Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

8 People found this comment helpful

I had been taking it for 2years and the whole time I felt like me. My dr. wean me off it and unfortunately I had a lot of problems. Just got back on it and starting to get better. This drug is my lifesaver.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

This medication has caused me to have insomnia.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/5/2012
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a godsend, it has kept me sane & helped me sleep for over 15 years. I have suffered from depression my entire adult life & spent a decade trying everything with limited success. I hated sleeping all my life as I have horrible nightmares & sleepwalk. It's hard to say how much of the depression was a result of insomnia, but whatever the reasons this has really helped. I am reassured by the fact that it has been around for over 50 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/20/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for 38 years. I tried different anti-depressant drugs before Tofranil PM. None worked. Once I started taking Tofranil PM I could "feel" my spirits lift. The change came within 30 days. It was an incredible feeling. I was depressed and also had panic attacks. I couldn't leave my home. I was living in hell. This drug was my lifesaver. I tried different times to get off the drug but I would return to . There is something lacking in me that this drug keeps me on an even keel. Now that I am on Medicare, my prescription drug plan does not cover this drug. It is going to cost me almost $5000 a year to continue taking this drug. Without it, I am not myself. Why should prescription drug plans tell you what drug you need when they don't have a clue about past experiences with the drug?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nsims | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/1/2010
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I like this medicine, it has helped alot with my depression. The only downfalls are all the side-affects. I became very sleepless,and a little more irritable. I also sweat excessivly, and my body gets the shakes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/6/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this medication for endogenous depression for close to thirty years. It has been a life saver for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JC | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took medicine to help with sleep, first time I got a full 8 hours in a long time. Did leave me a little hungover the next morning. We will see how it works in the long term.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/6/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Tofranil-PM for over 20 years and it has saved my quality of life. I had severe depression and anxiety attacks that kept me at home. I think I would have committed suicide if I had not found help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medicine for about 2 months. My doctor prescribed it to me to treat anxiety. The first week I had many sleepless nights, but I felt better during the daytime. I felt immediate changes for the good. I was excited to have less cravings for food. My IBS has gotten much better also. My libido began to return to normal. The anxiety has gotten better, but not completely. I am very satisfied with the results I have had using this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not real sure if this is gonna help me.. it makes me sleep alot! I do get a good nights rest, but then all the next day all I want to do is sleep... it has made me not want to eat, and so I have to make myself eat.. I still feel depressed, but maybe it hasnt been in my system long enough.. anyone else on this for depression? please let me know... thanks!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
audrey | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/2/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have cervical Dystonia, my doctor gave this to me because I can not sleep, it have not helped at all I can take it at 6:30PM or 7:ooPM and I will stil be up until 2:30 AM to 4:30 then when I finaly do fall asleep I won't wake up until after lunch or even 2:30PM or even 4:30P. When I do wake up I just want to lay in bed and do nothing. It has slowed me down to the point That I have gained wait lossed interest in everything and just want lie in bed and do nothng, no tv nothing, just can't get up to do anything. I just can't fall asleep after taking this at 7:00PM or 7:30 until 2:30am or even 430am, this is not working for me because it makes you not want to do anything all day long, takes you forever to fall asleep and makes me gane wait and constapated, it has not helped me at all. Is there not something that I can take in order to seleep like a normal person besides this. He ( my doctor) has givien me aso many things and they just don't work, I need help........ PLEASE HELP. Audrey Bieri Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
drbeth | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/29/2009
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had depression off and on since my early 20's. In my 30's I was so depressed I could not fuction. A young doctor, just out of medical school, told me he thought I had biological depression and asked me to try Tofranil. In about a week I was no longer depressed. I have tried to get off the drug several times but each time I get down to 150mg my depression starts up again. I am now 70 years old and maintain on 200mg at bedtime. I have no sign of depression and have appropriate reactions. My life would not be worth living without Tofranil. The few side effects I have are a small price to pay. This drug has saved my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking this medication for lack of sleep and migraine headaches/irritability. Everything was great for a few days other than being slightly disoriented, but that soon got worse and also had negative thoughts like loved ones passing away all the time. I stopped immediately after reading side effects. I will never take it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medicine for PTSD and flashbacks. I could not sleep and it made me feel nervous and very shaky.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
michelle | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for chronic pain and not being able to sleep. I woke up 1st morning after with a weird taste in my mouth, headache, and leg cramps. Was confused until early evening and it was time for another, same thing next day and then quit. Was even afraid to drive. Would never take again. Tricyclics are old and bad anti-depressants , this is like elavil, same effects from that. You feel really hung-over, tired and dis-oriented

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for bladder/urinary tract problems. I was skeptical at first until I felt immediate relief!! I have been on the medictaion for one month and have had no UTI symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it made me very sick had all the side effect's . only took 1 75 mg pill, will never take it again...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carnagechick | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2008
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

stopped wetting the bed for a week then has been wetting couple nights a week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jj2446 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2008
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok.Helped with sleeping when I have pain..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cameron | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has caused me to have insomnia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dolores | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/12/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been taking it for 2years and the whole time I felt like me. My dr. wean me off it and unfortunately I had a lot of problems. Just got back on it and starting to get better. This drug is my lifesaver.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sgtmomif | 65-74 | Female | Patient
2/5/2008
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

cann't sleep and very nervous

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More