Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

58 People found this comment helpful

My DR. perscribed 40mg as needed for anxiety (I am anxious often). My very first use (1/2 a pill, 20mg) was a home run. It worked so good that what I used to think was impossible (speaking in front of others) is now very peaceful. My heart does not race out of my chest, thus a more relaxing life.--- I am, just recently experiancing some dizziness which is a reaction, but it might be due to aler...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Been on it for one month. Not worth the side effects. Gained 7 lbs, got my period twice after not having it for 20 months and having chest pains.

Shared reviews and ratings

rabeaaslamchi | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/27/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the indoor one that told me to side with old is gold one to increase weight in anthem of afgan attached to kicking me out of canada pursuit so they can tag me everywhere you're damaged

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jacky | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/26/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has changed my life. I suffered 1-2 migraines a week. They were severe enough to be sick to my stomach and stuck in a dark room for 24 hours. After taking Inderal my migraines have gone to one a month or even longer. Life changer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vickie | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/4/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking since 1999. I took many different migraine medications. Inderal has worked very well for me. I would get a migraine almost every week that put me in a dark room in agony.I estimate I have had hundreds if not a thousand migraines. It is hard to believe a person could survive that many. Terrible life. In the past twenty years I have had them but nothing uncontrollable and much easier to live with.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/23/2017
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on Topomax for 15 years and stopped working. Aevraged 2 mingraines a week. I started Inderal and I have been migraine free for 6 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
langteach | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/28/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After teaching for 20 yrs, I developed anxiety in front of the class. Sweating, heart racing, dizziness, etc. Dr. started me on Inderal 20mg 10 yrs ago, and my life has been turned around. The very first week my hyper-sweating and fear seemed to melt away. Now I have no fear of social situations. I use the generic (propranolol) twice a day, and believe me, I never forget. The great thing is that I do not feel 'medicated,' just able to cope with stress in a reasonable and normal manner. This med represents my real life being handed back to me. I hope to use it forever. If you have relentless anxiety, then this may help you too.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glen | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/18/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

An excellent med, one capsule every morning, 160mg, and it works on my high-normal BP very well. Also it has a sedating effect that is most pleasant and unexpected. My family doctor said nothing about this, he waited to see if I noticed the calming effect. He said he has taken it himself just for the mild sedation. The benzo types of anti-anxiety meds are caveman clubs compared to Inderal. Plus my dosage I'm told is lower than most take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/3/2015
Condition: Mitral Valve Prolapse Syndrome
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for about 20 years now Inderal LA 80 mg. Once a day. Just recently it has not been as effective. My doctor says your body can build a tolerance to it. That may be my problem. Overall it helps with my symptoms due to have a MVP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
raikiran | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2015
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it had helped my shaking of hands and anxiety and chest pain which i hate and the side effects are sleepiness and arm and wrist joint pains......but overall a good drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane | 65-74 | Female | Patient
1/9/2015
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have only just begun this drug but was on Primidone for 3 years for tremors. Doctor told me to take Inderal(really taking Generic)with the Primidone and I'm very pleased so far. No tremors. I'll have to be vigilant about weight gain and will hopefully conquer this at the gym.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/30/2014
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only drug that has controlled my migranes, for nearly 20 years now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NYLV12 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/23/2014
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Inderal LA since 1970. It has been very effective for preventing headaches. Don't find any side effects with use. Slight weight gain at first, but that goes away. Now no problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neanderthal | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/23/2014
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had panic attacks for over 30 years. After starting Inderal the panic diminished significantly during the first month and 30 years later continues to block all panic. The slow release type works the best for me. The only side-effect is that occasionally it makes me feel tired. It also drops the maximum heart rate which can interfere with sports.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2014
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to have migraines 2-3 times a week and with only 40mg of Indera, it is down to 2 month and not as severe when occurring. Same side effects as others, fatigue and weight gain but worth it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
evelyn | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/31/2014
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

despite this treatment is being efective, I experienced severe hair loss. Before I always felt my heart beating; now I'm much more relaxed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
neuro | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2013
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not feeling much better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rach | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2013
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started this medication 2 months ago. I was on Cymbalta for anxiety and panic attacks for over 3 years. Then I started having high blood pressure over time period which the doctor didnt seem to be concerned with until I took a stress test and couldnt even finish the fast walk part without my blood pressure going thru the roof. 220/110+. I could feel my heart beating in my throat and thought I was going to vomit all over. So now I am off Cymbalta after terrible withdrawals (use Omega 3-makes it alot easier) and I am trying this for my anxiety. I cant really tell what the outcome is yet. My parents have been on it for many years and I thought why not.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
daisy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2013
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped Migraines. Many side effects on 80mg.,dizzy,lethargic,loss of balance, strange dreams, insomia. Cut dose to 40mg. Helped side effects,still helped headaches. 10 lb weight gain already,big stomach,tight clothes. I do not want that. Stay on it Inderal ???? debatable. Tried many med's over the years. Relpax works the best by far,for headaches, no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meema | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/24/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

slows me down, doesn't let me sleep, may have given me diabetes, may have made me fat due to increased appetite, probably raised my cholestral. possibly makes me depressed for all of the above.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/4/2013
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking 30mg for the past 50 years and in the past fews years have had not only cold hand and feet and ankle swelling, but recently increasing bruising

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
juniper | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/9/2013
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked for me without side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More