Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

72 People found this comment helpful

BP was 186/92 then Dr. prescribed 20mg Lisinopril & I quickly developed blurred vision, headaches, tiredness and a nagging dry cough. Dr. quickly lowered dosage to 10mg & had me take pill at night & symptoms decreased significantly. 14 months later after losing 32lbs, my dosage was again lowered to 5mg and “ALL” the above symptoms are gone. BP now 108/70. If you experience bad side effects lik...

Most voted negative review

19 People found this comment helpful

B/P still stays "too" high and had "By/Pas surgery in 2005. Heart 'Rate ,stays too low! Benn prescribed 'about every B/P med. there is;and "side effects worst than treatment and "end up in the ER!". On "5 mgs"once a day! Heart stays in the low "40's to 50's" giving me very little 'energy' Plus,I take "very little medication due to extreme "side effects".Tried me on 2.5 mgs of Lisinopril still did ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Moses Gauna | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/23/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom has never had issues with High Blood Pressure until recently. Doctor put her on Lisinopril and at first it did wonders BP went from like 160/90 to 125/80 but after taking for about three weeks, she developed soreness around the neck and dizziness really bad. Could not even walk in Walmart and had to hold on to her 88 year old mom if not she would have fell. She stopped taking the medication but started feeling sick due to her BP rising up so we will try it out again. This time by drinking lots of water and having it flush out her system. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/22/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The experience was horrible. The 1st week I took it, everything started changing. I had less energy and I was tired all the time. I had no appetite and was nauseous. I assumed it was my birth control because it was new also and sometimes it does have side effects. It got worse after that I started getting dizzy and tired to the point where I wanted to sleep and not get out of bed. When there was food made I couldn't make myself eat and I love food so everyone thought it was weird. I felt like I wanted to throw up but couldn't. I got to the point where I was breaking down and crying about how sick I felt every day. I stopped using my birth control and it was like the symptoms got worse. I told my doctor that something was wrong because now I knew it was lisinopril and she told me none of her patients have had these symptoms and I have to get used to it, even though my blood pressure was 170 over 110 at that visit. The doctor felt like I should keep taking it. That was the last time I went to her doctor's office. I found a new doctor and found out that it was doing nothing for my blood pressure because it was still high at 150 over 100. When I explained everything to my new doctor he said it sounded like I was having a horrible allergic reaction to it. I was never going to get used to it because my body was basically rejecting it. I am glad I found the doctor I am with today. It's so amazing when someone actually listens.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
melissa# | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Soon after starting this drug i developed dry hacking cough that was so bad it interfered with my ability work and sleep. It never got better or went away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barry Lerer | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/1/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad sour stomach and just overall lethargic feeling. Intermittent irregular heartbeat. The 2.5 mg tabs have brought my blood pressure down approximately 10 to 15 points on the systolic and 10 points on the diastolic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica Moore Harmon | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/28/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This BP medicine almost killed me!! Im a 40 year old female started on this silent killer because my blood pressure was staying 150/100. Woke up one day feeling something huge was stuck in my throat, from there my finger started itching mins later my whole body had hives from head to toe!!! My face/lips started swelling hands arms legs feet head eyes ears everywhere!!! Went to E. R had acute kidney injury!! Became so bruised was unable to walk! After about 5 days many iv fluids Benadryl and steroids acid reflux meds finally able to walk and swelling has went down. Please do not take this medication!!! Im only one day on the mend still feeling awful just want to warn people about thisRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
no mo! | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/15/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dry cough, side pain not sure kidneys or liver, vision blurred at times, stuffy nose, tiredness, weak, worst of all it definetly affects erection! etc, i feel its worst taking it then not!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It lowers my bp but causes constipation, sometimes headaches, also weakness in muscles. I wish I could find a bp medication with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/2/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowered my blood pressure but I get terrible anxiety from it. Anxiety so bad I have to take anxiety medication twice a day. The Lisinopril manufactured by LUPIN is the worst! I do not recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/28/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med works great for me as far as lowing blood pressure. What my issue is with it is the horrible nasal congestion within 30 min of taking it. My nose swells closed and breathing is horrible. I did research and ACE Inhibitors along with ARB's are considered Vasodilators. So they cause your veins to expand which is great but also they expand in nose blocking off air. I have yet to find a blood pressure pill that is not causing stuffy nose. Not sure why doctors deny this side effect, I know its the pill since when I stop using it my nose works fine, as soon as I take it swollen closed all day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janice Gavin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/31/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was described this medication by my doctor and since l taken l have had a persistent cough to the point lm choking off my spit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/27/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The studies show that this has about a 1% chance of causing erectile dysfunction. I am sorry but the studies must be wrong. I take it and nothing works down there, not even a little. I tell my doctor who says "Nope can't be the medicine.Keep taking it". They check my testosterone levels. Run others tests. All comes back fine. But still, I have terrible ED. I eat right, I workout. Nope. Still severe ED. "Can't be the medicine" they continue to tell me! So I decided to have a little experiment and come off the medicine for a couple days just to test it. It is without question THIS MEDICINE that caused my ED.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed 10mg for a 130/100 bp. First day was ok I was able to work. The next dose gave horrible chest pains, seeing stars, general numbness and weakness. I was at work but could not do my job. Heavy sweats, vomiting and confusion. I almost drove myself to the ER. I thought I was dying. I did not take my third dose and I feel much better today. Hope this will help someone that's in distress like I was.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/8/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had temporary high blood pressure because of a hormone imbalance. My doc prescribed lisinopril. Worst experience. While it did lower my blood pressure, I was tired, lethargic and the cough was horrible. I reduced the dose until I got off of it. The cough is still persistent and lingering. Hate it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/7/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Lisinopril 5mg for only 2 days and it caused awful headaches & excruciating leg cramps (so bad that even walking didn't take the cramp away - had to drink a cup of pickle juice to ease it at all). Then I started having shooting pains thru my calf all the next day & it weakened my leg to where I almost fell down the bleachers at my grandson's football game. When I told my doctor, he told me to immediately stop it! He is putting me on Amlodipine, and I pray it doesn't cause these awful side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miche | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed pancreatitis which went undiagnosed until I ended up in the hospital. I quit taking lisinopril and 2 months later still can’t eat due to pancreatitis. Plus I can’t sleep lying down because of pain from pancreatitis. The dry cough has morphed into voice problems. Very low energy, lost 15 lbs of mostly muscle, can’t sleep so quality of life is terribly diminished. Cardiologist said lisinopril doesn’t cause stomach pain. It took hospitalization and a very good gastroenterologist to figure out the lisinopril caused the pancreatitis. ACE inhibitors are not benign! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
9/14/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why is Lisinopril still on the market? Anyone taking it should get off it now, before it’s too late! My husband was on it for years. Came home one day with a swollen tongue. Went to emergency. Staff tried to get a tube down his throat, but couldn’t. My husband went into his first cardiac arrest. CPR was done until he was stable. A trach tube was placed in his throat so he could breathe. Was taken to the ICU. Trachea tube became dislodged. Another cardiac arrest. Long story short, because of how long it took staff to revive him, he has an anoxic brain injury. Two years later, he’s stuck inside his body, in a nursing home. He understands everything, but can’t move his body, talk, use his hands. He is 58 years old, 55 when this happened. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer Barnes | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 1 week started having cough, lots of phlegm in throat and gerd!! Develop hoarseness, lost of voice in 2020. Still trying to restore my voice! Do not take Lisinopril!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me myself and i | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have side effects on this medication my eyes are blurry I have lots of headache shortness of breath sometimes my heart beats fast for a little bit and then beats normal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
E. Smith | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this med (20 mgs) for almost 5 years and 30 mgs for the past year with no identifiable side effects. However, recently, I woke up with a very badly swollen tongue and drooling because of difficulty with swallowing and a partially obstructed airway. Went to urgent care and was transferred to emergency by ambulance. I was treated for over 10 hours with Epipen, Benadryl, IV fluids, etc. Lisinopril was determined to be the cause and I can no longer take Ace Inhibitors. Traumatic experience! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Candace Pfau | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/16/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication caused such dryness in back of throat, that I coughed all night and got lesions in my throat. Finally my doctor switched it for old school Verapamil. But later when I got stage 2 tonsil cancer my oncologist was very interested in my lesions from Lisinopril. Because I had no common denominators for throat cancer. never smoked, never drank alcohol. So, I feel also this medication needs to be taken off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More