Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

50 People found this comment helpful

I had been depressed on and off since my childhood. This medication has worked very well to minimize my depression. I began taking 20 mg. 19 years ago. For the first 2 weeks I was tired and a little bit dizzy but I started to feel less depressed. After about 2 months on this medication I was feeling much better and my doctor recommended that I remain on the medication. Over the years it has ta...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

I have gained 3 stone. I dont know why. I am usually 10 stone, i am now 13 stone

Shared reviews and ratings

Linds | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/29/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked for my anxiety, but it made me gain 20 pounds in 6 months. Bad withdrawals-and I was even gradually stopping. I’ve been completely off for two months and already lost 12 pounds

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phil | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Premature Ejection of Semen
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had lifelong issues with PE which has really affected the sex side of my marriage. In the course of being diagnoses with BPH, the occasion arose for my doctor to ask questions and for me to open up. MY PE came up and she told me that she could prescribe Paxil for this - she said usually doctors prescribe 20 mg per day, but she wanted to try me on 10 mg per day and see how I'd get along. I did have issues with nausea etc. so I snapped it in two and took 5 mg in the morning, 5 mg at night. Works great - went from climaxing after 30 seconds to lasting 3 to 4 minutes. My doctor then wanted me to try 20 mg but on that dose for a week or so I could not climax at all. Then she tried me on 15 [1 10 mg plus 1/2 of a 10 mg]. Perfect - can last 15 to 20 minutes!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toros | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was hard to get on but I stuck with it for about 6 weeks. No bad side effects. Virtually zero anxiety But then I started to notice these weird dark thoughts. Like I’d read thrillers and I never had before. They scared me. I started having major intrusive thoughts. Like what would happen if my husband died. Scared the crap out of me!!!! But I’m so scared to get off it. I tried once and had some bad reactions. Im going to keep trying until I succeed. I highly recommend not taking this meds you don’t know if it will work and it’s literal hell to get off of! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
7/17/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My side effects were: sleeplessness, horrendous weight gain, and this weird buzzing that would come at weird times. Like my brain was being zapped. I was on it about 5 months and stopped taking it.(gradually). Have never been able to get off the 80 pound weight gain which has really effected my health. Don't go on paxil. If you are depressed, do what I did: make up your mind to beat it. When you recognize a bout with depression, just make yourself go about your normal activities. Get sun. Eat a bit of chocolate. Take vitamin D and don't let it take over. (Also have less caffeine and beef)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2022
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually don’t write reviews but I had to for this one. The first day I took Paxil I dissociated really bad and had the worst intrusive thoughts. While it was helping me with my social anxiety it was doing nothing for my depression. I was neither happy nor sad. I kept having bursts of energy and at other times periods of extreme weakness and fatigue. Apparently my throat swelled up because of this medication and one night after my dose was slightly increased I dissociated all night and day and my eyes felt completely wacked as if I couldn’t move them from side to side properly. Unfortunately the side effects of this medication were too much to bear and I wasn’t able to fully experience the positive effects it would have had on my anxiety. :( Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DB | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ahve struggled with GAD, Depression, Social Anxiety an Panic Disorder for many years now. I tried so many other medicine, and everything made me feel like a zombie. 4 months ago I started taking Paxil and my life changed. I feel better. I feel like I can focus on things other then how anxious I am. My only complaint is that my eyes always feel heavy. Im not tired, my eyes just want to close.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SeekAnswers | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/13/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I missed a dose of Paxil, within hours I had horrible withdrawal symptoms. I was miserable. I had to switch to a different SSRI. This medication was a detriment to leading a normal life day to day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hollie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/3/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 39 made me start losing my hair gain a lot of weight but before I couldn’t eat because I was very nervous. I sweat real bad from the side affects. The side affects out way the pros fro me. Especially me losing my hair that’s crazy. Don’t like that I’ve gained 15 pounds so stop this week already cut down half now that into half. Sometimes you just gotta feel anxious I guess instead deal with this mess.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
April | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/25/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While I found Paxil good for my depression & anxiety....I've gained over 15 pounds since I started. I experienced stiff muscles and overall weakness/shortness of breath which I contribute to it having some affect on my heart. Discontinued for these reasons.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SashaFierce | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/31/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have panic disorder and I'm a hypochondriac, so any new medication freaks me out. Paxil was difficult to get on. I had horrible nausea, headaches, dizziness, etc. until my doctor suggested taking it at night and it changed everything! Paxil has worked wonders for me and given me a "zen-like" feeling that I've never had before. However, the reason I might be getting off it is the excessive weight gain. My obgyn explained how paxil specifically effects your bodies ability to break down carbs and sugars, so do your research if this could be concerning for you. I've gained about 40 pounds in 4 months :( I love and hate it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abonds2 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't experienced any side effects. I had really bad OCD and anxiety. It's like it just got washed away. Not many complaints here. Sex drive has gone down. I don't have an appetite anymore. Besides those things are great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
name | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/27/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it helped pull me out of a bad reaction to a previous medication. i felt better rather quickly but it makes me want to sleep all of the time. i gained so much weight and now i'm diabetic. i want to go off of it because i feel like the diabetes is worse than any depression. and it's not really helping with depression any more anyway. i think the weight gain made it not work as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paxilreviewer12 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/1/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took the edge off of my depression and anxiety but not fully. However I went from 120lbs to 170lbs in six months and have angry red stretch marks all over my body. Even two months after stopping the medication I can’t shed the weight for the life of me. I am active and healthy and the paxil was the only lifestyle change. In fact I become MORE active after taking it but still gained so much weight. Diet did not change.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jake | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/31/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This Paxil prescription destroyed me. I was in my 50s, great physical and mental health, until I started taking Paxil to relieve my intense anxiety and depression that came on during a very stressful life event. I was on it for more than a year. I have been off it for almost 2 years. I stopped, because I felt worse. Brain fog, total emotional blunting, fatigue, severe cognitive impairment, and sexual dysfunction. I still have these debilitating side effects. It has destroyed my very soul.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/4/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on 20-30 mg/day of this medication for 5 years, since I was 19 years old. It has helped considerably, allowing me to think clearly and function better by boosting my mood and greatly reducing my obsessive anxious thoughts. There are cons to this medication that you will have to consider, however. Understand that the first week on any SSRI will be absolutely brutal - you will feel like an emotionless and robotic husk. This should improve over the subsequent weeks though. The long term side effects that never really seem to go away are what I would consider to be an “emotional blunting” and a propensity towards apathy. SSRIs can limit your emotional range and cause you to feel numb. For example, prior to starting on Paxil, imagine a scale of 1 to 10, where 1 is where you feel your absolute lowest/saddest and 10 is your absolute highest/happiest. After you start Paxil, you will only ever experience life in the 4-7 range on that scale of 1-10. So the pros are that you no longer have those terrible lows because you can’t feel sadder/lower than a 4/10, but the cons are that you no longer have the ability to feel your highest/happiest because the best you’ll ever feel is a 7/10. This is a good illustration of how Paxil can make you apathetic and numb because you just feel okay to good all the time - you never feel terrible but you also never feel great. For this reason, I am in the process of switching to Luvox, a different SSRI, with the hopes that I will feel less apathetic. I have been able to come completely off Paxil with minimal side effects. It took a month of tapering my dose down, however I believe that the reason my side effects were minimal is that I am simultaneously starting Luvox while coming off Paxil. I’ve heard that coming off an SSRI without taking a replacement SSRI can have serious side effects. Overall, seriously consider before starting an SSRI. Paxil has worked great to reduce my OCD symptoms but it undoubtedly has its side effects, most notably the apathy and emotional numbness it causes.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ChonkyChihuahua | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2020
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Paxil for 4 days. I have never taken any type of anxiety or depression medication before. I am on 20mg a day. I feel severe, debilitating fatigue and apathy on this. Can't concentrate. Find myself staring into space. Have had odd side effects like twitching in limbs and face. Blurry eyesight. I just want to sleep all day. Difficult even to speak. I don't like this and I'm calling my dr tomorrow about stopping it. I'd rather have hot flashes and night sweats than this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/13/2020
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Paxil was a Great medication for 6 years for me. I began getting very depressed due to my weight gain. It took me 3 tries to come off of Paxil. Awful awful time. I wish All antidepressants were as good as Paxil.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 20mg at the end of January 2020 and by mid February I was having these surreal moments and having to ask myself if I was really here. I’ve been told it’s depersonalization/derealization disorder. It’s now April and I’m still feeling this way. I was on Celexa for years and never had this feeling. My psychiatrist is switching me to Lexapro and I’m praying this feeling goes away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs P | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2019
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was prescribed because I cannot take hormones. I cannot sleep now and somewhat constipated. Hot flashes kinda diminished but not totally. I’m not as emotional either. But, I will stop taking because my sleep is much more important. I read that a certain mfg only made the kind for menopause issues. I wonder how you get that kind?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cic | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst medicine ever. I took it for postpartum anxiety and it turned my anxiety into severe depression which I have never experienced in my life. When I took it I became insomniac, suicidal ideation, feeling deep unworthiness, wanting to leave my family, could barely walk, heart palpitation, nausea, weak memory. At some point, I became so numb and I felt so aggressive which I have never felt before in my life. I took it for 2 months and a half. I was taking 10 mg at a time. Withdrawal symptoms: non stop crying for no reason and ideation. now I am on week 4 fsince I stopped it and the withdrawal symptoms are still horrible. The ideation disappeared but the uncontrollable crying spells, coughing, insomnia are still there. sometimes I really feel like I lost my mind. This is again the worst thing that ever happened to me in my life. It is poison.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More