Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

This has been my miracle drug. After twenty years of dealing with panic attacks and depression; this drug has finally helped me to overcome some of my biggest fears in life. About once every two years, the doctor ups my strength, but this drug has been a GODSEND!!!

Most voted negative review

13 People found this comment helpful

I took this medication for Eight(8) years as a child(ages 5-12), and it was absolutely horrible! All of my current medical conditions: Adult ADHD/Endometriosis/Anxiety-PTSD/Allergies/Stomach Sensitivities-(Nausea,Diarrhea)/Sun Allergies/Mood Disorders/Depression/etc..., were due to/and caused by this medication, SOLELY! DO NOT GIVE THIS MEDICATION TO CHILDREN OF ANY AGE; BE FOREWARNED! IT CAUSES ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Bill B | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/2/2019
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tofranil saved my LIFE! I had Anxiety,Depression and Extreme Panic since I was 20 and I finally got to the right Dr. when I was 41. She tried me on all the new drugs and none worked for me. Then she gave me Tofranil and after a few weeks I was able to sit still and talk to people. I would not eat many foods and did not why but once I got the Right medicine I changed my whole life, I wanted to eat everything that I would not eat when I was sick! Pizza, Hamburgers, Hot dogs! When I was sick all I would eat was baked chicken and veg's . If anyone has any of the problems I listed Please ask your Dr. to give Tofranil a try!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/27/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 49. I was put on this medication for my bladder interstitial systas, which helped very well. And to my amazement I have aniexty disorder an depression an it was like wonder drug for me..My mood an energyvwas unreal..best I've felt in years!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SantaFeJack | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2017
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time I tried Tofrani the grogginess the following day caused me to stop. However, a year later my anxiety was out of control and I was desperate. I'm so glad I tried again. Within days, rather than weeks, I felt relaxed for the first time years! I strongly suspect I will take this for the rest of my life, and I have no problem with that. For anyone who deals with chronic anxiety, but does not want to or cannot take the -azepam meds like Valium, Ativan or even Xanax, this tried and true anti-anxiety, antidepressant is worth a try. I've suffered with chronic anxiety my whole life, I wish I had discovered Tofranil years ag. But it really is a case of "better late than never".Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smith0915 | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/10/2016
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started my nine year old son on this medication for wetting the bed. big mistake. he started clawing at his skin. continuously crying. smacking himself in the face. having sadness and violent outbursts. I immediately called his doctor and had him taken off this medication. not sure how well it works for adults with depression but my child with bed wetting was not a success

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2016
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 8 year old grandson wet the bed every night. The second night there was no wetting of the bed. His dad was 5 years old when I gave it to him. It worked on the third night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RC | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/3/2016
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like some others have posted, I've been on most anti-depression drugs for last 20 plus years. This works best for me and I've been on it for a bit over 5 years. I was on a very high dose for a couple of years, 250 mg/night. I've been down to 125 mg/night for about 4 months. There is perhaps a mild history of heart issues in my family although my father lived to 89 and my mother is still going strong at 88. Every year I get an EKG and check to make sure everything is okay in conjunction with taking this medicine. I wouldn't get an EKG otherwise. My two issues are: I'm a runner and I'm quite active. I think this medication taxes my endurance and I'm concerned about long term heart & health ramifications-I have small children otherwise, I wouldn't care so much. Sometimes, walking up the stairs causes me to get out of breath despite running three or four miles a day and very hilly miles at that. Does anyone else who exercises notice this type of problem? I am thinking about discussing with my Dr and and considering dropping my dosage. From reading the reviews, it sounds like this really helps many folks which is really great. However, for those who have been on many different anti-depressants at significant doses and gone around and around with numerous doctors, you may understand my frustration-trusting in your Dr. I'm not saying he/she isn't good but sadly, after years of medication issues & depression, I've had to become my own expert and now I feel like I have to make all of the moves or recommendations or initiate things. I don't know....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gram4 | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/6/2015
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this medication since 1988 for night terrors since childhood. Doctor and I have tried several times to wean me off, but night terrors returned each time. He has told me that since it is working for me I will stay on it, No side effects at all and no night terrors are blessings. I have peace at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tofrnail | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/9/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helps me sleep better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chronic Migraine Sufferer | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Neurologist prescribed this medicine about 6 years ago as a “preventive” method for my Chronic Migraines. Other medicines seemed to lose their effect after about 6 months of taking them and then I would have to change to something new or deal with being in bed for several days a week/month dealing with the migraines. Because of this medicine I am able to live a productive life. The only side effect I have experienced is dry mouth at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Green eyed girl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had tried Zoloft and Lexapro for extreme panic disorder, depression and extreme anxiety, could not take these two at all. Started on Tofranil, 10mg and every two days 10mg more up to 150mg all at night. At first suffered with dry mouth, blurred vision, but after 3-4 weeks felt so much better, depression completely lifted, hardly any panic, normal anxiety. This drug saved my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pollyana | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more |
11/18/2013
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for long term Incontenence, Very Effective. In Brisbane Qld the product is unavailable for an unknown term. What shall I take to replace it ???? Since taking Tofranil I,ve been able to live without the fear of "many accidents" I,ve lived with since my mid 40,s No more ACCIDENTS, with coughing, laughing, sport and everyday activities.And no more bedwetting,which was very embarrasing.I haven,t ever, experienced any side effects from this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lostsoul80 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/18/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Bipolar disorder, ADD, anxiety and OCD. After taking Effexor for 10 years, my doctor prescribed Tofranil because Effexor was losing its effectiveness. I am feeling somewhat better as far as the depression but I have dry mouth and eyes, jaw-twitches and I noticed that I am a little more irritable. I am on 50mg and have only been taking it for 2 months. I am just not sure if it really works for me. I kind of have lost some feelings like being sad or happy. I feel a little numb like a zombie-state kinda thing...it is hard to explain but the thing that I hate the most is that I have more irritability and less patient...hmmm we'll see about this one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Careful user | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/22/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About 40 years ago, I was perscribed Tofamil by a doctor. I was clueless to the side effects. As I took the medication, my depression became more severe and in the second week, lead to a suicide attempt. One month later, the prescribing doctor successfully committed suicide. Even though I suspected this drug, my inquiries were met with rebuffs. Since installing the Internet, I was able to confirm the truth of my suspicions all these years. I have learned to never take a prescribed drug without reading the side effects. If I do not like what I am reading,and consider it dangerous, I will not take the drug regardless of the benefits. My age at that time was 40.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maimai1 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
2/9/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 5 yr grandson started 25mg daily for enuresis and ADHD. Enuresis stopped and ADHD was controlled . After 6 mo. dose needed to be increased and everything is ok again. Does a child become immuned to the beneficial effects of this med?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/20/2013
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this drug at a very young age and had no idea until recently that it was an anti-depressant. When I started taking it I was a straight A student and had just topped my entire school exams. After I started taking the drug I changed. I became rebellious and difficult to teach. I was abandoned by my teachers and ended up leaving school with no qualifications and drifting in and out of blue collar jobs before ending up in prison. To make matters worse the drug didn't work so the dose kept being increased. Eventually it did stop me wetting the bed. It also stopped me urinating for the entire following day, which I would spend in agony. I would beg parents not to let their children use this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heather from Ohio | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/31/2012
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Put 8 yr. old son with mild asperger's on this drug at a low dose for bedwetting - he wet because he was sleeping too profoundly. This drug made him sad, paranoid and weepy. After three days I told doc I was taking him off. She convinced me he would get used to it and to keep him on for another week. At ten days, my son was clearly getting depressed and was still wetting the bed. I took him off it. Being on Tofranil for ten days changed my child. It made him less confident, more anxious, and fearful of many imagined things. It took a year for him to come back to being just his usual weird self. Now he is 11 and still wets the bed once a week average. Gradually he seems to be growing out of it. His therapist thinks he would benefit from being on Zoloft but I am very concerned - once bitten twice shy - I see he struggles with anxiety and some darkness sometimes (didn't we all at age 11?) so I am going to NOT put him on meds just yet. Now we are increasing his excercise daily and hopefully this will give his brain a joy and peace boost naturally. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Evelyn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/11/2012
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Imipramine HCL 50 MG for 20 years or more. My doctor originally prescribed it for sleeplessness. However, as time went on, I found it to help me with temporary bouts of depression as well. My current doctor is of the opinion that if a medication helps you function better in life, there's nothing wrong with taking it. Imipramine has certainly helped me. Yes, I've gained weight but I've also lost weight. I was a yo-yo dieter before taking Imipramine. Losing weight is all between the ears. I don't blame the drug as I have lost up to 70 pounds while on the drug. I can't speak for everybody, but for me it works.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MIKE | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/28/2012
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This one leaves all other depression meds. in the dust! This includes the new "wonder" drugs like Cymbalta,Effexor,etc. gives a natural good mood, and I get less side effects than I did from the new "clean anti- depressants.Prozac and Zoloft gave me a very unnatural feeling and I found myself doing things I wouldn't normally do.Tofranil gives me a constant mild euphoric state, the polar opposite of how I felt when I started using it.Less side effects than other older anti- depressants.In my opinion, the best anti- depressant, hands down, and I've tried 9 different ones.Tell your M.D. you want to try this one first!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
5/22/2012
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
V4v2001 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/21/2012
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this medication for constant daily migraines due to PTSD from A multiple car accident. This has definitely helped with the pain I thought I was doomed to have. I did have weight gain as an unfortunate side effect but I continue to take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More