Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

Works good for me.. Doctor hesitant about using it on me due to pb ingredient

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

took this for 4 years in the mid to late 90s dr. never told me it was a barbituate he kept upping the dose i finnally told him i dont want to take it anymore it wasnt working he told me i needed to go to a rehab to detox off of them or i could sezuire up and die it cost me 4000 dollars out of my own pocket and this guy never gave me an ultrasound 3 months later i was rushed to the er an ulersound ...

Shared reviews and ratings

No | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/27/2021
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started out at 1 pill 3-4 x per day and before sleep if needed. Have tried all the new prescriptions and it none have taken away the pain of the cramps from IBS. After many years I needed more and so dr increased to 2 tabs 3-4 x per day. This worked but eventually I built up a tolerance to it. So I know that it’s a gradual process until u r done but like my dr says I will most likely still need it, so I don’t know what to do, any suggestions appreciated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nome dePlume | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/26/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stops my esophageal spasms - wh are quite painful. When hospitalized, none of the residents ever heard of it! Had to get mine from home - not on hospital formulary. Liquid & pills very effective. No side effects unless I’m already sleepy or tired.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jep | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great for stomach and throat spasms, I order mine through a Pharmacy in Florida. It's hard to find. FloraPharm maybe?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WVfiestylady | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/16/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken this medication for years and now haven't been able to find it anywhere. I've had IBS and bleeding ulcers. This was the only medicine that helped me. Is there any place in the USA that continues to carry it?? Thank you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jayde | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/29/2015
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This seems to work the best for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TiredOfPain | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2015
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried many medications and this one is the best by far! My doctor gave me a sample after my 100th colonoscopy to rediagnose my ICS and I went running back for a prescription! I only take it when I have a flair up and it is amazing how It works within 2 hours. Thanks Donnatal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When needed the generic form of Donnatal is used to combat spasms due to a flare up of diverticulosis irritation. This really does the trick. There is a little drowsiness involved but nothing that stops daily actions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
suzyq | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it has helped with my diarrhea, when I take the pill it sure helps me for hours

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WithdrawalPT | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am withdrawing from opiates and Donnatal works great to reduce my GI problems associated from opiate withdrawals.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aire | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/18/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried several medications in the past 40 years and donnatol is by far the most helpful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/27/2013
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
katmay | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/8/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good for 40 years, now costs $4.66 a pill. Why?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nah | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2013
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helps with abd pain from ibs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/22/2013
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

relaxed the colon

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shecon | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/12/2013
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with ibs and also spastic colon..when put on generic donnatal, it worked ok.. But last year i was placed on donnatal extentabs.. No problems at all! And now.. The manufacturer or drug co.. Isnt making..or either its on back order? Why is it, when you finally find a medicine that works.. You cant get it anymore! It isnt fair!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dec-63 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/15/2012
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am allowed to take this three times a day as needed. I only take it a few days a month, but it is becoming more difficult for my pharmacist to acquire. I suppose the pharmacies don't want to sell something that is both cheap and effective!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mitch | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was given this in Vietnam for treatment of Malaria, had issues with kidney and enlarged prostate

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bobbyeq | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/17/2012
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No longer being manufactured?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Caregiver
10/8/2012
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is wonderful for treating irritable bowel and as an RN we gave it mixed with Mylanta for upset stomach. It will show up as a barbituate in a drug screen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More