Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

72 People found this comment helpful

BP was 186/92 then Dr. prescribed 20mg Lisinopril & I quickly developed blurred vision, headaches, tiredness and a nagging dry cough. Dr. quickly lowered dosage to 10mg & had me take pill at night & symptoms decreased significantly. 14 months later after losing 32lbs, my dosage was again lowered to 5mg and “ALL” the above symptoms are gone. BP now 108/70. If you experience bad side effects lik...

Most voted negative review

19 People found this comment helpful

B/P still stays "too" high and had "By/Pas surgery in 2005. Heart 'Rate ,stays too low! Benn prescribed 'about every B/P med. there is;and "side effects worst than treatment and "end up in the ER!". On "5 mgs"once a day! Heart stays in the low "40's to 50's" giving me very little 'energy' Plus,I take "very little medication due to extreme "side effects".Tried me on 2.5 mgs of Lisinopril still did ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/2/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowered my blood pressure but I get terrible anxiety from it. Anxiety so bad I have to take anxiety medication twice a day. The Lisinopril manufactured by LUPIN is the worst! I do not recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/28/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med works great for me as far as lowing blood pressure. What my issue is with it is the horrible nasal congestion within 30 min of taking it. My nose swells closed and breathing is horrible. I did research and ACE Inhibitors along with ARB's are considered Vasodilators. So they cause your veins to expand which is great but also they expand in nose blocking off air. I have yet to find a blood pressure pill that is not causing stuffy nose. Not sure why doctors deny this side effect, I know its the pill since when I stop using it my nose works fine, as soon as I take it swollen closed all day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janice Gavin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/31/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was described this medication by my doctor and since l taken l have had a persistent cough to the point lm choking off my spit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/27/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The studies show that this has about a 1% chance of causing erectile dysfunction. I am sorry but the studies must be wrong. I take it and nothing works down there, not even a little. I tell my doctor who says "Nope can't be the medicine.Keep taking it". They check my testosterone levels. Run others tests. All comes back fine. But still, I have terrible ED. I eat right, I workout. Nope. Still severe ED. "Can't be the medicine" they continue to tell me! So I decided to have a little experiment and come off the medicine for a couple days just to test it. It is without question THIS MEDICINE that caused my ED.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed 10mg for a 130/100 bp. First day was ok I was able to work. The next dose gave horrible chest pains, seeing stars, general numbness and weakness. I was at work but could not do my job. Heavy sweats, vomiting and confusion. I almost drove myself to the ER. I thought I was dying. I did not take my third dose and I feel much better today. Hope this will help someone that's in distress like I was.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/8/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had temporary high blood pressure because of a hormone imbalance. My doc prescribed lisinopril. Worst experience. While it did lower my blood pressure, I was tired, lethargic and the cough was horrible. I reduced the dose until I got off of it. The cough is still persistent and lingering. Hate it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/7/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Lisinopril 5mg for only 2 days and it caused awful headaches & excruciating leg cramps (so bad that even walking didn't take the cramp away - had to drink a cup of pickle juice to ease it at all). Then I started having shooting pains thru my calf all the next day & it weakened my leg to where I almost fell down the bleachers at my grandson's football game. When I told my doctor, he told me to immediately stop it! He is putting me on Amlodipine, and I pray it doesn't cause these awful side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miche | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed pancreatitis which went undiagnosed until I ended up in the hospital. I quit taking lisinopril and 2 months later still can’t eat due to pancreatitis. Plus I can’t sleep lying down because of pain from pancreatitis. The dry cough has morphed into voice problems. Very low energy, lost 15 lbs of mostly muscle, can’t sleep so quality of life is terribly diminished. Cardiologist said lisinopril doesn’t cause stomach pain. It took hospitalization and a very good gastroenterologist to figure out the lisinopril caused the pancreatitis. ACE inhibitors are not benign! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
9/14/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why is Lisinopril still on the market? Anyone taking it should get off it now, before it’s too late! My husband was on it for years. Came home one day with a swollen tongue. Went to emergency. Staff tried to get a tube down his throat, but couldn’t. My husband went into his first cardiac arrest. CPR was done until he was stable. A trach tube was placed in his throat so he could breathe. Was taken to the ICU. Trachea tube became dislodged. Another cardiac arrest. Long story short, because of how long it took staff to revive him, he has an anoxic brain injury. Two years later, he’s stuck inside his body, in a nursing home. He understands everything, but can’t move his body, talk, use his hands. He is 58 years old, 55 when this happened. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer Barnes | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 1 week started having cough, lots of phlegm in throat and gerd!! Develop hoarseness, lost of voice in 2020. Still trying to restore my voice! Do not take Lisinopril!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me myself and i | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have side effects on this medication my eyes are blurry I have lots of headache shortness of breath sometimes my heart beats fast for a little bit and then beats normal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
E. Smith | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this med (20 mgs) for almost 5 years and 30 mgs for the past year with no identifiable side effects. However, recently, I woke up with a very badly swollen tongue and drooling because of difficulty with swallowing and a partially obstructed airway. Went to urgent care and was transferred to emergency by ambulance. I was treated for over 10 hours with Epipen, Benadryl, IV fluids, etc. Lisinopril was determined to be the cause and I can no longer take Ace Inhibitors. Traumatic experience! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Candace Pfau | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/16/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication caused such dryness in back of throat, that I coughed all night and got lesions in my throat. Finally my doctor switched it for old school Verapamil. But later when I got stage 2 tonsil cancer my oncologist was very interested in my lesions from Lisinopril. Because I had no common denominators for throat cancer. never smoked, never drank alcohol. So, I feel also this medication needs to be taken off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CB | 45-54 | Male | Patient
7/16/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blood Pressure was 175/95 and was put on Lisinopril 10mg. It lowered my pressure to 130/85 but I’ve developed a chronic cough that makes it impossible to sleep. Also I have periods of blurred vision that come and go since starting this medication. Going to ask my Dr. about other BP med options.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/30/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In 2015 my brother drove himself to the ER and was diagnosis with angioedema due to taking lisinopril. My brother died. He was only 49 yrs. This was the only medication he was taking and this drug took his life. This drug should not be on the market. I have done a lot of research and found out that their large number of people that suffered from angioedema from taking lisinopril. WHY IS THIS DRUG STILL ON THE MARKET?????????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Somari | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Diastolic Heart Failure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took it 3.5 yrs + Was having MANY falls. Took BP reading before each low dose. I was Hypotensive, so why take antihypertensive? Stopped. The good thing there was my terrible tremor, a rare adverse effect,disappeared after a few weeks without it. I was unable to do anything but am now replacing tools, I can write, and eat, and even thread a needle! Some doctors welcome the news and use it in their practices. Others don’t want to listen to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WJCP | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/2/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had high BP 130-140 (140's in the doctors office), and was prescribed 5 mg to help lower BP after diet and exercise resulted in only marginal improvement. Lisinopril helped bring it down to 115-125. Have experienced similar side effects of dry cough, occasional dizziness, more anxiety, but decided it was worth it to lower the BP. Then I noticed issues with ED that I assumed were unrelated since the drug literature says if anything it should help. But looking back those ED problems coincided with the time I started taking the drug about 3 months ago. Planning to stop taking it to see if it is a side effect for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started med on Thursday night, by Friday morning I thought I had a cold, coughing so bad that it would make me throw up. This is day 9 and I just checked out this web site to see if maybe it was the side effect, and I was right. After reading what others are saying I would also say, it’s a side effect. As of today no more meds! Calling doctor on Monday.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DD | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/11/2021
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gave tge medication a 2 start for satisfaction for a couple reasons. The first is because it did bring my blood pressure down. On the flip side were the side effects. My sinuses drained all night and I coughed all night, so literally I was getting just a couple hours of sleep. Correct me if I'm wrong but don't people get sicker with no sleep? I was only on 5 mg so I can only imagine what would have occurred had it been a higher dosage. I also had the dry cough during the day but it wasn't constant. My stomach was bloated and uncomfortable and I had other side effects. I didn't want to deal with this any longer so I decided I was taking control. I took myself off the meds, cut my sodium way back and started getting lots of potassium. I also found that turmeric and ginger are good for hypertension, so I started drinking that tea each day. I started eating beats daily and walking a few times a week. My blood pressure at one point was 182/110, its been about a month and my bp is now ranging from 135/100 to 129/89. It comes down a bit more each day. I'll keep it up because my health is worth it. Do some research and you'll see what changing eating and exercise habits can do. Don't be stuck on medication that causes more problems than it fixes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CHAINSAWMIKE | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more |
12/6/2021
Condition: Chronic Heart Failure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SORRY FOR THE CAPS, I CANT SEE WELL SINCE THE STROKE 04/07/2021..IM CHAINSAWMIKE IM 56 AND I HAD A MAJOR HEMMORRAGICAL STROKE FROM HBP, I DIDNT HAVE A DR AT THE TIME AND HAD STOPPED MY LISINOPRIL IVE HAD HBP FOR YEARS AND LISINOPRIL HAS SAVED MY LIFE BY WAY OF BLOOD PRESSURE FOR THE LAST 15 YEARS AT 20MG A.M. AND 20MG P.M......I HAVENT EXPERIENCED ANY OF THESE SIDE EFFECT ALL THE PEOPLE COMPLAIN OF....IF YOU CAN , GET THROUGH THEM BCUZ LISINOPRIL HAS SAVED ME....IM NOW RETIRED ( TIMBER FALLER) FROM THE STROKE....IL PROBLY DIE OF A BROKEN HEART BUT AT LEAST MY B.P. WILL BE FINERead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More