Show ratings & reviews for

5.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

One of the best beta blockers with the least side effects. It is great for blood pressure and heart rate control. This is a true beta-blocker with the relaxing and anti-anxiety qualities of PROPRANOL and the exact profile of Metoprolol/TOPROL, but without some of the side effects. One of the problems with this medication is the recent recall of the generic KERLONE known as BETAXOLOL. The medicatio...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/7/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have neurogenic hypertension which is high blood pressure due to an overactive nervous system. My resting heart rate is over 110 without any meds. I have tried many beta blockers and Betaxolol is by far the best of the best. Resting heart rate is now lo 60's!!! Feel great. Not many doctors prescribe this beta blocker because they don't know about it. It was not marketed very well. Almost all doctors prescribe Atenolol which did not work nearly as well for me. Betaxolol has a much longer half life, so its effects remain rock solid stable throughout the entire day. Another thing I like is that the circulation in my extremities is back to normal (warm feet and hands). On other beta blockers I was almost to the point of thinking I had Reynauds syndrome. My feet were ice cold and turning white. I also take a small dose (1mg) of Doxazosin to further increase my circulation. I wish many more people could find out about Betaxolol. Its the best beta blocker I have found.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/26/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/10/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/26/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this med for 15 years & it keeps my B/P right in line, but I only take 5mg or 1/2 of lowest dosage made.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SteveG | 45-54 | Male | Patient
1/22/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One of the best beta blockers with the least side effects. It is great for blood pressure and heart rate control. This is a true beta-blocker with the relaxing and anti-anxiety qualities of PROPRANOL and the exact profile of Metoprolol/TOPROL, but without some of the side effects. One of the problems with this medication is the recent recall of the generic KERLONE known as BETAXOLOL. The medication was unavailable for a long time and this made many switch to another medication/beta blocker. Luckily KERLONE is avaliable once again. After the recall I would probably want to avoid the generic BETAXOLOL.Then again it may have improved after the FDA recall and publicity. For all HBP beta blocker users with side effects it's definitely worth giving KERLONE a try. You don't have much to lose. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rbkitz2 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/26/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this medicine for approx 15 years with good results, Medco informed me that it has been recalled and is no longer available? No reason given. Rite Aid confirmed this recall.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joan0709377 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/30/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking kerlone for mvp for many years, and have been extremely satisfied. The only problem that I have is the dosage. I only need to take 5mg a day, so I must cut the 10mg pill in half.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/12/2007
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eyeore | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/4/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this for my heart conditions- works great and saved my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More