Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

55 People found this comment helpful

I started taking 1 mg of Estrace a day in 2001 after a complete hysterectomy to combat hot flashes. I am now 60 years old and still feel 49, with no grey hair! No side effects whatsoever.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I've only been on this med for 2 weeks and will remain on it for 1 month just to be fair and allow it to work its way through my system. Side effects, yes, one: body aches. I'm a runner and hiker and this tiny pill is proving to be a pill. Because I know my estrogen level is low, I will give it a fair shot. I just don't like when anything interferes with my workout regiment.

Shared reviews and ratings

Smith | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/12/2019
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this medication since 1991 with no problems or side effects. I works perfectly for me where the generic did not. I did try other brands, but they caused problems with my vision. I have no trouble with Estrace. But it is terribly expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anti-drugs | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 0.5mg of estrace and 100mg of promestrium 2 months ago due to hot flashes and insomnia. I never take prescription drugs but I was so sleep-deprived i gave in. It have seen an amazing difference and have zero side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meno | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2014
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hair began falling out like crazy and gained 12 lbs in 2 months. As soon as I weaned off of it, my hair stopped falling out and most of the weight fell off. Still trying to lose 5 more lbs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Floridabeachgirl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2014
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bloating and bladder pressure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reebok1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/10/2014
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Estrace 0.5 mg tablets for 6 months after switching from vivelle dot patch. I had episodes of racing thoughts, shaking, blood pressure zoomed up to 150/90 (usually 110/70),scared to death what was happening to me. Now I have abdominal pain every day also and I am stopping this scary drug. Please learn from my experience ladies and do not take this drug. May God give us the strength to face menopause as naturally as possible with faith in Jesus Christ and Almighty God.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jw | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2014
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fay | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/20/2013
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is my first time with this drug. I have been taking premarin 0.625mg for thirty years but now I am living in the usa it is too expensive for me, so my Dr has changed me to Estradiol.0.5mg the generic brand for Estrace. Do you think this will work for me?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moody13 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/27/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this estrogen supplement because my uterine wall was too thin. I have been on it for approximately 2 months and my periods have returned, so it appears to be working well, but it has increased my emotional sensitivity during my menstrual cycle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AmyInNH | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2013
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cream works well, applicator is poorly designed, unhygienic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Estradiol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/27/2013
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the generic of Estrace i.e. Estradiol 0.5 mg for over a year now after going off premarin. I have had no side effects that I can relate to taking the drug. I have had a Hysterectomy and Ovaries removed. I am very confused about all the replacement therapies and their reviews now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PinkyB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/26/2013
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine effectively reversed vaginal atrophy in less than 90 days. So grateful my OB/GYN recommended it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pilgrim47 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/4/2013
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking HRT Estrace is preventing osteoporosis which has been prevalent in my mother and all 3 of her sisters. I witnessed my mother experiencing extreme pain resulting from Osteoporosis in spinal vertebra causing lack of ability to move productively. This contributed to poor circulation in other parts of the body, as well as fatigue and poor quality of life. I am convinced that estrogen has and will keep my bone loss to a minimum along with diminishing the continued post-menopausal issues. I have tried to wean off estrogen and found that my thinking slowed, night sweats returned, poor sleeping and a loss of interest in daily activities. I have worked in medical research as a nurse/study coordinator overseeing pharmaceutical studies involving hormone replacement, and fully believe that estrogen alone keeps my brain functioning in a more alert status. I will continue taking HRT indefinitly. There is no hx of breast cancer in my family and I have had a hysterectomy and oopherectomy unrelated to cancer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marilynbyc | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/4/2013
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This Rx has worked fine for me, but I need to know if this is the lowest dose?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/6/2013
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 1 mg of Estrace a day in 2001 after a complete hysterectomy to combat hot flashes. I am now 60 years old and still feel 49, with no grey hair! No side effects whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adored11 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/2/2012
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For many years, I have been on a micronized estrogen/progesterone sublingual tablet for early-onset peri-menopause. My body completely rejected the most popular brands of HRT, so my very knowledgeable doctor put me on the micronized as it is widely used in Europe. US doctors are not so keen on prescribing as it has a "short shelf life" of about a year. The molecular match is identical to a woman's body, unlike the mare urine=based pills. Last week, my doctor tried to help ease the financial burden because all of a sudden, my insurance refused to cover the cost of the prescription micronized tablet. She put me on Estrace. All I can say is that my hot flashes have increased, I am not sleeping well, and when I do, I'm having nightmares. My chest is having symptoms of tightening and overall, I will find a way to afford what I have used for years. I'm angry that the medical community continues to base decisions about women's health issues on the dollar. Check out Bellevue Pharmacy online for more information about micronized options. Ladies, we have to become our own advocates!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lolla | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2012
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been on this med for 2 weeks and will remain on it for 1 month just to be fair and allow it to work its way through my system. Side effects, yes, one: body aches. I'm a runner and hiker and this tiny pill is proving to be a pill. Because I know my estrogen level is low, I will give it a fair shot. I just don't like when anything interferes with my workout regiment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2012
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication was very effective but after six months of use, I found a small lump which begin to form in my right breast. I cannot say that the medication caused this but it scared me enough to discontinue using it. I had a biopsy and the lump was not cancerous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2011
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doctor put me on Estrace after i had a full hysterectomy. It seems to be working for me I have on hot flashes and the only mood swing is I want to cry every morning. I've only been on this medication for 2 1/2 weeks so I hope the crying will soon stop and the medication continue to work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/26/2011
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my surgery many years ago, I was put on Premarin almost immediately and had no problem taking it. After being on it for so many years, the Dr. then decided to put me in Estrace, it does take the hot flashes and mood swings away, but the weight gain, headaches, body aches are becoming unbearable. Have an appointment with the Dr. to change it. I have headaches that are debilitating and I don't like it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
audrey | 55-64 | Female | Patient
8/19/2011
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this medication for 10 years with no problems. It has worked well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More