Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

I'm a female in my late 30's, I compare my frame to Jada Pinkett Smith. I've been taken Peractin 4mg since Feb. 2013. I weighed myself the first day I started taken the pills and I weighed 104 I weighed myself today cause I see changes and now I'm 120 finally. My doctor stated that I take them 3times a day I only take them twice in the morning and at night. You will be sleepy a lot and crave a lot...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

ok

Shared reviews and ratings

leximills | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/2/2015
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff works really well at first I gained almost a pound a day going from 94lbs to 125lbs I decided to stop after reaching 125 and in about 4 months I went down to 104 again. I guess I will need this for longer I have restarted it a week ago and I'm already 110lbs. I only take one pill a day, which to me is just as effective as taking 2-3. Food tastes better and stress doesn't seem to ruin my appetite anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kenny | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/18/2015
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took one Pill of the stuff and threw them in the bin.Not for me.All it did was knock me out and it gave me restless legs or what I call lolly legs.Some pills do that .Anything that give me lolly legs I throw away .I hate that feeling. and to sum up I still had a stuffy nose . total crap medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
krishnan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this drug in my teens in 1973 for treatment of asthma(allergic). I had experienced drowsiness, but on the other hand did me good for relieving sleepless nights from attack of asthma, as well as increase my appettite. It helped me to gain weight and ultimately got cured of asthma.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MomtoThree | 0-2 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
8/24/2014
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son took Periactin from age 1.5 to 3.5 because he was diagnosed as failure to thrive and was born without much of an appetite. My son also had developmental delays (undiagnosed cause) from the time he was a baby. He had always been low energy (but not sleepy), and we didn't think the Periactin was having any affect on energy nor did it seem to be making him tired. But once we finished treatment with this drug, within 48 hours, his doctors, therapists, family, and friends were noticing a dramatic difference in energy and engagement levels. From that time on, his developmental progress has accelerated, and his doctors assume the drug was very negatively affecting him, making him feel like he was in a fog at all times. He also very much struggled with potty training, which we began near the end of his time on Periactin. Even though he desperately wanted to potty train (and was refusing to go back to diapers), he was having 8-10 accidents a day for months and just didn't seem to have the ability to "hold it". Again, within 48 hours of stopping Periactin treatment, his potty training improved dramatically, with accidents suddenly decreasing to just once a day or so. So while Periactin did certainly increase my son's appetite, the negative side effects that we now recognized in hindsight absolutely were not worth it. Surely there would have been an equally effective drug or treatment without the harmful developmentally-stunting effect.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for preventing migraines

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
connie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/15/2014
Condition: Headache caused by Disorder of Cranial Blood Vessels
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

currantly taking it for vestibular migrines which have stopped after two weeks but put on a few kilos and wish to stop it because of this,,,,,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/3/2014
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

nose alergies

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
1/1/2014
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The hives disapeared for up to 4 days then start again and stop as soon as I take the pill. The reason i get the hives is because of high anxiety, stress a nervousness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tigg!! | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/16/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Severe debilitating Migraines started in my 20's, finally after years of Dr.s, ex-rays, scans, looking for nerve damage, tumor, had hospitalization, even psychotherapy, (female - going through mood changes) Was taking muscle, pain + anxiety meds. All while being a Mom of 2, with a very loving understanding husband. A new Dr. had read research about Periactin + Migraines in the early 80's. Finally after 10 years of suffering, this pill was a miracle, like magic, my Migraines just stopped! 30 years later I still take it, too afraid not to. I do not want that severe pain again.Never had another Migraine. It works by preventing a Migraine, not for pain after you have it. you can still take other meds. while you try it. I was very skeptical of an antihistamine for allergies. I was sure it wouldn't work,willing to try anything at that point. At least try it and find out, it won't hurt you, It didn't make me hungry or gain weight. I'm in my 60's now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ecoleman | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/21/2013
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication got rid of the hives almost immediately, but left me so depressed and fatigued I discontinued it. It also blocks the body's serotonin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrsre21 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2013
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a female in my late 30's, I compare my frame to Jada Pinkett Smith. I've been taken Peractin 4mg since Feb. 2013. I weighed myself the first day I started taken the pills and I weighed 104 I weighed myself today cause I see changes and now I'm 120 finally. My doctor stated that I take them 3times a day I only take them twice in the morning and at night. You will be sleepy a lot and crave a lot of things. But the more you take them the less sleepy. I took them years ago and they made me too sleepy so I was skeptical taken them this time. They do work, I may take them a lil longer to gain maybe another 5-10 pounds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tamei | 25-34 | Female | Patient
5/7/2013
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

How am I able to get the Periactin pill?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stevenmom411 | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/23/2013
Condition: Headache caused by Disorder of Cranial Blood Vessels
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 11 yr old just started getting severe migraines in the past month and half. We are still using the periactin and the headaches have become alot less severe. Hopefully now he can return to school with a lot less headaches.i very pleased with the medication working and doing it's job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Onelove1630 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/19/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this for my migraines, it works kind of good but the headaches are less frequent but harder for me to get rid of.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pattycake | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/14/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication for hot flashes it works great!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
betty | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/21/2013
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ok

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amanda.kaye86 | 25-34 | Female | Patient
11/16/2012
Condition: Headache caused by Disorder of Cranial Blood Vessels
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i don't have the disorder of cranial blood vessels but i am haveing very bad headaches. i have not taken this medicine yet i was wondering if anyone could give me any advise on taking this medicine for headaches.and i also don't like the idea of gaining weight while taking this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mark | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
9/18/2012
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 33yr, 5'10 male who has been rail thin my whole life. I've lifted weights and taken practically every supplment and weight gain diet on the market. I heard about Periactin and gave it a try. It has worked wonders. I've put on over 30 lbs in about 4 months. It's not that all of a sudden I was just eating everything; it's more like I just notice that I eat bigger and bigger portions. For anyone looking to put on weight, I would highly recommend this drug. It does make your really tired though.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ssandler | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/15/2012
Condition: Serotonin Syndrome - Adverse Drug Interaction
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

seratonin syndrome depression anxiety sleeplessness, high pulse rate extreme cold crying

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
epl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2012
Condition: Loss of Appetite
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it helps me a lot coz now i can eat like a human being before takig this i used to look or only kiss my food. what will happe when i stop using this? am i going to return back to square one, am i supposed to take this for the rest of my life or even if i stop my appetite will still be good?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More