Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

71 People found this comment helpful

BP was 186/92 then Dr. prescribed 20mg Lisinopril & I quickly developed blurred vision, headaches, tiredness and a nagging dry cough. Dr. quickly lowered dosage to 10mg & had me take pill at night & symptoms decreased significantly. 14 months later after losing 32lbs, my dosage was again lowered to 5mg and “ALL” the above symptoms are gone. BP now 108/70. If you experience bad side effects lik...

Most voted negative review

19 People found this comment helpful

B/P still stays "too" high and had "By/Pas surgery in 2005. Heart 'Rate ,stays too low! Benn prescribed 'about every B/P med. there is;and "side effects worst than treatment and "end up in the ER!". On "5 mgs"once a day! Heart stays in the low "40's to 50's" giving me very little 'energy' Plus,I take "very little medication due to extreme "side effects".Tried me on 2.5 mgs of Lisinopril still did ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Cheryl | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/25/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on lisinopril two years ago and I told her I don’t like it I have lots of side effects and she doesn’t care. I go to Bellin hospital in Green Bay Wisconsin. I have sinus problems I have a dry cough my legs tingle I get warm one minute I get cold the next minute I’m constantly sweating. she will not do anything about it. So I’m taking myself off of this medicine that is evil and poison and hurting my kidneys and my liver. I’m going to find something natural because my doctor wants to put me on another medicine that probably is just as bad as this one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frank | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is an evil drug. I’ve had chronic hypertension for 20+ years and my doctor finally succeeded for me to try Lisinopril. My average BP was 155/95 and I’m not normally prone to drug side effects. This drug was the worst. 10mg dose taken at night before bed as recommended. I developed within a day a chronic dry throat and “feather tickle” that wouldn’t go away. A serious cough developed, causing major loss of sleep (using cough meds best I could), no interest in eating and feeling of nausea before meals. Lowered performance in activities, which for me is cycling as I've been an avid racing cyclist my whole life. I was on it for only 2 weeks but before I stopped taking it, AS my BP hit a high of 185/115 causing several bad headaches. It didn’t reduce my BP at all and made it worse. Switched to Losartan and now my BP is falling 140/90 5 days in, no tickle in the throat or difficulty sleeping. My normal cycling performance returned and I feel great.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisinopril | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/10/2021
Condition: Heart Attack
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband died five yrs ago due to him taking this medicine an I myself suffered bad skin I had bad hands they broke out so bad since I stopped taking this medicine my skin has cleared. Is there a class action suit going on because this is not a good blood pressure medication I LOST MY HUSBAND OF 30YRS DUE TO THIS MEDICINES

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well it took some months for it to happen, but I got the dry, hacking cough. Tickle in the throat. Very annoying. Doctor told me to stop taking the pills. So far after not having it for 5 days, I feel like a new person. Cough is slowly going away. Waiting to see what else they put me in this week. Was taking 20mg a day of Lisinopril.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/24/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't lower blood pressure and made me feel like crap!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/19/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 10mg for many years with good results and no side effects. Recently I was experiencing a swelling in my throat making it hard to swallow. I was treated with antibiotics and that didn’t help. I forgot to take my Lisinopril one day and my throat felt so much better. I researched the side effects and found out that swelling of the throat was a rare side effect. I contacted my doctor and she confirmed that throat swelling was a side effect and immediately took me off this medication. I was surprised that I developed this side effect after taking Lisinopril for many years with great success and no side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harold | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking Lisinopril for about one year I had a sudden severe attack of vertigo that sent me to the ER. Had a second attack about six months later that lasted for 24 hours and left me weak for several days. Vertigo attacks became more frequent until one was occurring about every three weeks. No cause could be determined but Dr. finally took me off the Lisinopril about 18 months ago and have not had vertigo since.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skeptic | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

2.5 mg for HBP and Mitral Valve Prolapse with Mild Regurgitation. My BP is normal (110-120/70) part of the day and sometimes elevated (120-130/70) and rarely high (130-140/80) I'm on day 2 of taking this med and its already been a roller coaster. For the 1st hour or so after taking it I'm on fire, sweating, racing heart, jittery best description I could give; I feel like I just smoked crack or what I assume smoking crack feels like. Today, after that went away, I felt great then suddenly crashed mid day. Light headed, cold sweats, weird lump/pressure in my throat, weak and foggy. I was anxious about starting this because I haven't met with the cardiologist yet and I don't want to take something that I may be able to fix with lifestyle changes. I've been a slug for a while and mildly over weight. I feel like if I manage stress better, use supplement and exercise I can fix my BP on my own.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
steven p | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/12/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Part of the original study group been taking it since before it was available to public 1990's. Doctor offset most of the side effects with a beta blocker. Only lasts 24hr in system - I get only 22hr effect. Short term side effects can be severe - pushed thu to the long tern ones - much better - after almost 30 yrs I now need a diuretic to stop fluid build up as my body ages - 63 trying to make it to 80 - so far so good - BP has not slowed me down. Why do I feel good when it's high and bad when it's good?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has helped reduce my BP from 150/100 to 130/95 but the cough that I developed has been brutal. It keeps me up most nights and I cough at times until I throw-up. Which I worry about when then my BP will spike from the cough and throwing up. Waiting for results of blood to determine if I should switch. Have also seem to develop some low sodium level symptoms but that could be non-related. Outside the cough I would say I do like the benefits.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Upsetting | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 weeks of 20mg dr added another due to side effects jittery and anxiety. Now, i have lower abdominal pains and constipation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/29/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowered my blood pressure, but I developed a severe cough. Cough stopped when I discontinued the meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ronb0116 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/3/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for about one month. My blood pressure has dropped from 139/88 to115/70. No side effects on 5mg so far

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
timknight70 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am new user and have been on this drug for a few weeks and it is perfect my blood pressure is right on the money and steady. No known side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
giraffekeeper | Patient
12/21/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took ONLY a crumb of a 2.5 dose. Hellacious headache and extreme nausea, along with dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kitty | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/1/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has controlled my blood pressure but I have noticed that my hands have tremors since I have been taking it and are getting worse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PDLiddy | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/12/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im a 61 yr old male. I took the medication for 2yrs and it worked well for me, except i couldnt keep an erection.i studied about lisinopril, and found very negitive comments about the drug. So i asked my PCP to change my BP meds. And couldnt find one that compared. So now im back on it and very worried about long term side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimi92406 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this medication to treat high blood pressure. While it helped with that it hurt in other ways. I became very swollen in my legs. Then it progressed to my knees and hands and fingers. I urinated much less frequent as well as it being darker in color. Finally my doctor took me off and I'm getting my kidney function test today. I have also been feeling my back and sides hurting me more than usual so I hope that my kidneys are ok and that my doctor didn't just kill my kidneys with this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/12/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

TERRIBLE! slight cough; very, very painful muscle aches, soreness felt like it went all the way to my bones;lethargy; brain fog. Took this medicine about 10 months, didn't put together the pains with the meds for awhile, so I called and asked my Dr. to change, he told me to take half of pill. I stopped taking it altogether. One of the side effects of ACE inhibitors is that increases potassium levels in the blood, when I had blood work done right before I started taking this my Potassium levels were a little high. I don't understand why my Dr. would prescribe something that would make it even higher. I stopped taking Lisinopril and I feel better.He also prescribed meds for high cholesterol,no way I'm taking that!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rcoley | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
7/6/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BP stay high and can't get a erection

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More