gain, so I told I wanted to go back to the Pot CL ER and I did so starting on 3/05/2012. After about 1 week, I started getting depressed. I was always cold (I live i...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Treatment for taking fluid pills, legs were cramping a great deal, and hands, heart raced. Took the Potassium Chloride oral and my heart raced, stomach sickness and an anxiety feeling. However it did solve the leg and hand cramp

Shared reviews and ratings

alisa213 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2021
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since starting 20 MEQ, 1 time a day, I have experienced terrible bloating, continuous gas, and diarrhea. When I stopped taking the drug, my digestive system got back to normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
12/21/2019
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

tablets to large i cannot take it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/30/2019
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three times to ER for tacycardia due to low potassium. On 10-20meq extended release (microencapsulated) CAPSULES, health was ok for five years. Dose increase and change to large wax matrix TABLETS caused ongoing nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, colon spasms when paired with medication to stop diarrhea (slowed bowel motility). At 60meq/day CAPSULES(in 20meq doses) w/diarrhea, tachycardia ensued. ER upped dose to 80meq/day. Potassium causes diarrhea at high doses and diarrhea prevents you from absorbing it. Solid forms are worst for causing bowel lesions. Capsules can be opened and mixed with food to reduce bowel irritation. Best is a form is powder (not encapsulated) to mix with water and drink. Diarrhea subsided at 60meq/day only when I limited intake at one time to 10meq with food and a full glass of water. Two weeks on 80meq (20meq at a time) with diarrhea only raised blood potassium from 3.6 to 4.1. This is a crucial problem as mine has to stay over 4 to prevent tachycardia. But overdose is asymptomatic and can cause death. Be sure you are monitoring your blood levels when taking this at high doses (over 20meq/day). I had blood tests two days apart that showed 1.5 increase (no diarrhea involved).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Docswidow | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I opened a sealed bottle from my Pharmacy and noticed several pills that look different from the Gabapentin that was on the label. The RX list said that they were potassium chloride and not Gabapentin. It was a sealed bottle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/2/2019
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mrzorron | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/7/2018
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't see why I need this drug. It has no positive effects that I am aware of.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/26/2017
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KENTCEEKAY | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2015
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Capsules are too large...this drug makes my stomach constantly upset and I have anxiety often!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
George | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2014
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using Bumex to reduce water retention my hands cramped up. I discovered that my potassium level in my blood was causing this and I popped a potassium pill. This worked very well. ( check with your doctor first)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chirica | 19-24 | Male | Patient
10/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hy everyone , can someone please tell some great oral products , that will be very helpful . Thank you .Have a beautiful day .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
found | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2013
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treatment for taking fluid pills, legs were cramping a great deal, and hands, heart raced. Took the Potassium Chloride oral and my heart raced, stomach sickness and an anxiety feeling. However it did solve the leg and hand cramp

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
everyone | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/19/2013
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Constant feeling of nausea; tender abdomen. Chronic bloating. Gas. Just feeling uneasy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bevcon | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/28/2013
Condition: Prevention of Low Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This seems to have worked well for me so far. Low potassium level was very low and painful...this did take care of the problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Arlene Martin | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/22/2013
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After extended hospitalization it was prescribed, reason not explained. I had UTI and toxic metabolic encephalopathy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miranda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/14/2013
Condition: Prevention of Low Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm BiPolar and I've had 2 life-altering events due to Potassium in the past 2 years.The first time,I couldn't find my way to my daughter's house.Four days later, when I was awakened to leave, I was literally out of it. I ended up in the hospital where they said it must be a drug overdose and tried to admit me to a Psych ward until my blood test came back and one doc, only ONE, said my confusion was due to very low Potassium in my blood. I have no memory of those days even though my daughter said I acted normal until that last morning.This last one was the scariest and no one seemed to catch it other than me.I had been on 10 meq 3 days a week.After Christmas,I found myself sinking into a deep depression,along with suicidal ideations, which were no longer just thoughts. I started making plans.I gave away some of my most treasured items, even gave my persian cat to a friend. Said things to people that I had always wanted to say,good,bad and I mean really BAD and irrevocably hurtful in some situations.Every Tuesday,I told my shrink the plans I had made until I finally said that I,during this whole time,had a salty taste in my mouth and couldn't understand why my two family docs and she herself,didn't seem to find this interesting, as Potassium is a salt, isn't it?I had been so confused and depressed that all I could think of was what night I would actually do it!Then I answered my own question about that salty taste.I stopped taking Potassium and within a week,I was more lucid;I was crying less;I called to get my cat back.The friends and family that I'd hurt aren't as easy to get back as my cat.I was so close to dying by my own hand,all due to an excess of Potassium that I hope my story might help at least one person.There should be a warning to others in BIG BOLD print that it may cause not just confusion,but suicidal behavior.It would have helped me save a few loved ones from the hurtful things I said to them.I went to Hell and back over this.Let people know about itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/19/2012
Condition: Prevention of Low Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/20/2012
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication causes bloating, gas, and stomach irratation continuously.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
keywest48 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/15/2012
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

diarhea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vhw10 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/20/2012
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2012
Condition: Low Amount of Potassium in the Blood
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had originally taken it last year for about 3 months, and I honestly didn't notice any of the side effects that I am going to mention. Then my doctor put me on another pill, Klor Con and I noticed the coldness, depression and weight gain, so I told I wanted to go back to the Pot CL ER and I did so starting on 3/05/2012. After about 1 week, I started getting depressed. I was always cold (I live in Fl and I was wearing a sweater in 80 degree weather.) Passing gas was constant, and the worst thing was that I gained 4 lbs between 3/05 and 3/20. I'm sorry but I'll eat a banana and a naked baked potato thank you very much.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More