Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

My doctor recommends me taking this shot for a common cold. Is this correct, I have been told it is not for that?

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I am being treated for MRSA received in the hospital after surgery. I had to have another surgery 3 1/2 weeks after my surgery to clean the area out. Now my husband has to give me an infusion of this every day for at least 6 weeks. CDC is involved and sends out one week's supply for us and they are the ones that will need to clear me. This rates down pretty low in my estimate!

Shared reviews and ratings

Jo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Klebsiella Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a UTI was given 2 different antibiotics and they were not working. A urinalysis culture was done and was determined this antibiotic would help. I have received 2 shots so far and the 3rd one is tomorrow. The first one hurt some when given, the second one did not hurt at all! I feel great! I must have been really sick! I have energy!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jdgorton | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2017
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Streptococcus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked fast. I felt better in a few days thank you for this drug. I had been very sick over a month and was not getting better. Had already used one antibiotic worked a little at first but came back like bad. I'm thankful for this drug I feel almost human again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2017
Condition: Infection of the Middle Ear caused by Streptococcus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr gave me a shot of Rocephin. Was not painful. Ear and sinus started to clear within two hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2015
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Staphylococcus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was running a very high fever (104) and I was giving this injection along with a penicillin injection. Due to the sever pain the Rocephin causes, my doctor gave me a shot of lydocain prior to injecting it. I felt so much better by the next day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dawn | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/30/2015
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Klebsiella Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rocephin injection goes to work almost immediately. Excellent to relieve symptoms very quickly and follow up with antibiotic. Highly recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ros | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2014
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Woke with my first UTI ever and the pain, burning, blood and urge to go (but couldn't ) were killing me. Went to the doctor the same day and knowing the oral antibiotics necessary make me sick to my stomach I ended up with a series of 3 shots of Rocephin. After just one shot my symptoms (related to confirmed ecoli UTI) were almost gone. The shots hurt like heck but just make sure they mix with lidocaine and also spray lidocaine on your rear before the shot. The quick results overrides the pain of the shots and I would pick 3 days of nights over 7-10 days of nauseating oral antibiotics. I had no side effects except the pain at the site of the shot. No stomach upset at all. Maybe a little hyper as I normally conk in a minute but felt a little restless the evenings after the shot (which I had to after work). Really happy I went that route. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/12/2014
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to Dr thought I had flu tested neg gave me this shot with lidocaine hurt like the devil still not feeling all that great 3 days later with zpak on top of shot but better then before only small case of diarrhea. Did it help me not sure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DMH | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2014
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've requested Rocephin injection to treat reoccuring UTIs over the oral antibiotics specifically because it has less side effects (no unpleasant yeast infections or stomach issues) and have not had any problems with the shot or site of the injection itself to date. Provides relief quickly. I like it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
had enough | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2014
Condition: Infection of the Middle Ear by H. Influenzae Bacteria
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

fighting inner ear infection for 3 months they tried all different antibiotics next was this medication by shot 2hrs later in emergency room bad reaction i got listed as allergic,so im back to square 1 ear problem is driving me insane

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cj | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2014
Condition: Pneumonia due to the Bacteria Haemophilus Parainfluenzae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to be put on life suport

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
okie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2013
Condition: Infection of the Middle Ear caused by Streptococcus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The most intense pain i have ever had and it lasted for hours. Still sore next day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda D. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2013
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Almost immediate relief. The nurse gave the 6 injections over a three day period. My lungs cleared with a lot of coughing, but a very serious situation was taken care of quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hopefull | 55-64 | Female | Patient
11/7/2013
Condition: Lower Respiratory Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Always works for me and I have a catastrophic immune deficiency.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
10/2/2013
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am allergic to this drug, closed off my throat and I ended up in the hospital for 4 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Craig | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2013
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with Bacterial Pneumonia on 7/11/13. Given one injection of Rocephin and another the following day 7/12/13, Today, 7/14/13 feel 100% better than I did four days ago. Headaches gone....chest is still sore but breathing is fine. Never experienced anything like this before. Painful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
spreadeagle | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/2/2013
Condition: Skin Infection due to Streptococcus Pyogenes Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my face is still swollen and I have fever and chills

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Missy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2012
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Immediately helped me. It was not a painful shot and I had no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary B | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/10/2012
Condition: Infection of the Urinary Tract caused by Proteus Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a UTI that had lasted for two months. I had one rocephin injection which got rid of the infection. I am diabetic and had one of my toes get very red and it itched. When I treated cuts between toes with neosporin, the redness and itching were gone in two days. I also got redness and itching where I had small insect bites on my skin. The redness and itching spread, but then healed up. I am now taking a 100 mg a day dose of microbid to help me keep from getting a bladder infection. The itching and redness continues where I have had an insect bite and spreads - then after a day or two it goes away. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pernat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2012
Condition: Pediatric Fever without a Source
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

well im back on this site again....so upset!!!three and a half years later from getting this shot IM STILL HEARING IMPAIRED,EARS STILL THROB AND RING 24/7 .I NOW WEAR HEARING AIDS!I CURSE THE DAY I GOT THIS SHOT!!!!!!All of this happened an hour after getting this shot!all i had was bronchitis and my life hasnt been the same since!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Someonewatchedoverme | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/5/2012
Condition: Bone Infection caused by Klebsiella Pneumoniae Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went into the ER thinking I had the flu. Was in the ICU for several days. I was in kidney failure, and was told I had sepsis which we found out was Klebsiella Pnemonia - gram rod negative. They decided to take my gallbladder out. I also continued to complain about the pain in my neck. They only focused on my gallbladder. I was released after approx 9 days. After a back and forth being called back into the hospital because the culture came back once again as Positive with Klebsiella Pnemonia. But, instead of starting me on an IV they released me (why who knows) with an ORAL antibiotic of levoquin 500mg. A month later, I am back in the hospital, the MRI shows compression on my spine, I NOW have a severe infection in my neck causing spinal compression. They called it all....Vertebral Osteomyletis of my C5, C6, C7, Spinal Epidural Absess, and Discitis from the Klebsiella Pnemonia. I FINALLY got their attention that my NECK really was a problem! I was placed on a PIC line, and when released the order was for Rocephin, 2gm in 20ml. I was on this for about 6 - ish weeks. Had trouble with the PIC line, so they pulled it and put me back on Levoquin this time 750mg. Lesson learned... DO NOT have a patient on Levoquin beyond the MFG recommend timeframe. The patient (me) will get tingles and numbness -- which is written in the mfg pamphlet! So now we switched to Bactrim DS 800/160. All in all, was on the various antibiotics for a non-stop timeframe of a little more than 6 months (literally). I am no longer on any antibiotics, I did NOT have a surgery -- they asked me to not eat the night before just in case I had to go down for a surgery, but I wanted another opinion. The 2nd option doctor as shocked at my neurological state being so good they said we could try antibiotics vs. go directly into a surgery. Thank god for listening to the little voice in your head that says "yes thats the right thing to do". I am "ok" & healing. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More