Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

62 People found this comment helpful

I have use Pravachol for over four years now. My total cholesterol lever has changed from 250 to 160. I have had no side effects from this drug.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

Provachol has been prescribed for me but I am afraid to take it because of the many side effects that all meds that are advertise have on your organs!!

Shared reviews and ratings

StellaL | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
2/1/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Yes it lowered my LDL and total cholesterol to 211 taking 20mg daily. Why only 20mg? Because at 40mg I suffered severe muscle and body aches. Pin prick sensations in my joints. Muscles felt so weak. Every day. I just couldn’t tolerate it. Still have some pain and weakness at 20mg. Trying to deal with it to get the benefits. But it’s hard. I tried another statin prior to Pravachol but had even worse side effects. Wish they would develop an affordable drug with the same benefits and not these side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chigrl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Pravastatin in order to reduce inflammation. I don't have high cholesterol. My doctor felt it was safe. I was only on it for four days and I had a severe reaction. Brain fog with visual vertigo, leg cramping, diarrhea, constipation, severe burning sensation on my face that radiated through my body. I have been off of it nearly a week after only taking 4 10mg pills and I am still experiencing side effects. My doctor does not understand why I would still be experiencing side effects at this point. I do not recommend Pravastatin. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MacTavish2000 | 55-64 | Male | Patient
4/25/2019
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Headaches. Muscle pain. Leg weakness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Superfly | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 80 mg Pravachol for about two weeks now. So far, I have not experienced any of the side effects many people have reported. About its effectiveness, I have yet to find out in my next blood draw in a couple of months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
suki65 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/10/2016
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

muscle weakness dreadfull tried 4 statins all the same. try opti omega 3 ,plant sterols 3 a day, vitamink2 mk7,vitamin d ,my bones are repairing but not muscles. my cholesterol from 12.1 to 5.3 without statins. low fat diet and low sugar diet and herbal with no side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rv | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/8/2016
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor switched me from simvistatin to pravastatin because of the muscle weakness. However the weakness and leg pain is alot worse so I can barely walk after 8 hrs of work. I have been off of all cholesterol meds for 4 weeks to clear up the side effects with no relief, just more pain. I wasnt aware of the chance that the side effects may never go away so now not only do I need to figure out how to keep my cholesterol down, but how to learn to live with muscle weakness and pain. If anyone is considering this medication I suggest using in the smallest dose possible to start with to minimize the side effects but I dont recommend this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Canashar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2015
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took them for about 3 months. I have always been relatively fit and coordinated person. I soon experienced severe muscle weakness, muscle pain, muscle wasting and brain fog. I literally had to sit down walking from the kitchen to the bedroom, but for a while, I did not realize why. When questioned, the doctor said, and I quote: "You are just going to have to find a way to deal with these side effects, 'cause you are going to be on them the rest of your life". This statin induced muscle weakness resulted in two severe falls, a torn rotator cuff and a permanent dent in my skull!! I took myself off the statins, went on CoQ10. It took about 6 months for my strength to return. Please.....BE VERY CAREFUL with these statins. They were poison to my body. I wonder how many older Americans out there are feeling weak and are in pain due to these prescribed meds. Had my side effects not been as severe and come on so quickly, they may have been played off as simply getting old. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2015
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking another Crestor and it made my hips and shoulder joints ache. Took several months to make the connection. I stopped taking it and the joint pains got much better. Dr put me on generic Pravachol. Almost immediately the knee, joint, and should pain have returned, plus feeling generally lousy. Not positive this drug is the cause but I'm I'm going to stop taking it to see if I improve....again. PS it seems just recently statins are affecting me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gepe53 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the generic RX of this drug,I had terrible pain in my hips and legs.While at the gym walking my legs gave out and I almost collapsed on the floor.It was aweful and no way Jose' will I take this crap again!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harriet | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Switched from Lipitor after reading this drug reduces Diabetes risk up to 30% . Lipid levels need to be checked after two weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BeckyCC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/16/2013
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Pravastatin for about 2.5 years. It was moderately effective in keeping my cholesterol down--the main benefit was raising my "good" cholesterol and lowering the "bad." However, after about 2 years, I started having leg cramps during the night, and leg soreness during the day. It progressively got worse; like you had never exercised a day in your life and suddenly went out and ran a marathon! Talked to my pharmacist on a Friday, and she said stop taking it over the weekend and call the doctor at the first of the week. Well, by Monday or so, all the pain was gone. I quit taking it and refuse to take another statin drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JD | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/18/2013
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been taking this drug for 4 months. It has lowered my overall cholesterol to about 90 and my LDL and HDL are all in satisfactory range. I have had absolutely no side effects thus far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
steve | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/4/2013
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

High level joint pains after only two weeks of use, fluid retention, feeling vague, inability to sleep, dark urine, feeling very tired, muscle weakness, reduced libido.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rwvife | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/5/2013
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cholesterol is now 159 & Triglycerides are 180

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2013
Condition: Increased Triglycerides and Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed as a substitute when Lipitor caused aches and pains in sacrum and ilia. Stopping Lipitor for 2 weeks stopped the pain. (Just started taking Pravachol, so star ratings above are there just because they are required.)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rodeogirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/27/2013
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on this drug for 3 years ive noticed the last 2 years i hurt all the time and its all muscle pain. Its effecting my spine now and I went to dr last nite and he thinks its this med. I will be calling my dr on monday escially after reading all these review. Think its time to come off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2013
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug gave me extreme,lower stomach pains, and cramps. I was unable to sleep at nights. I called my Dr. and was taken off for 2 weeks to see what becomes of this .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
coffee1947 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/12/2013
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've hair loss,depression,leg cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2012
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on this for two weeks, I had to stop. I had tingling all over, numbness in face, nausea, headache, achy muscles and dizziness. Dr. had me stop and not take any statin for 2 weeks. Will try Lipitor then.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pravastatin | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/23/2012
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

leg cranps, headaches,vision

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More