Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

Worked immediately for my bad cough. Also took away muscle cramps. Had a little bit of a sore tummy but it went away within half an hour.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

This was supposed to help my cough, but after 2 weeks of taking it my cough was worse, so bad it made me vomit. Breathing inhalers helped on the first try. Hardly any cough.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jim | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/1/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lcx3 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/12/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps with coughing, helps you sleep and gets rid of headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Psuag | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Getting over flu/upper respiratory infection. Delayed going to doc because I thought I could fight it. So freaking miserable so went to doc. Hate taking stuff, but this has helped so much. Did have some weird dreams, but just welcomed the sleep so much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ErinS | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/9/2013
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I end up taking this every time I get a cold that turns in to the "-itis" from the boobs up. It does suppress my cough well at night so my husband and I can sleep. I do get some weird side effects. I cant sleep when I take it, instead I have a twilight sleep, yet I still kinda dream/hallucinate at the same time -yet I am aware of everything all night, every time my hubby rolls over or the dog snores - whatever. It is a weird experience. I get the same thing from plain hydrocodone. So for me it is a trade off. No cough, can lay beside hubby at night (without him getting that "murderous" glint in his eyes because of lack of sleep from my coughing), but no sleep for me. Oddly enough I dont feel terribly tired the next am - though by the PM I am stupidly tired. I take this medication 2-3 times a year only when ill with a cough. Never more than a week at a time if it is super bad. I never experience any addictive feelings from it. (some people said that if hydrocodone makes you hyper you are more prone to addiction from it - not true for me) I am also a nurse, if that helps any. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TerryL | 45-54 | Female | Patient
1/9/2013
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for extreme cough that caused chest and muscle pain due to bronchitis. I recommend taking it a few hours before you want to go to sleep. I feel a bit edgy immediately after taking it but then I start to relax and I'm out for hours. It effectively suppresses my cough much better than Robitussin with codeine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jarlaxle | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/19/2012
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the generic form prescribed for bronchitis that was irritating my broncheal tubes so badly I was caughing up blood. It reduced the cough dramatically but didn't stop it and I got slight chest pain for several minutes after the medication took effect but it's a good trade-off in my opinion. The only real problem I have with it is that I was instructed to discontinue my hydrocodone for my migraines while taking it which puts me in a black room in bed each day till I get over the bronchitis. I would recomend this drug for anyone that does not have chronic pain issues.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cwest0924 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2012
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a very successful relief from my night time continious coughing that went on two days before i finally went to dr. after trying over-the-counter meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RK | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2012
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What started as a slight cough turned into a persistent one that kept me awake. Went to Dr. and actually had bronchitis so I did not have an allergy as I thought. This syrup relieved the cough within 15-20 minutes and eased the muscle pain that I had accumulated over the past few days of hard coughing. Taken as directed the persistent cough is gone but I am still able to expel the by products of the bronchitis without any problem. Very pleased with the outcome.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lynn | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/21/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Starting taking the liquid form yesterday. Had serious pain in my upper chest and back. Cough went away almost immediatly and the pain is almost gone less than 24 hours later. A lifesaver!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very easy to use ,immediate relief from cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brokenangel2003 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given this for bronchitis. Before the medicine I was awake all night coughing. Within 20 minutes of taking my first dose I wasn't hacking constantly and it feels so much better now that I am not trying to hack up a lung. Paid $22 for a 4 ounce bottle so it is reasonably priced. My insurance will not cover any cough medicines so I was really glad the doctor told me this was inexpensive. Would highly recommend this medication because it works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carolparker47 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have pneumonia and a cough from Hades.At first I could not get the RX .because My Insurance would not pay for it .Then I was coughing so much My ribs, stomach and head were blowing up (that is how it felt) Blood vessels were breaking in my eyes .A friend said she would get the Rx for me. Thank God. although this med does not stop the cough completely It gives Me so much Relief I thank God for it . I do not know why the insurance I have has stopped paying for something that so many of us need to have. We have to suffer so much unless someone will help us . I have broken Ribs coughing so hard because I could not afford this or other meds for cough.I am so Happy to have the Relief this product has given me. ThanksRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Imlynnadok | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does make me drowsy but I feel bad enough that sleep is a relief

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tkjp12 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

stop the night time cough immediately but drug is highly addictive

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/9/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been taking this for 3 days with no relief from my cough. i guess i am the weird one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2011
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It knocked my cough out completely! On the other hand I am itchy all over and while it made me feel sleepy I am waking up every 15-20 minutes. This is a great cough medicine and I am disappointed that I will have to discontinue it's use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alexaw | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/12/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is very effective for suppressing a cough. It may cause trouble sleeping, so take it a couple of hours before bedtime.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jperryprincess | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2010
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Second bout with pneumonia in the last 3 months. was given this after the perles made me worse. It controlled the cough to let the antibiotics work. Not drowsy, but not wired either. Thankful for the cough relief, better then the codeine syrup if you have sensitive stomach

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More